We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,329)
Filter reviews
2,329 results
Traveler rating
1,169
712
254
103
91
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,169
712
254
103
91
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsski valeteast towerheavenly bedfirerock loungespg pointsone bedroom suiteper dayself parkfull kitchenski schoolhot tubgas fireplacedriving rangesmall kitchencan't beat the locationend of the dayski equipment
Filter
Updating list...
1,781 - 1,786 of 2,329 reviews
Reviewed April 19, 2012

Many here say that the location is great. Absolutely. But this is only one of the five hotels next to the lifts, and the other four are all slightly closer to both the lifts and the village (Hilton Whistler, Carleton Lodge, the Sundial, and the Pan Pacific Whistler Mountainside). Three of the four have the same 4-star category rating in Trip Advisor. So the location not only can be beat, but it's (slightly) better elsewhere, and let's compare the rest.

The Westin offers a screamingly fast internet that does not log you off, a morning paper, and has conveniently located washer & dryers (CAD 2 each).

But rooms (they're not suites--a kitchenette is added to a wall of the room, which lacks a dining table) are very small, the pool/hot tub is sized for a property with 50 rooms, not the ~400 it has, and the hotel hits you with lots of hidden fees:
1. MANDATORY PAID ski/snowboard storage, CAD 8.96 per item per night. There is no mention of this extra cost anywhere on the website (http://www.starwoodhotels.com/westin/property/features/activity_detail.html?propertyID=1199&activityId=1000056914) or on the confirmation; a total bait-and-switch "junk fee". Small families subsidize large ones as skis/snowboards in excess of 3 are free. All of the other 4 hotels mentioned above don't charge for this, and the vaunted drop-off tent is pretty useless: available only for ~1-2 hours in the day and located about 100 meters from where you would drop off the skies anyways.
2. Internet is not included in rate, and it's CAD 16.79 per 24-hours with no weekly packages. It is included at all of the other 4 hotels mentioned above.
3. Parking cost is the highest of all: CAD 36.30 per night. At the Carlton Lodge and Sundial it's CAD 22.40, at the Pan Pacific CAD 28.00, and the Hilton CAD 32.48.
4. All fees on website and on the property hide the fact that they exclude 12% tax.

The verdict: the Hilton, Carleton Lodge, the Sundial, and the Pan Pacific Mountainside all are closer to the village and lifts and have no hidden fees and lower parking costs.

Choosing the Westin for a 7-night stay with a family of 3+ with internet costed us an additional CAD 305.69/night in fees over the properties who are closer to the mountain and the village, plus up to CAD 97.30 extra on parking.

Out of principle, I would never return to a property with such distasteful practices. Out of being wise with my hard-earned cash, I won't either. And I notice that all the other three 4-star properties (the Pan Pacific Whistler Mountainside, the Sundial and the Hilton Whistler) currently all rank higher on TripAdvisor as well.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mike_SF_Mike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2012

Decide on a last minute get away and it was so worth the trip! Had a great room with a view of the slopes and really enjoyed the time away.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Whistler Blackcomb.com
Thank Phillip H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2012

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Whistler Blackcomb.com
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed April 13, 2012

This was our third year staying at the Westin Whistler for a family ski holiday with our two young children. Overall, this place is still my pick of Whistler hotels for the overall package it offers – Westin style & comfort of accommodation can always be relied on, and the location of the resort is excellent. However, my review this year is a little mixed - we all left feeling a little disappointed – the resort managed to suitably impress us in the last two years with exceptional service, but the warm hospitality we had previously experienced was definitely lacking this year.

The great things about this place
- LOCATION – I still think this is the best location in Whistler, especially when travelling with young children – 20 metres from the ski valet to the dropoff for Whistler Kids and the Village Gondola, close to all the village shops & restaurants
- ROOMS – we always stay in a 2 bedroom apartment which is compact (as is most accommodation in central Whistler Village) but provides plenty of space & all the amenities we need when travelling with 2 children – separate living with gas log fire, small kitchen, 2 bathrooms, plenty of storage space; the décor is warm and inviting, and the room temperature remains constantly comfortable; the only thing it lacks is it’s own washing machine (each floor does have its own laundry with excellent front loaders which have a good gentle cycle for those delicate base layers) and sufficient space for a drying rack for clothes (which simply meant that our 2nd shower was usually permanently set up as a drying room!)
- WESTIN HEAVENLY BEDS – are just that! Incredibly comfortable!!
- SPA – great masseuses, but a little pricey and you still can’t charge to the room
- SKI VALET – extremely efficient once again, never a queue (even at peak times); at the end of the day they set up a tent at the bottom of the gondola run, so you can hand your skis over before walking back to the hotel

The not-so-good experiences this year:
- ROOM REQUEST – we arrived jetlagged having travelled for more than 40 hours to find that the room we requested (booked 12 months in advance), was not available so we were moved to an "equivalent" room several floors lower. Aside from the disappointment of being moved, it also resulted in a further delay at check-in because I had to request my parents be moved to the same floor as us as initially requested in our booking. To add salt to the wound, we then had the misfortune of a week's worth of extremely noisy upstairs neighbours who seemed to be thumping on their floor every night until close to midnight – despite Starwood’s promise to upgrade Gold members when available, this felt distinctively like a downgrade!
- HOUSEKEEPING – every morning we would leave at 8.30 for ski lessons, and return at 4pm after picking up the kids – on several occasions, our room was either in the process of being serviced or had not even been attended to yet – which is incredibly frustrating when you have exhausted kids in tow. As a top ski resort, I would expect that all rooms be serviced before the mountain closes at 4pm to allow guests to return and rest/shower/change
- HOSPITALITY – we noticed that the friendly “service with a smile” had miraculously disappeared in the 12 months since our last visit; whilst staff were polite, the warmth and sincerity we had previously experienced was not forthcoming. In addition, personal attention was also lacking – on arrival in our room, there was a "welcome" card on our kitchen bench, which would have softened the lingering frustration from check-in until I opened it to discover it was actually addressed to somebody else!!
- POOL – we took the kids to the pool once during our stay, and vowed never to return! The pool area was reminiscent of public pools in the 80s (drab & unwelcoming décor) and crowded with rowdy, inconsiderate and misbehaving kids (the parents were no better!!)

In summary, this resort is still my preferred place to stay in Whistler, and whilst overall, I left feeling a little disappointed, it has not deterred me from returning. Hopefully, next time we will find the warm and personal level of service restored, and we will give this place the accolades we have given it in the past.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarKri02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mitcfaw, Manager at The Westin Resort & Spa, Whistler, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2012

Dear CarKri02,

Thank you very much for returning with your family for your annual stay! We truly appreciate welcoming you back each year and hearing the detailed comments you take the time to share. Please accept my personal apologies that our associates weren't able to extend the warm and welcoming service you have every right to expect. Exceptional service is an effort that requires constant focus and improvement, and your comment is certainly an opportunity for us to ensure we are doing everything possible to maintain it. We look forward to welcoming your family back next year and are confident you will have the memorable experience you deserve.

Stay Well,
Bryce Beatty
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2012

The Westin is probably the best location to stay at Whistler, literally steps away from the Whistler Gondola. Although a bit pricey, it is in line with other equivalent hotels in the Village area (Hilton and Pan Pacific). I wish the rooms were a little bigger for the price, but overall this is place I would reccomend.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Whistler Blackcomb.com
Thank ddasilva2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews