We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Westin Resort & Spa, Whistler
Ranked #12 of 49 Hotels in Whistler
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
152 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Perfect.”
Reviewed January 13, 2013

As individuals who have experienced almost all of the hotels at Whistler, we finally decided to give the Westin a try and were were not disappointed. Simply put, our stay at the Westin was perfection.

Our east tower room was lovely and large, with vaulted ceilings and a gas fireplace. The kitchen was well appointed and most importantly, functional. While most people likely don't cook-in while at Whistler, we do, being a bit budget-minded (and having already sampled much of the fare that Whistler has to offer) and we were ecstatic with the provisions. With regards to the hotel needing some 'refreshing' this might be true of some of the heavy traffic areas like the main hallways, but this is standard for any ski destination resort and is to be expected.

The living area was spacious and functional with floor to ceiling windows that provided a lovely view and lots of sunlight. The king sized bed was uber comfortable and well provided with sheets and quilts so that one didn't have to go hunting for extra blankets etc., to keep warm.
Now, this is important....this was the CLEANEST hotel room we've ever had at Whistler, hands down. It was also the QUIETEST accommodation we've ever experienced, again at Whistler. We honestly felt like we were the only people in the tower, it was that quiet.

Also worth mentioning is that we were traveling with a small dog. They provided us with a bed for him and dishes, all very nice touches, but more importantly is that they didn't treat us any differently/charge us more money simply because we opted to bring our dog (Are some of the other hotels in Whistler paying attention to this? You know who you are....). This was very much appreciated and is one way that establishments like the Westin develop and keep loyal customers.

The front desk and parking valet staff were friendly, polite and very helpful (thank you again Gemma). The hotel has a program whereby if you decide to skip housekeeping, they offer you a voucher that can be redeemed for a beverage or points. This is a great idea and kudos goes out to whomever came up with it as it is a great incentive to live a little greener and clean up after ones self.

As others have pointed out before, the Westin is nice and close to the lifts, a bonus for those like me who dread having to walk blocks in their ski boots. But just as close as it is to the lifts, it is also just far enough away from the heart of the village, which can be at times, a bit noisy/zoo-like (especially on Friday and Saturday nights). In short, it is well located.

The Westin is a bit on the pricey side, but in Whistler especially, you get what you pay for, so it is what it is. Beyond this, the Westin has made two new loyal customers and we would like to thank them for making our stay so very wonderful and yes...perfect.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BCpicky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mitcfaw, Manager at The Westin Resort & Spa, Whistler, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear BCpicky,

Thank you so very much for sharing such a wonderful review. With a name like "BCpicky" we certainly appreciate that you have high standards, as well as your experience staying with many of our competitors. We are delighted we provided such a memorable stay for you and truly look forward to welcoming you back!

Stay well,
Eric Eikeland
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,921 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    949
    608
    219
    83
    62
See reviews for
666
637
67
168
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (436)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
AZ
Level Contributor
104 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2013

Great location to the slopes. Rooms clean, adequately appointed and bed very comfortable.Staff friendly and helpful. Spa and fitness center somewhat undersized and disappointing...but, went for the skiing.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J3GP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mitcfaw, Manager at The Westin Resort & Spa, Whistler, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear J3GP,

Thank you for staying with us! We appreciate you taking the time to share your review and are glad to see that you and your family enjoyed your winter getaway from Arizona. We hope to see you up North again soon!

Stay well,
Eric Eikeland
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coolum Beach, Australia
Level Contributor
90 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2013

We stayed New year in suite with three teenagers.
The suites was very very small, you couldn't fit your luggage bag in the second bedroom and walk around the bed, very small master room but gorgeous little balcony. Old style coffee percolator that made quite burnt tasting coffee. Small kitchen with only two cook burners, limited kitchen were, half size fridge and only four chairs, small dining table and a light that hung so low over the table you hit it all the time. We named it the Hobbit light.
Room was noisy from people's upstairs could hear every time they went to the toilet, walked up a down or in the case of many days an up and down. The lounge was very small and small tv above fire place - gas - we couldn't adjust the temperature of the rooms and were very hot at night despite opening windows.

The pull out couch meant you have no room in the lounge to sit or relax unless all on the bed.

The view was of trees and made the room dark.
A mountain range in the distance but not whistler or Blackmon. For stunning views stay at the Fairmont or the Four seasons - the afternoon sun juts gleamed off those hotels with stunning uninterrupted views.


Cleanliness of the rooms and hallways was poor. Poor small in luxurious toiletries and at $2000 per night it was embarrassing to think they found that acceptable - we have 5 people staying and small soaps and shampoos etc.

Mini bar was limited and not stocked up once during our stay.
Room cleanliness was adequate but felt grimmy - like Hamilton island in Australia where casual staff fill these position whilst they holidays and ski which means the attention to detail in the rooms was poor. The hallways always has room service trays in the corridors - ours stayed over 24 hours and others piled stuff on it - we called several times and the cleaning team walked past it twice - the housekeeping trolleys stayed in the corridors which was tacky and made you feel like the place was not professionally presented. The hallways carpets are so grimy along the sides from juts daily token vacuuming.

The bathroom - one thing you look forward to it a hot shower - this had a shower head limiter in a $2000 a night suite - seriously......so you got a poor water stream. We saved hard to enjoy this holiday and felt it was sub standard.

The kitchen was not suitable to cook in - no oven and it was a token kitchen. It reads like a full apartment style suite - we ave stayed in many Apartment style units, hotel suites and adjoining rooms - this was very disappointing and we felt poor value for money.

All of the staff were wonderfully friendly - at check in the got said - your every early - it was 1300 hours and we had transferred in a hotel organized car - her uniform was a little disheveled with a locker key on a rubber band half say up her arm - it was not very presentable and seemed a little casual.

We has some mix up with bookings which was later solved by the manager - the disconnect between central/ Internet online bookings and the hotel meant we had a double booking.

Wii Fii was free but so slow many times we had to pay for the faster service to be able to get email and or Internet service that work fast enough to
The village atmosphere was great. Good shops friendly staff.
The hotel was only steps away from the village, right next to the lifts up to whistler and black comb.
The gondola was awesome straight to the top offload to beginners run and take the peak to peak gondola which is a stunning way to get from one mountain to the next. Or stay on and go all the say to the top for all runs.

The food halls and shops are crowded at Olympic park area ( first stop on the gondola) - they call it the round house - either eat early at 11 am or wait until later - it's total chaos getting a table at midday - great selection of food - fresh hot and loads of choices - a wii Nintendo area for smaller kids to give parent a break - and it's for free.

Village was easy to navigate - the grocery store was 50 deep to pay for groceries and the liquor store had a line out the door for New Years.

The Westin resort has ski concierge in the foyer right before you walk to the lifts - the ski / board fitting hire and rental shop was in the foyer as well.

The ski concierge is also waiting when you get back down the mountain - so you can drop your skis - and hit the bar or restaurant.
Costs $8 per day though and they actually don't say that - you find out when you get your bill.

The Japanese restaurant in the foyer is delicious - good for family or little kids cos they can eat and then fall asleep in the little room where you can sit in a little booth.
In the village - We ate at the old spaghetti factory - delicious - great value and open all hours - we tended to eat early to beat the rush.

Hotel itself had a wonderful big foyer with a fire but not so snugly as you'd think.

You cannot beat the location of this hotel
Staff are trying really hard - but the hotel it dated - rooms tired and small.

For convenience you can beat this hotel but would've stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for a whistler mountain view high floor so you have no noise above you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MushuAnd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mitcfaw, Manager at The Westin Resort & Spa, Whistler, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Dear Mushuand,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review. We are grateful to have welcomed you and your family and understand that it's a special time for you to enjoy. Please accept our apologies that we did not deliver the memorable experience that you have every right to expect in staying with us. I would welcome the opportunity to speak with you directly regarding your stay. At your convenience please email me at eric.eikeland@westinwhistler.com.

Stay well,
Eric Eikeland
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed January 10, 2013

Great location. Great service. Our first room was a little noisy and the front desk changed us to a better room with kind service and no fuss. While we felt the $6 valet ski charge per night per set of skis was a bit steep the service itself is fab. The rooms are warm. The gym and pool area is great. The kids loved jumping from the spa into the snow and back in to the spa again. The ski lessons have also been of a high quality with very experienced instructors. Stu our instructor was particularly fabulous. Been instructing for 30 years but made us feel like it was his first class. A great holiday all up.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Radiate36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mitcfaw, Manager at The Westin Resort & Spa, Whistler, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear Radiate36,

Thank you for staying with us! We appreciate your feedback and are glad you and your family enjoyed your Whistler vacation. We hope to have you back soon!!

Stay well,
Eric Eikeland
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2013

We have stayed at the Westin in Whistler twice now and love the location as it is so close to the gondolas and having kitchens in the rooms is fantastic when you are staying for two weeks however the apartments are looking tired and could do with an upgrade also this time we have been disappointed with the cleaning staff, little things like they took away our washing powder and our tea strainer which we had bought specifically to be able to make real tea! At least three times we had to call and ask for more towels, tea towels and robes...I know it sounds picky but when you come in from skiing and want to have a shower and there aren't enough towels...it is ok once but three times is a little annoying. Would these things stop us from staying here again ....no because it is so convenient.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveljunkie084
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mitcfaw, Manager at The Westin Resort & Spa, Whistler, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear Traveljunkie084,

Thank you for returning to stay with us again! We truly appreciate your business and are glad our location keeps you and your family coming back. Please accept our apologies about the lapse in service with our housekeeping department. We will follow up on your comments to ensure that we are making our guests feel as comfortable as possible.

Stay well,
Eric Eikeland
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2013

Very good Starwood property. The Westin is starting to show its age. I have been staying at the property for the last three years during the Christmas holidays. It gets quite busy during those times. I am a SPG Platinum guest and did not get an upgrade. If you have kids, this property is very convenient for skiers or snowboarders with kids. The rental and valet is located downstairs. I would recommend this property .

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alagad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mitcfaw, Manager at The Westin Resort & Spa, Whistler, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear alagad,

Thank you for returning to stay with us for another year! We appreciate your feedback and thank you for your recommendation. Please know we are committed to continually renewing the property, including our recent lobby and public space renovation, and the new restaurant concept we will be introducing this spring/summer. We look forward to welcoming you back to show off our exciting changes!

Stay well,
Eric Eikeland
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2013

We picked this hotel based on its location right at the base of the mountain near the gondolas. The room had a great view of the mountain and the gondolas, and we were away from the noise of the village. However, the rooms are starting to look a bit shabby and dated.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kel2323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mitcfaw, Manager at The Westin Resort & Spa, Whistler, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear kel2323,

Thank you for sharing your review! We're delighted to have welcomed you all the way from Australia. We're glad you enjoyed your stay, and apologize that you felt the rooms were looking shabby. We take great care to keep every suite well maintained and will follow up with our maintenance department regarding this. We hope we can welcome you back again soon!

Stay well,
Eric Eikeland
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Whistler hotels
0.1 mi away
Hilton Whistler Resort & Spa
2.1 mi away
Nita Lake Lodge
Nita Lake Lodge
#1 of 49 in Whistler
1,768 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sundial Boutique Hotel
Sundial Boutique Hotel
#7 of 49 in Whistler
783 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Aava Whistler Hotel
Aava Whistler Hotel
#14 of 49 in Whistler
1,662 reviews
0.1 mi away
Crystal Lodge Hotel
Crystal Lodge Hotel
#8 of 49 in Whistler
2,462 reviews
0.7 mi away
Four Seasons Resort and Residences Whistler
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Resort & Spa, Whistler? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Resort & Spa, Whistler

Property: The Westin Resort & Spa, Whistler
Address: 4090 Whistler Way, Whistler, British Columbia V0N 1B4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Whistler
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Whistler
#5 Spa Hotel in Whistler
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Whistler
#7 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Whistler
#8 Luxury Hotel in Whistler
#11 Romantic Hotel in Whistler
#13 Family Hotel in Whistler
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Resort & Spa, Whistler 4*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Whistler Village just yards from the gondolas and the slopes of Whistler and Blackcomb mountains, The Westin Resort & Spa, Whistler is an all-suite, full-service conference hotel and spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Jetsetter, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Resort & Spa, Whistler reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Resort And Spa, Whistler
The Westin Resort & Spa, Whistler Hotel Whistler
Westin Resort Whistler
Westin Hotel Whistler
Westin Whistler
Whistler Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing