We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Had A Wonderful Stay Here!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort
Ranked #6 of 49 Hotels in Whistler
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Canada
Level Contributor
53 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
“Had A Wonderful Stay Here!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2007

We had a great vacation stay here at the end of Januaray, and would definitely come here again!

Things we really liked:

The location of the hotel!! It's right at the bottom of Blackcomb mountain, steps to the lifts. And it's in the Upper Village area so there are some other restaurants and shops (other than those that are inside the hotel). Inside the hotel we loved the Portabello!

The pool and hot tub area was awesome! We always went there quite late - 10pm (it's open until 11pm), and never found it to be crowded. We loved all the pools - lap pool, leisure pool that you can swim from inside to outside, several hot tubs, sauna, and euchalyptus steam room! The workout area looked nice too.

The staff "on the floor" was always very polite! Every staff memeber we passed in the halls always greeted us! The housekeeping staff were friendly and polite! You can definitely tell it's a fairmont first class hotel in this area!

Also every time you dialed to talk to the hotel "operator" for like housekeeping, wake up call, etc they always addressed you by name (well the name that the room was booked under). It was nice hear eg: "Good Morning Mr/Mrs Smith" whenever we called down to them. It makes you feel important.

The ski valet is actually quite nice in the basement of the hotel! At first I wasn't sure about it, but there was always enough staff and we never had to wait more than a minute before someone came to help us - even during the busy morning time.

Blackcomb Snowmobiles tour company (who do more than just snowmoblie tours) is located in the hotel too, down by the ski valet, which is great because that means if you book with them you will get picked up right from the hotel for your tour - no needing to meet anywhere else.

The hotel is pet friendly! Yes! We had no problems with bringing our dog along. The housekeeping staff was accomodating to our schedule. I would call down and let them know that we'll be taking our dog out now for about an hour, and they would come and make the room.

If you want to use the internet in your room, make sure that you sign up (online before you arrive) for the Fairmont Presidents Club. Because if you are a memeber, and it's free to join, then you get free wireless highspeed internet in the room, otherwise if you're not a member it's $14 a day! So we signed up to become a member before we arrived and it was no problem. Then in the room, when you want to log onto the internet it just prompts you for your name and presidents club number (which you'll have) and you get the internet for free!

Things we didn't like:

The whole check-in process. We had booked online through expedia (at a really great discounted rate) and were treated like second rate citizens. The lady at the check-in was actually quite rude, arguing with me that I didn't request a king bed when I had (and I had the paperwork to prove it). Anyway in the end it worked out fine and because I wouldn't back down, she managed to find us a king bed room.

I also found that the left wing we were in seemed a bit outdated. Now I don't know whether the rest of the hotel is also like that, or whether it's just that wing. But the room could do with a bit of a makeover.

And finally as previous reviewers have said, I think the number one negative (for me anway) staying at a place like this is the fact that you get so many conferences and you really become lost in the crowd of hundreds of conference attendees. While we were there the San Jose Sharks were at the Chateau plus several conferences were occuring!

But all in all we really did enjoy our stay here and would stay here again!

  • Stayed February 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank MrMrsTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,179 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,124
    673
    244
    87
    51
See reviews for
967
1,101
77
463
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (638)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Exmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2007

We stayed at the Chateau as we had the chance to stay at a hotel that cost a little extra than what we would normally pay, so choose this on recommendation of the agent.
On the whole we had a fantastic time, but whether that is more to do with the actual setting and Whistler it just depends on what you are expecting.
For us we were very happy with the deluxe room we had paid for and had a lovely view over the slopes. The shopping centre underneath was very convienent for breakfast and even the Mallard Lounge served some great food.

Price - probably is more than what we would be used to paying but after all if you are on holiday you expect to spend money!!!
The only bad points were that our stay coicided with a massive retail conference and there were an extra (what felt like (1500+) guests there, unfortunately the amount of over zealous americans/canadians did annoy us. It also seemed like we were treated as third rate guests from the hotel staff once they had arrived. On 2 occassions in the bar we were denied a seat because conference guests and bagged them first. When we complained to the hotel we didnt even get an apology.

But we didnt let that taint our stay, yes the coffee wasn't replaced everyday and in the end we had to leave notes for the maid. The pool area is lovely and yes its bound to be busy if you go at the popular times like 2pm-6pm, but you just work around that.

I think when you have had a bad stay somewhere you are more likely to write a review on how bad your stay was but if you had a generally pleasant stay we tend not to rave about the good things in life. I thought on the whole the hotel was above average and the services it provided were what we would expect.

  • Liked — Views and location to slopes
  • Disliked — Walk/Distance to main village
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank SqurrielOn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HUDDS, ENGLAND
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2007

They cant handle busy periods!

It's our honeymoon.....we booked a king bed and got 2 queens! Argh well.... nice room anyway.....

The bathroom was clean and fairly large but we had to ask for toiletries every day....

....same with the milk for the coffee and tea.

The hotel was not up to fairmont standards by any stretch of the imagination......nowhere near a 4 star rating only just a 3!

The spa was nice but over crowded and grubby.....towels were left everywhere and the decor was drab.... the hotel is in need of a make over.

The staff know their stuff but are not welcoming in the slightest and their appearence is very casual...not what i would expect.

The ski valet is handy but the queues are huge at peak times and its well worth taking your boots to your room (to avoid the queue for a chair!)

Food was expensive and not worth the high prices, the bar was full all day....really difficult to get a seat, especially a clean one...

It's a good base for skiing but that's it. I wouldn't recommend this hotel to others and we wont be returning!

  • Liked — Locality to the ski hills
  • Disliked — Decor, Staff appearence and service
  • Tips/Secrets — Take your ski boots to the room and miss the queue in the morning for a seat!
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank pollynomore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pemberton
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2007

I booked to stay in a suite on the gold floor as it is supposed to be a hotel within a hotel. I therefor thought we would be better cared for....big mistake. We had to move as the rooms were too small for 1 adult and 2 children. We were moved to another floor but promised all gold privileges. however when we tried to go to the lounge we were publicly evicted. Most embarrassing. They then lost where they had placed us and tried to evict us during the night. When we complained we were treated like freeloaders. I will never return or recommend this hotel.

  • Liked — When I left it for another hotel!
  • Disliked — Staying in it
  • Tips/Secrets — Don't go there, go to the Four Seasons
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank 2906
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2007

Did you know that this hotel admits to frequently losing guests on their booking system. They lost us - and then decided that we were illegally in the 2 bedroom suite. At 9.30pm security entered my 8 year old nephew's room and tried to evict him (he was asleep at the time). They then tried to evict the baby sitter. When she explained that we were eating downstairs in the bar, they then tried to evict my 3 and 5 year old children by entering the other bedroom door. If this is not bad enough, they did not tell us THAT A LONE MALE SECURITY GUARD HAD ENTERED THE BEDROOM 9.30PM to do this. Just imagine if you had gone to bed after a hard day skiing and woken up to find a stranger in your bedroom! Then imagine how we feel, knowing this happend to our young children. When we reported this to the hotel management, they wasted our time on internal proceedures. Finally they had offered us $200 CAD in Fairmont vouchers. We spent nearly $5000 CAD, so this is nothing but an insult, particularly as they did not activate the Presidants Club vouchers with a value of over $700CAD. Terrible hotel, terrible attitude. We left a day early (we planned to extend by 10 days) - even leaving took nearly 2 hours and they lost one ski helmet. A disaster. The Four Seasons was simply fabulous - I highly recommend booking there instead.

  • Liked — Leaving
  • Disliked — Attitude of the management
  • Tips/Secrets — Try the Four Seasons Resort instead
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank EE-TRIP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
55 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2007

I called whistler.com as I had the opportunity on a recent trip to Vancouver, BC to go skiing for a day at Whistler/Blackcomb, they gave me a great deal on a one night stay at this fancy hotel. I have stayed at Fairmonts before but didn't expect to get this good of a rate (around 140 CDN per night). We scooped it up. BUT it wasn't all that. The cost of the food that wasn't great and the place looked nice in the lobby but the rooms were kinda dingy and not what you would expect from a Fairmont.
Staff was great. Nice and helpful, but still, I would have preferred to stay somewhere with cheaper restaurants/parking, and the biz ctr. didn't open early enough. come on, when you are at a ski place people get on the hills early, you should have it open before the lifts so we can send out our emails and faxes before hitting the hills.
Overall good if you can get a rate like we did but don't spend that big bucks, you will be unsatisfied, not good value.

  • Liked — Pool and spa facilities.
  • Disliked — Rooms and food
  • Tips/Secrets — Join the fairmont president's club before you go!
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank Marnsala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Vancouver, BC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2006

With a terrible cold and a winter storm in the forecast, I was determined to enjoy my Birthday weekend with my fiance at the Chateau Whistler as planned - I am so glad that I did. We have been to the Chateau many times in the past and it has always been a great choice.
Hot tubbing outside in the snow with a view of the mountain is unbeatable...but then there's steam room, sauna, fluffy, comfy bed and the fabulous chocolate fondue for two in the lounge...yum.
The hotel is located in the quieter part of the resort area but is still within walking distance of the shopping area/restaurants which makes it peaceful yet convinient. A word of caution is that the hotel parking is pricy at around $22/night.

Stayed November 2006
Helpful?
2 Thank abbact
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Whistler hotels
2.6 mi away
Nita Lake Lodge
Nita Lake Lodge
#1 of 49 in Whistler
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,772 reviews
0.6 mi away
Aava Whistler Hotel
Aava Whistler Hotel
#14 of 49 in Whistler
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,665 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hilton Whistler Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Summit Lodge Boutique Hotel
0.5 mi away
Crystal Lodge Hotel
Crystal Lodge Hotel
#8 of 49 in Whistler
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,474 reviews
0.2 mi away
Four Seasons Resort and Residences Whistler
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort

Property: Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort
Address: 4599 Chateau Boulevard, Whistler, British Columbia V0N 1B4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Whistler
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Whistler
#2 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Whistler
#3 Family Hotel in Whistler
#4 Spa Hotel in Whistler
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Whistler
#5 Luxury Hotel in Whistler
#8 Romantic Hotel in Whistler
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 539
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the base of Blackcomb Mountain, Whistler's landmark ski-in ski-out hotel, Fairmont Chateau Whistler resort hotel defines mountain luxury. A classic 12-story Chateau-style resort hotel with Health Club, Spa and the largest pool deck in Whistler - offering indoor and outdoor swimming pools, four whirlpools and breathtaking views of Blackcomb mountain. Situated a five minute walk from village center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Fairmont Hotels, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Chateau Whistler Hotel Whistler
Fairmont Whistler
Whistler Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing