We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Way overpriced,and misrepresents what they provide”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Westin Resort & Spa, Whistler
Ranked #13 of 49 Hotels in Whistler
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Way overpriced,and misrepresents what they provide”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

A double queen "suite" means tow queen beds in a hotel room with a microwave, and some dishes
Allowing a dog - means- you can bring a dog, but you sign a form saying you will not leave the dog alone in the room ever...
The price is higher then a lot of other hotels,and the add ons are expensive, ( parking, internet,movies), and not better then a lot cheaper places in Whistler, Save your money, and spend it on dinner...

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MeiMos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mitcfaw, Manager at The Westin Resort & Spa, Whistler, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear MeiMos,

Thank you for staying with us and sharing your review. We take care to price our rates carefully and relative to similar resorts in Whistler, and we feel our great location, extensive facilities and high level of service provide good value. We regret that this was not your impression and offer our apologies. We hope we can welcome you and your family back to the resort again, and our Reservations Team would be happy to work with you to suggest a larger suite that your family will find more comfortable.

Stay well,
Eric Eikeland
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,924 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    951
    609
    219
    83
    62
See reviews for
668
637
67
168
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (437)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

Excellent location, great services, extremely clean, friendly staff. The rooms are smaller than what you would expect but the location makes up for it. We stayed in the north tower on the 5th floor facing the mountain and the village which was breathtaking. The walk to the Gondola only took a few minutes. Valet ski was an added delight after a long day on the slopes. We ate downstairs at the restaurent on two evening, both evening the food was great. Room service was enjoyed by our children who like to have dinner in their pajamas. Overall a great holiday that we hope to repeat at the Westin next year.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BarbaraR966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mitcfaw, Manager at The Westin Resort & Spa, Whistler, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear BarbaraR966,

Thanks for sharing your review! We're delighted that you and your family enjoyed your Whistler getaway, all the way from Ottawa! We hope to have you back West again soon!

Stay well,
Eric Eikeland
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

The Westin isn't cheap but it is extremely well located particularly for dropping kids to ski school. We are a family of four, with two primary school age kids, and were very comfortable in a one bedroom suite. It was an excellent hotel - the service, the facilities. I can't fault it - except the pillows!! Please get some firm foam pillows rather than those squishy ones!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caketins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mitcfaw, Manager at The Westin Resort & Spa, Whistler, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear Caketins,

Thanks for sharing your review! We're delighted to have welcomed you and your family for your Whistler getaway, and are glad you got to take advantage of our excellent snow conditions! Thanks for your feedback about the pillows. On your next visit please be sure to mention this to one of our associates so we can deliver foam pillows upon your arrival.

Stay well,
Eric Eikeland
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
51 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed here for a couple of nights in December during our trip to Whistler. Here is a breakdown of our stay:

1. Location: Excellent. The hotel is just around the corner from the Whistler Village Gondola and the hustle and bustle of the Whistler Village with shopping, pubs and restaurants. The walk to the Whistler Village Gondola is less than 5 minutes, as well as the Guest Services, Whistler Kids, Lift tickets. But the hotel does not offer ski-in/ski-out so if you are looking for that type of convenience, look at the Fairmont Chateau Whistler.

2. Rooms: Simple but a tad bit outdated. The common areas of the hotel (i.e. hotel lobby, restaurant, ski valet, shops, etc.) all have that typical Whistler lodge feel but the room itself was lacking character. As Platinum Starwood Preferred Guest Members, we were upgraded to a suite but the suite was not as impressive as some other suites we've been upgraded to in other Westin properties. The suite consisted of a kitchenette, small sitting area with sofabed, a decent sized bathroom with separate shower and bathtub and a small separate bedroom. There is a small balcony and a decent view of the mountains. The furniture and furnishings were outdated and lacked character. One thing that did disappoint us was finding that the trash can had not been emptied prior to our check-in. Also, no free water bottles in the room unlike other Starwood Preferred Guest Rooms in other properties.

3. Service: Pretty good. The valet parking attendants were very friendly and helpful, as were the ski valet attendants who seemed eager to help. For a small fee, you can leave your skis with the ski valet attendants. I believe the hotel did not allow any ski equipment inside the hotel rooms. We did ask for a late checkout and was told that it would depend on availability. We did not get a late checkout because the hotel was at maximum capacity but we had to call on the day of check-out to check with the front desk, and it would've been nice if someone had called us beforehand to let us know first instead of us having to chase someone at front desk.

4. Amenities: There is a spa, exercise room and pool but we did not try any of these. As Starwood Preferred Platinum Guests, we were offered a complimentary continental breakfast in the Westin's restaurant, the Aubergine Grill. The continental breakfast is served to you on a separate plate and is separate from the breakfast buffet. If you want to have the breakfast buffet, there is a nominal charge for an upgrade to "hot" breakfast even if you just want to stick to non-hot items offered at the buffet. The breakfast buffet itself offers a good variety of items including an omelette station, smoked salmon, breakfast sausages, pancakes, waffles, etc. We dined at the Aubergine Grill on New Years Eve and was pleasantly surprised with the service we received from staff. The restaurant offers BYOB for a corkage fee of $35 and a set menu of $99 per person for their 4-course New Years Eve dinner.

Overall, our stay was pleasant. We would recommend this hotel if you would like to stay close to the Whistler Village Gondolas and within walking distance to the Whistler Village shops and restaurants. For more Whistler-like lodge experience, we would recommend the Four Seasons or the Fairmont Chateau on the Blackcomb Mountain side.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GreenApple07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mitcfaw, Manager at The Westin Resort & Spa, Whistler, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear GreenApple07,

Thank you for sharing the details of your visit! We truly appreciate you staying with us and sharing your feedback, and are pleased to see you enjoyed your time in Whistler! We also appreciate your constructive criticism as well and will follow up on your comments. We hope to welcome you back again soon!

Stay well,
Eric Eikeland
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jimena_mv
Level Contributor
45 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

For our stay at Whistler we stayed at the Westin because of its location and because being a Starwood’s hotel you expect it to be a fine Hotel.
I´ll try to make this a very honest review.
Pros: The Hotel location is just beside the base of the Gondola, so you don’t have to walk far with your skiing equipment.
2. If you’re renting equipment there’s a rental office inside the hotel.
3. - there´s a valet pick up service as soon as you rich the village in the base of whistler mountain.
4. There´s a really good Japanize restaurant inside the hotel, there bar is also fine.
Cons
1. - the hotel decoration and furniture are starting to look pretty old, in our opinion is kind of urgent to redesign and change all the furniture.
2. The worst con of all is the house keeping service (the hotel cleanliness) they really need to pay attention in this area because the service they are offering is not at all a service of a luxury hotel, not even acceptable.
The terrace outside the room was of no use, in all the week we stayed there the furniture outside were all covered with snow (and it was not even a week were it snowed), they never clean the area.
The first day we arrived I entered to use our bathroom and I found that the toilet was not perfectly cleaned, there was a really nasty stain, (I decided to clean it myself with a Lysol). The stain came out so it was no permanent it was just not well cleaned.
The second day I left like a ball of my hair (the hair you loss when you was your hair) and left it on the window corner, the next day it was still there and the day after. I was not until the third they that they removed it.
Another day I left two glasses on one side of the kitchen sink, when we returned in the afternoon they still were there (obviously they were not cleaned).
Every night I sleep with socks on but I take them off during the night and my sucks stay under the sheets. My first night at the Westin was no exception but on the second day when I was getting prepared to go to bed I started looking for my socks in the night table or over the pillow (where they normally leave them) and they were not there, for my surprise they still were under the sheets, (imagine how good the beds are done).
3.- there are no amenities for the bath tub.
If they change all the issues with their housekeeping service and general cleanliness I will consider coming back.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jimena_mv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mitcfaw, Manager at The Westin Resort & Spa, Whistler, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear Jimena_MV,

Thank you for sharing your review and bringing your challenges with our housekeeping service to our attention. Please accept our sincere apologies. We take great pride in the cleanliness of our hotel and your experience does not reflect our usual high standards. I would like the opportunity to speak with you directly, please contact me at your convenience at eric.eikeland@westinwhistler.com.

Stay well,
Eric Eikeland
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beckley, West Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
486 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 358 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

We stayed here in July 2012 for the Wilderness Medical Society meeting.

Check-in and check out were fast and efficient.

Public spaces clean, well-maintained. I can't speak about the gym facility, since we did our recreating outdoors.

Our room was clean and spacious, very nice view of the mountain. Pricey, but appropriate for the location and level of service.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mitcfaw, Manager at The Westin Resort & Spa, Whistler, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Dear dshimm52,

Thank you for sharing your review! We're pleased to have had you stay with us last July for your conference. We hope we can welcome you back again soon, perhaps to see Whistler in her winter glory!

Stay well,
Eric Eikeland
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013

First time to Whistler and The Westin. Definitely will return. Greeted by very welcoming and efficient staff. Gold SPG guest so given upgrade & free high speed Internet. Room suited our needs perfectly( only gripe would be to have coat hooks) but loved extra wardrobe in 1 Br suite. King bed fab! Had a night inn & hiccup with room service menu & TV movie. Staff dealt with both within 5 minutes of phoning and credited bill. Can't ask for more when things happen. Concierge never failed with restaurant bookings and recommendations. Ski valet nice way to end the day & rental staff great as I wanted to try different skies with view to buying new ones. All in all , very friendly, efficient hotel in great location to village walk but quiet enough not to hear any noise from local bars. Would recommend .

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MelbourneAustralian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mitcfaw, Manager at The Westin Resort & Spa, Whistler, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Dear MelbourneAustralian,

Thank you for staying with us! We were delighted to read your review and see that you enjoyed your stay with us. It looks like you had a great well-rounded Whistler experience! We hope to have you back again soon!

Stay well,
Eric Eikeland
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Whistler hotels
0.1 mi away
Hilton Whistler Resort & Spa
2.1 mi away
Nita Lake Lodge
Nita Lake Lodge
#1 of 49 in Whistler
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,774 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aava Whistler Hotel
Aava Whistler Hotel
#14 of 49 in Whistler
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Crystal Lodge Hotel
Crystal Lodge Hotel
#8 of 49 in Whistler
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,474 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sundial Boutique Hotel
Sundial Boutique Hotel
#7 of 49 in Whistler
4.5 of 5 bubbles 784 reviews
0.5 mi away
Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Resort & Spa, Whistler? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Resort & Spa, Whistler

Property: The Westin Resort & Spa, Whistler
Address: 4090 Whistler Way, Whistler, British Columbia V0N 1B4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Whistler
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Whistler
#5 Spa Hotel in Whistler
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Whistler
#7 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Whistler
#8 Luxury Hotel in Whistler
#11 Romantic Hotel in Whistler
#13 Family Hotel in Whistler
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Resort & Spa, Whistler 4*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Whistler Village just yards from the gondolas and the slopes of Whistler and Blackcomb mountains, The Westin Resort & Spa, Whistler is an all-suite, full-service conference hotel and spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Resort & Spa, Whistler reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Resort And Spa, Whistler
The Westin Resort & Spa, Whistler Hotel Whistler
Westin Resort Whistler
Westin Hotel Whistler
Westin Whistler
Whistler Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing