We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a big disappointment”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Westin Resort & Spa, Whistler
Ranked #11 of 49 Hotels in Whistler
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed November 28, 2007

Great location, excellent amenities, but overall a huge disappointment.

$20 resort fee – are you kidding ! to get the newspaper and access the gym. Nothing short of price gouging. Throw in $28 parking, $15 for the internet, mandatory gratuities at the spa and restaurant, you’ve doubled your room rate!

Service was far from what one would expect in a 5 star resort, bur rooms were well appointed if you can get past 2 twin beds comprising their “heavenly” king bed!

Sorry, never again. Way too many other choices!

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank pgvisitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,074)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,881 - 1,887 of 2,074 reviews

Reviewed November 25, 2007

Beautiful hotel in a great setting, right at the base of Whistler mountain and right next to the ski lifts. We stayed in a junior suite and loved it. Very roomy, comfortable, modern, luxurious, beautiful views of the mountain. Loved that it had a kitchenette & fireplace and express checkout. Great shops inside the hotel, although very expensive. The only complaints are that the food was mediocre and the valet parking was terrible. The valets 'lost' our car and we waited for over 30 minutes in the freezing cold trying to figure out what happened with our car, barely making it to the airport in time to catch our flight home. Overall a great value.

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank jeaniebeanie74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2007

The Westin Resort and Spa is a beautiful property but it comes with MANY hidden charges and fees. I would say to add an additional $100.00 per night to the quoted room rate just to cover the fees they state outright on their website(valet, resort fee, etc.) Then they add on additional fees at check out such as a hotel gratuity at the Fireside Lounge which is not stated anywhere on the bill or in the lounge. As we normally tip 20% it came to a total of a 40% gratuity for every visit to the Lounge(which was nice and had good service) We did not eat dinner or breakfast at the hotel so I would be curious if they do it there as well.

We also had a day when we did not have our room cleaned. We were told that the housekeeping staff had gone home but they would bring us new towels with turn down service. I think for the amount of $$$ being spent per night a little more effort would have been in order but frankly I would have been afraid that we would have been charged extra for it.

On the plus side the Fireside Lounge was a great place for a before dinner drink and we did visit the Spa which was great as well. I am glad that we didn't charge the spa treatments to the room as we may have gotten a extra hotel gratuity added on by the hotel on top of the required 18% by the spa. You can visit both of these without being a hotel guest and avoid the addition hotel charges and that is would I will do in the future.

We would not stay here again as their are many other properties in Whistler that have a great location and services. My advice would be to stay somewhere else. It will save you the shock of seeing your bill at check out.

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank tennisniese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2007

OK hotel, with very nice location but their customer service is below par for a Westin. Resort fee is ridiculous...for 2 bottles of water. We used the valet service to park our car (25 CAD for valet service or self-park), received the car back with a dent and scratches but nobody told us and we only noticed it when we got back home in Vancouver. No doubt it happened in the valet service as we drove straight home from the Westin, without stopping on the road.... Called the next morning and sent pictures to get an 'appreciate your business but can't help you'. I realize there may be abuse but this was very straightforward. We go to Whistler regularly but the Westin won't see me again...

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank vors2290
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2007

The Westin Hotel was a wonderful retreat from the hustle of city life. Not the best weather but a great location where the top of the village meets the base of the stellar ski slopes of Whistler mountain. By far the jewel of the Westin and if not our entire Whistler experience was the Firerock Lounge. Our most memorable experience was with a delightful pair of young men. Ken was our server and Sam behind the bar together they served up quite an evening. Ask ken to tell his leper joke, sooo funny. Anyways a great stay in the Firerock and our room. Worth a stay for sure.

Stayed: October 2007
2  Thank Vanman17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2007

Advantages
Staff were extremely courteous, pleasant and helpful. The only "miss" in service was the below fire alarm incident.
Ski concierge and 30 second walk to the ski lifts means no lugging of gear.
Complimentary starbucks coffee.
Plush and comfortable room/bedding/towels.

Disadvantages
The fire alarm went off on our first night at approx 2am. After hearing over the loud speaker that it was a false alarm, we waited for approx 30 minutes then rang reception to say our alarm was still going. They said it would go off soon. It didn't, so 20 minutes later we rang again. This time we were told someone would come up and move us to a different room. They didn't. By this stage almost 2 hours had elapsed and we were tired having arrived from Europe only 12 hours before. Eventually someone came and moved us and we got an apology note under the door the next morning. However given it is a 5 star hotel, the staff should have moved us sooner, or it would have been nice to receive a complimentary breakfast or massage. Something to say "we apologise for disturbing your sleep for 3 hours".
The resort fee, wish they would just add it to room fee costings.

Stayed: December 2006
2  Thank ajax79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2007

Whenever possible, I like to stay at Westin properties when travelling. On a recent business trip to Whistler, I decided to spend a night at the Westin Resort & Spa.

The Westin is a massive hotel - nicely styled, but nothing special or unique (in terms of style, Whistler hotels tend to be carbon-copies of eachother).

I received a complimentary upgrade from a 'Junior Suite' to a 'One Bedroom Suite'.

Here's an overview of my stay:

Pro's:

-Definitely a resort! Many services, shops, dining options, and amenities.
-Friendly staff (some, however, are a little young and awkward)
-Nicely appointed, spacious suites (I had a corner-suite, so it was even bigger than usual).
-Rooms have a nice 'lodgy' feel, thanks to fireplaces and wood-accents.
-Bathrooms have nice soaker tubs.
-Complimentary Shuttle is very much appreciated.
-Close to the mountain and ski-lift.
-Heavenly beds = always awesome.

Con's:

-As per all Westins, very little in this hotel comes free/cheap (i.e. snack centre, internet, etc.)
-Unlike most Westins, I did not have the 'dual shower-head' in my bathroom.
-The room is starting to show its age (old finishes, worn carpets, etc.)
-The food at the hotel is dissappointing.
-Not much about this hotel is very 'memorable'.
-Because this is a Westin 'Resort', a 'Resort Fee' is charged (for complimentary water etc.) - this is a rip-off and should be optional.

Overall:

This is a typical Westin. This is also a typical Whistler hotel. Although it is still nice, nothing about it is really unique or special.

If ever I need to return to Whistler for a long-term stay, I would consider the Westin.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank Resort_Employee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Whistler hotels
0.1 mi away
Hilton Whistler Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
Crystal Lodge Hotel
Crystal Lodge Hotel
#8 of 49 in Whistler
2,749 reviews
0.4 mi away
Summit Lodge Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Nita Lake Lodge
Nita Lake Lodge
#1 of 49 in Whistler
1,954 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sundial Boutique Hotel
Sundial Boutique Hotel
#7 of 49 in Whistler
882 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aava Whistler Hotel
Aava Whistler Hotel
#13 of 49 in Whistler
1,779 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Resort & Spa, Whistler? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Resort & Spa, Whistler

Address: 4090 Whistler Way, Whistler, British Columbia V0N 1B4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Whistler
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Whistler
#5 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Whistler
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Whistler
#6 Spa Hotel in Whistler
#7 Luxury Hotel in Whistler
#11 Romantic Hotel in Whistler
#13 Family Hotel in Whistler
Price Range: $144 - $1,350 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Resort & Spa, Whistler 4*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Whistler Village just yards from the gondolas and the slopes of Whistler and Blackcomb mountains, The Westin Resort & Spa, Whistler is an all-suite, full-service conference hotel and spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Starwood, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Westin Resort & Spa, Whistler reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Resort And Spa, Whistler
The Westin Resort & Spa, Whistler Hotel Whistler
Westin Resort Whistler
Westin Hotel Whistler
Westin Whistler
Whistler Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing