We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The house keeping needs to be improved”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Westin Resort & Spa, Whistler
Ranked #11 of 49 Hotels in Whistler
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
jimena_mv
Level Contributor
45 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“The house keeping needs to be improved”
Reviewed January 21, 2013

For our stay at Whistler we stayed at the Westin because of its location and because being a Starwood’s hotel you expect it to be a fine Hotel.
I´ll try to make this a very honest review.
Pros: The Hotel location is just beside the base of the Gondola, so you don’t have to walk far with your skiing equipment.
2. If you’re renting equipment there’s a rental office inside the hotel.
3. - there´s a valet pick up service as soon as you rich the village in the base of whistler mountain.
4. There´s a really good Japanize restaurant inside the hotel, there bar is also fine.
Cons
1. - the hotel decoration and furniture are starting to look pretty old, in our opinion is kind of urgent to redesign and change all the furniture.
2. The worst con of all is the house keeping service (the hotel cleanliness) they really need to pay attention in this area because the service they are offering is not at all a service of a luxury hotel, not even acceptable.
The terrace outside the room was of no use, in all the week we stayed there the furniture outside were all covered with snow (and it was not even a week were it snowed), they never clean the area.
The first day we arrived I entered to use our bathroom and I found that the toilet was not perfectly cleaned, there was a really nasty stain, (I decided to clean it myself with a Lysol). The stain came out so it was no permanent it was just not well cleaned.
The second day I left like a ball of my hair (the hair you loss when you was your hair) and left it on the window corner, the next day it was still there and the day after. I was not until the third they that they removed it.
Another day I left two glasses on one side of the kitchen sink, when we returned in the afternoon they still were there (obviously they were not cleaned).
Every night I sleep with socks on but I take them off during the night and my sucks stay under the sheets. My first night at the Westin was no exception but on the second day when I was getting prepared to go to bed I started looking for my socks in the night table or over the pillow (where they normally leave them) and they were not there, for my surprise they still were under the sheets, (imagine how good the beds are done).
3.- there are no amenities for the bath tub.
If they change all the issues with their housekeeping service and general cleanliness I will consider coming back.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jimena_mv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mitcfaw, Manager at The Westin Resort & Spa, Whistler, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear Jimena_MV,

Thank you for sharing your review and bringing your challenges with our housekeeping service to our attention. Please accept our sincere apologies. We take great pride in the cleanliness of our hotel and your experience does not reflect our usual high standards. I would like the opportunity to speak with you directly, please contact me at your convenience at eric.eikeland@westinwhistler.com.

Stay well,
Eric Eikeland
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,951 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    963
    619
    222
    84
    63
See reviews for
679
644
68
173
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (443)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Beckley, West Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
487 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 361 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2013

We stayed here in July 2012 for the Wilderness Medical Society meeting.

Check-in and check out were fast and efficient.

Public spaces clean, well-maintained. I can't speak about the gym facility, since we did our recreating outdoors.

Our room was clean and spacious, very nice view of the mountain. Pricey, but appropriate for the location and level of service.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mitcfaw, Manager at The Westin Resort & Spa, Whistler, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Dear dshimm52,

Thank you for sharing your review! We're pleased to have had you stay with us last July for your conference. We hope we can welcome you back again soon, perhaps to see Whistler in her winter glory!

Stay well,
Eric Eikeland
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2013

First time to Whistler and The Westin. Definitely will return. Greeted by very welcoming and efficient staff. Gold SPG guest so given upgrade & free high speed Internet. Room suited our needs perfectly( only gripe would be to have coat hooks) but loved extra wardrobe in 1 Br suite. King bed fab! Had a night inn & hiccup with room service menu & TV movie. Staff dealt with both within 5 minutes of phoning and credited bill. Can't ask for more when things happen. Concierge never failed with restaurant bookings and recommendations. Ski valet nice way to end the day & rental staff great as I wanted to try different skies with view to buying new ones. All in all , very friendly, efficient hotel in great location to village walk but quiet enough not to hear any noise from local bars. Would recommend .

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MelbourneAustralian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mitcfaw, Manager at The Westin Resort & Spa, Whistler, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Dear MelbourneAustralian,

Thank you for staying with us! We were delighted to read your review and see that you enjoyed your stay with us. It looks like you had a great well-rounded Whistler experience! We hope to have you back again soon!

Stay well,
Eric Eikeland
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2013

Girls weekend in Whistler, what a treat to stay at the Westin. Great service met us at the driveway and again inside. Beautiful hotel and our room was great. Service was even great when we requested lemon slices very late at night, brought to the door within minutes with a smile!

Aubergine Grille Restaurant downstairs was great for dinner with a good pasta special

Those beds are amazingly comfortable! Had a great sleep!

Starbucks coffee and take away cups for the morning was great.

You simply cannot beat their location.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lavuedici
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mitcfaw, Manager at The Westin Resort & Spa, Whistler, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear lavuedici,

Thank you for travelling all the way from New Zealand to stay with us! We're glad you enjoyed such a memorable Girl's Getaway, and hope we can have you back again soon!

Stay well,
Eric Eikeland
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2013

My experience so far at the Westin has been horrible. When we arrived late at night on Sunday the room had the following problems.

There was a hole in the wall, the dishwasher had not been emptied, the light in the bathroom did not work. I complained the next morning and was offered a similar room at the other tower but since we would have to repack everything, thought the better of it. Instead they suggested breakfast vouchers, we got vouchers for two breakfasts.

Since then on three afternoons we arrived back from skiing at 3:45 to find the room not serviced. A few minutes after arriving the cleaners arrived asking if they could clean the room. Today was the icing on the cake. When we leave in the morning we turn on the dish washer. Today after the cleaners left, without asking, they turned on the dishwasher again. We are sitting here unable to have a cup of tea because all the cups are in the dishwasher that is whirling away.

The free Internet sucks. You can just do email but Skype is impossible. The upgrade costs $10 for 24 hours there is no choice it is continuous and thus to have reasonable Internet means an additional $10 plus tax.

I would never recommend this hotel to anyone and would never stay here again.

Robert Reznik

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Robert R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mitcfaw, Manager at The Westin Resort & Spa, Whistler, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear Robert,

Thank you for taking the time to speak to us in person to help us learn more about your experience. We would like to offer our apologies once again and are grateful for your time in helping to resolve your troubles. We hope you enjoy the remainder of your stay!

Stay well,
Eric Eikeland
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
152 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2013

As individuals who have experienced almost all of the hotels at Whistler, we finally decided to give the Westin a try and were were not disappointed. Simply put, our stay at the Westin was perfection.

Our east tower room was lovely and large, with vaulted ceilings and a gas fireplace. The kitchen was well appointed and most importantly, functional. While most people likely don't cook-in while at Whistler, we do, being a bit budget-minded (and having already sampled much of the fare that Whistler has to offer) and we were ecstatic with the provisions. With regards to the hotel needing some 'refreshing' this might be true of some of the heavy traffic areas like the main hallways, but this is standard for any ski destination resort and is to be expected.

The living area was spacious and functional with floor to ceiling windows that provided a lovely view and lots of sunlight. The king sized bed was uber comfortable and well provided with sheets and quilts so that one didn't have to go hunting for extra blankets etc., to keep warm.
Now, this is important....this was the CLEANEST hotel room we've ever had at Whistler, hands down. It was also the QUIETEST accommodation we've ever experienced, again at Whistler. We honestly felt like we were the only people in the tower, it was that quiet.

Also worth mentioning is that we were traveling with a small dog. They provided us with a bed for him and dishes, all very nice touches, but more importantly is that they didn't treat us any differently/charge us more money simply because we opted to bring our dog (Are some of the other hotels in Whistler paying attention to this? You know who you are....). This was very much appreciated and is one way that establishments like the Westin develop and keep loyal customers.

The front desk and parking valet staff were friendly, polite and very helpful (thank you again Gemma). The hotel has a program whereby if you decide to skip housekeeping, they offer you a voucher that can be redeemed for a beverage or points. This is a great idea and kudos goes out to whomever came up with it as it is a great incentive to live a little greener and clean up after ones self.

As others have pointed out before, the Westin is nice and close to the lifts, a bonus for those like me who dread having to walk blocks in their ski boots. But just as close as it is to the lifts, it is also just far enough away from the heart of the village, which can be at times, a bit noisy/zoo-like (especially on Friday and Saturday nights). In short, it is well located.

The Westin is a bit on the pricey side, but in Whistler especially, you get what you pay for, so it is what it is. Beyond this, the Westin has made two new loyal customers and we would like to thank them for making our stay so very wonderful and yes...perfect.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BCpicky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mitcfaw, Manager at The Westin Resort & Spa, Whistler, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear BCpicky,

Thank you so very much for sharing such a wonderful review. With a name like "BCpicky" we certainly appreciate that you have high standards, as well as your experience staying with many of our competitors. We are delighted we provided such a memorable stay for you and truly look forward to welcoming you back!

Stay well,
Eric Eikeland
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AZ
Level Contributor
104 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2013

Great location to the slopes. Rooms clean, adequately appointed and bed very comfortable.Staff friendly and helpful. Spa and fitness center somewhat undersized and disappointing...but, went for the skiing.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J3GP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mitcfaw, Manager at The Westin Resort & Spa, Whistler, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear J3GP,

Thank you for staying with us! We appreciate you taking the time to share your review and are glad to see that you and your family enjoyed your winter getaway from Arizona. We hope to see you up North again soon!

Stay well,
Eric Eikeland
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Whistler hotels
0.1 mi away
Hilton Whistler Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
Crystal Lodge Hotel
Crystal Lodge Hotel
#8 of 49 in Whistler
2,561 reviews
2.1 mi away
Nita Lake Lodge
Nita Lake Lodge
#1 of 49 in Whistler
1,834 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Summit Lodge Boutique Hotel
0.1 mi away
Aava Whistler Hotel
Aava Whistler Hotel
#14 of 49 in Whistler
1,683 reviews
0.7 mi away
Four Seasons Resort and Residences Whistler
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Resort & Spa, Whistler? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Resort & Spa, Whistler

Property: The Westin Resort & Spa, Whistler
Address: 4090 Whistler Way, Whistler, British Columbia V0N 1B4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Whistler
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Whistler
#5 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Whistler
#5 Spa Hotel in Whistler
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Whistler
#7 Luxury Hotel in Whistler
#11 Romantic Hotel in Whistler
#13 Family Hotel in Whistler
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Resort & Spa, Whistler 4*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Whistler Village just yards from the gondolas and the slopes of Whistler and Blackcomb mountains, The Westin Resort & Spa, Whistler is an all-suite, full-service conference hotel and spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Vacatia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, TravelUp, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Resort & Spa, Whistler reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Resort & Spa, Whistler Hotel Whistler
The Westin Resort And Spa, Whistler
Westin Resort Whistler
Westin Hotel Whistler
Westin Whistler
Whistler Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing