We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant location but needs a revamp”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Westin Resort & Spa, Whistler
Ranked #11 of 49 Hotels in Whistler
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed January 10, 2013

We have stayed at the Westin in Whistler twice now and love the location as it is so close to the gondolas and having kitchens in the rooms is fantastic when you are staying for two weeks however the apartments are looking tired and could do with an upgrade also this time we have been disappointed with the cleaning staff, little things like they took away our washing powder and our tea strainer which we had bought specifically to be able to make real tea! At least three times we had to call and ask for more towels, tea towels and robes...I know it sounds picky but when you come in from skiing and want to have a shower and there aren't enough towels...it is ok once but three times is a little annoying. Would these things stop us from staying here again ....no because it is so convenient.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traveljunkie084
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mitcfaw, Manager at The Westin Resort & Spa, Whistler, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2013

Dear Traveljunkie084,

Thank you for returning to stay with us again! We truly appreciate your business and are glad our location keeps you and your family coming back. Please accept our apologies about the lapse in service with our housekeeping department. We will follow up on your comments to ensure that we are making our guests feel as comfortable as possible.

Stay well,
Eric Eikeland
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,093)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,372 - 1,378 of 2,093 reviews

Reviewed January 9, 2013

Very good Starwood property. The Westin is starting to show its age. I have been staying at the property for the last three years during the Christmas holidays. It gets quite busy during those times. I am a SPG Platinum guest and did not get an upgrade. If you have kids, this property is very convenient for skiers or snowboarders with kids. The rental and valet is located downstairs. I would recommend this property .

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alagad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mitcfaw, Manager at The Westin Resort & Spa, Whistler, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2013

Dear alagad,

Thank you for returning to stay with us for another year! We appreciate your feedback and thank you for your recommendation. Please know we are committed to continually renewing the property, including our recent lobby and public space renovation, and the new restaurant concept we will be introducing this spring/summer. We look forward to welcoming you back to show off our exciting changes!

Stay well,
Eric Eikeland
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

We picked this hotel based on its location right at the base of the mountain near the gondolas. The room had a great view of the mountain and the gondolas, and we were away from the noise of the village. However, the rooms are starting to look a bit shabby and dated.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kel2323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mitcfaw, Manager at The Westin Resort & Spa, Whistler, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2013

Dear kel2323,

Thank you for sharing your review! We're delighted to have welcomed you all the way from Australia. We're glad you enjoyed your stay, and apologize that you felt the rooms were looking shabby. We take great care to keep every suite well maintained and will follow up with our maintenance department regarding this. We hope we can welcome you back again soon!

Stay well,
Eric Eikeland
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

Most convenient location for ski area access. Even you don't need to carry equipment back to hotel.
Just next to village center, easy to walk around every corner.

Atmosphere is nice and warm.

Although didn't noticed on website, has outside warm water swimming pool. Room is not too big.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank m_toshi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mitcfaw, Manager at The Westin Resort & Spa, Whistler, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2013

Dear m_toshi,

Thanks for staying with us! We're glad you were able to enjoy some time on the mountain and found our location so convenient. We hope we can welcome you and your friends back again soon!

Stay well,
Eric Eikeland
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

This was our fifth visit to Whistler and our third stay at the Westin. Last year we stayed at the Pan Pacific Mountainside (PPM) which was fine but as we were staying over Christmas I decided it would be nice to have the large lobby atmosphere and better rooms at the Westin.

When we checked it it was nice to be received by someone who seemed professional - the staff at the PPM were friendly but seemed to know diddly squat about anything and just appeared to be gap year students (which they probably were). The Westin lady was very friendly. We had booked a one-bedroom mountain view suite as the person I booked it through at Intrawest (a truly awesome company - if only all call centre staff could learn from these people!) said I could get a mountain view for the same price as a normal one-bed. The check--in lady told us we were being given an SPG preferred room, which was nice considering our SPG membership has lapsed.

The room itself was great - the best we've had in Whistler, with a lovely large lounge and a good-sized bedroom with a king sized bed (even though they say the one-bedroom suites only have queen size) which was as 'heavenly' as they claim. As we were there over Christmas we needed enough space for Santa to come and fill the kids' stockings without waking them, and the room was perfect for this. The view itself was nothing special. I think saying it's a mountain view is stretching it a bit as we were in the West tower, further from the slopes than the East tower, and our main view was of the road and the Gondola building. You could just about see a few skiers coming in on the bottom of Whistler mountain and could see Blackcomb mountain over the rooftops, but the valley views give you equally good views of the mountains on the other side of the valley. I certainly wouldn't pay extra for this view. The room was also a bit noisy as we were by the road where the snowploughs go every morning between about 5 and 6. The Westin has always been very quiet before.

However, my main gripe, and it's one I've had before and mentioned both in comments to the hotel and on trip advisor is that there's not enough cupboard space, or more specifically drawer and shelf space in the suite. There was a cupboard opposite the door for our jackets and which had a shelf above for hats and gloves; there was a big wardrobe in the bedroom but it just had hanging space with a high shelf above and there was a four drawer chest in the bedroom, but there was nothing in the lounge except for the kitchen drawers which had crockery and utensils in. Hey housekeeping people - this is a SKI resort!! People have ski clothes and ordinary clothes - they have a lot of stuff. We need to put it somewhere and you don't give us enough space, so the room ends up permanently untidy with toys and books on every surface. Also why don't you put out a plastic mat to put ski boots on so we don't have to put them on the hall carpet which then gets wet??

I actually asked housekeeping this time if we could have a chest of drawers in the lounge. There was plenty of space - we could have had two extra in there - but for some reason they said it was a fire risk. They did give us two bedside cupboards which were about 20 cm wide which were certainly better than nothing (would have been nice if they could have been dusted down before being delivered) but it was all still a tight squeeze. We stayed at the Pan Pacific last year mainly for the reason that the cupboard space at the Westin is so poor - and despite having smaller rooms the cupboard space at the PPM was much better with two chests of four drawers.

My other main gripe last time was about the poor quality of the housekeeping. I'm pleased to say that this was now better. It's still cursory - a dirty coffee cup was left in the bathroom for three days before being cleared away - but at least we came back every day to find the room had been serviced, and once we had requested the turndown service we got it every night.

My kids used to love the lemon and lime water in the swimming pool area and they've replaced this with a normal water fountain. Such a shame. The pool and hot tub are still as frenziedly busy as ever although the hot tub outside is now so hot that the slightly-too-cool pool temperature is actually quite refreshing. I have no idea why the designers of the hotel put the pool where they did. The Pan Pacific pool and hot tub look over the slopes. The Westin's doesn't realy look over anything very much - such a shame.

The ski concierge service has also got better. The last couple of times we stayed we had lines of up to twenty minutes to collect our skis but despite being there at the busiest time of year the lines were much quicker. We didn't seem to get charged extra for it and it's very handy to be able to drop the skis off at the bottom of the slope rather than carry them to the hotel - even though it's not very far.

It's a hard choice between the PPM and the Westin. If the Westin sorted out it's cupboard space it would be a no-brainer but until they do I'm not sure if it's worth paying the extra, especially when the PPM has a much nicer and quieter pool.

Room Tip: Don't pay extra for a mountain view. The valley view is just as good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rosiefromlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mitcfaw, Manager at The Westin Resort & Spa, Whistler, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2013

Dear Rosie,

Thank you for returning to stay with us and sharing your review! We're delighted to have welcomed you and your family back again. We appreciate your comments about in-suite storage and apologize that it didn't meet your needs. We have a variety of larger suites that may be a better fit for you, and on your next visit one of our reservations agents would be happy to discuss this with you. We appreciate the feedback about Housekeeping service and will be certain to pass that on to our team. Thank you again for your business Rosie, we hope to see you again soon!

Stay well,
Eric Eikeland
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2013

Our family of 5 stayed in a delux 2 bedroom suite which worked out very well for our situation. The location of the hotel was ideal for skiing on Whistler mountain. The slow internet was disappointing for a hotel of this calibre. The porters were very helpful as was the concierge desk. We had a couple of small problems with the actual faciltiies in the room both of which were dealt with by friendly and helpful engineering staff. We dined at the in house restaurant one night and the staff were great with the kids.
When checking out of the room and checking under the beds to make sure had had not left anything behind it was disappointing to find an empty Nicroette packet - obviously not from our visit. Being a Starwood Preferred Guets member at this hotel did not seemed to get you any benefits but that did not surprise us. At this time of year it would have been nice to have the ski valet included in the room rate considering it is in the hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MOB68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mitcfaw, Manager at The Westin Resort & Spa, Whistler, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2013

Dear MOB68,

Thank you for sharing your review, we're delighted to have welcomed you and your family over the holidays! We're glad our team was able to go above and beyond to make your stay more memorable. Please accept our apologies for both your WiFi issues and the housekeeping oversight. We will be following up with our teams to address these. We hope to see you again soon!

Stay well,
Eric Eikeland
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A Whistler Blackcomb traveler
Oakville, Ontario, Canada
1
Reviewed January 2, 2013

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Whistler Blackcomb.com
Thank A Whistler Blackcomb traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
mitcfaw, Manager at The Westin Resort & Spa, Whistler, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Whistler hotels
0.1 mi away
Hilton Whistler Resort & Spa
0.4 mi away
Summit Lodge Boutique Hotel
2.1 mi away
Nita Lake Lodge
Nita Lake Lodge
#1 of 49 in Whistler
1,975 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Crystal Lodge Hotel
Crystal Lodge Hotel
#8 of 49 in Whistler
2,800 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sundial Boutique Hotel
Sundial Boutique Hotel
#7 of 49 in Whistler
911 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aava Whistler Hotel
Aava Whistler Hotel
#13 of 49 in Whistler
1,798 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Resort & Spa, Whistler? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Resort & Spa, Whistler

Address: 4090 Whistler Way, Whistler, British Columbia V0N 1B4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Whistler
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Whistler
#5 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Whistler
#6 Spa Hotel in Whistler
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Whistler
#8 Luxury Hotel in Whistler
#11 Romantic Hotel in Whistler
#13 Family Hotel in Whistler
Price Range: $193 - $1,380 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Resort & Spa, Whistler 4*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Whistler Village just yards from the gondolas and the slopes of Whistler and Blackcomb mountains, The Westin Resort & Spa, Whistler is an all-suite, full-service conference hotel and spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TravelUp, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Westin Resort & Spa, Whistler reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Resort And Spa, Whistler
The Westin Resort & Spa, Whistler Hotel Whistler
Westin Resort Whistler
Westin Hotel Whistler
Westin Whistler
Whistler Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing