We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely hotel, great staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort
Ranked #5 of 49 Hotels in Whistler
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“lovely hotel, great staff”
Reviewed July 24, 2014

Whistler is a terrific place to go, wherever you stay, I suspect. However, it becomes even better if you stay at the Fairmont. We stayed in a family room on the Gold floor. The Gold floors are great - the lounge is a terrific facility and the staff there friendly and helpful. Hotel facilities can be as splendid as you like, but what makes a real difference to how you feel about a stay is how you are treated by the hotel staff. Well, Fairmont scores again highly on this front. Our daughter got food poisoning while in Whistler (not through hotel food!!) and the staff could not have been sweeter. Particular mention to Tiffany and Israelie who were wonderful. Aside from that, room was spacious, clean, nice decor, plenty of storage and great, great beds. Spent 10 nights in Fairmont beds on this holiday and have never slept better while away from home. Bathroom was spacious and well-spec'd, perhaps getting ready for an update but that's a minor point. Really, really good hotel and although it was the most expensive of the Fairmont hotels we stayed in during our trip, by a margin, in no way do we feel that it was poor value. We'd go back in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: Gold floor is really excellent - well worth the extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark7cp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChateauWhistler, Front Office Manager at Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear Mark7cp,
Thank you for choosing The Fairmont Chateau Whistler as your destination. Our Fairmont Gold is in the top 5 of our international company and truly is the ultimate in luxury Whistler hotel accommodations. Fairmont staff strives to turn moments into memories for our guests and hearing you have fond memories of our resort is rewarding and appreciated. We will be sure to pass along your kind words to our Team on Fairmont Gold. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Christopher Smart
Director of Front Office Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,242 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,176
    681
    246
    88
    51
See reviews for
982
1,126
81
474
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (652)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 23, 2014

We had stayed at Fairmount's previously but I think this rates up there at the top. Awesome rooms, building, comfortable beds great air-conditioning and ability to open windows when required for fresh air. Excellent internet,

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Patricia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChateauWhistler, Front Office Manager at Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear Patricia H,
Thank you very much for your feedback on our hotel as well as our brand in general! We are glad you enjoyed our guestrooms and facilities during your stay. We hope to welcome you back soon.
Christopher Smart
Director of Front Office Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2014


The hotel staff is very rude, bad attitudes all around. Management never accepted any responsibility for any of the problems we had. We asked to be switch room for a number of reason and this seemed to get the staff all in a huff and they never did change our room. We had a pipe burst in our room, plus the heat didn’t work, they forgot the crib that we requested, no robes or towels. The maintenance man and engineer left insulation all over the carpet and didn’t clean it up. Our toddler could have put it in his mouth and choked. We got locked out of our room three times and had to walk very far in order to get to the elevators. They kept blaming us that our room key didn’t work because it was something that we were doing to de magnetize it. There is so much more but all I can say is that no one ever said sorry or took responsibility for all that happened. Would never ever stay here again. Way better hotels in the village. The Fairmont is mega outdated and needs renos badly. Plus it’s not in the village and way overpriced for what you get.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank 381jay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChateauWhistler, Front Office Manager at Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear 381jay,
Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience here on TripAdvisor. If all of our guests do not have a wonderful experience every day, we want to know how we can improve and truly deliver to our guests’ expectations. We strive to offer outstanding service with a genuine spirit of warm hospitality but understand we have failed to meet this goal on the occasion of your visit.

I would like to apologize for the service and product shortfalls you encountered during your stay and would greatly appreciate the opportunity to speak with you further to gain a better understanding of your experience. Please feel free to contact me directly through the hotel's main number.

Respectfully,

Tom Lefkovits
Director of Operations
Tel +1 604 938 8000
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smithville, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 23, 2014

Staff was very friendly upon arrival. Made our way up to our room and a dog was barking across the hall. Went to get a shower and the floor was grimey looking and there was a stain aroun the toilet bowl. Went out for dinner and a few drinks (the village is beautiful). Back to our room to get some well needed sleep. We were awoken by barking dogs at about 730 am. Did not expect these things from The Fairmont. Very disappointing. Staff apologized and validated our parking for the night. Which was nice, considering parking is a ridiculous 35 per night but still didn't make up for the unclean, noisey room.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Jordanabanana25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChateauWhistler, Front Office Manager at Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear Jordanabanana25,
Thank you for sharing your feedback and we are very sorry to hear that your expectations were not met during your stay. We were disappointed to hear that there were some housekeeping issues in your room. Please accept our sincere apologies that your stay wasn't as relaxing as you had hoped, no one likes to get woken up too early, especially on vacation!
I truly appreciate your valuable feedback and can assure you that your comments have been taken very seriously and will be beneficial in assisting us in the future.
Christopher Smart
Director of Front Office Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marbella, Spain
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2014

Enjoyed our stay at the Fairmont chateau. Overall everthing whas nice, but the service at the bar where slow and not to friendly, after waiting 10 min in an emty bar, I vent to the bar and order my drink, after returning to my table a waitres came seeing me with a full drink and asked if I got it in the bar , yes I replayed, and she say ok just making sure your not bringing it from your room....????

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Belgum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChateauWhistler, Front Office Manager at Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear Belgum,
Thank you for sharing your Whistler experience. I am very pleased to hear you and your family enjoyed your stay with us overall.
Please accept our sincere apologies for the less than speedy service that you experienced in The Mallard, it is certainly not our usual level of service. Our hotel has strict liquor licensing with regards to bringing drinks from the Lounge up to your guestroom so perhaps that what the colleague meant when they spoke with you. In any case, we are sorry for the inconvenience.

Christopher Smart
Director of Front Office Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2014

There are a lot of reasons to stay at the Fairmont Chateau Whistler - impeccable service, spacious, well-appointed rooms and the perfect location set apart from the hustle and bustle of the village centre. The stand-out for me, however, is the ability to open my windows, listen to the birds, and breathe in the fresh air while I sit at my desk. It's a luxury I don't take for granted when travelling for work. The restaurants also have gorgeous outdoor areas where you can sit with a cup of tea or a glass of wine and in my case get some work done in a creativity-boosting environment. The staff are gracious, unobtrusive but helpful, and don't rush the patrons. The rooms are also thoroughly cleaned every day - a particular pet peeve of mine (so often I arrive at a hotel and find someone else's hairs in my tub or sink. It's gross.) I should also note that the hotel gym is very well equipped, and the outdoor pool area is gorgeous. Yes the hotel is expensive. I expect that all of Whitler is expensive, and Fairmont has never been a choice for the budget traveler. Yes they charge an exorbitant amount for parking - I was quite surprised by that as well, and I think they should change that system. For a past reviewer, it's really quite easy to get free internet - you just have to sign up for the Fairmont loyalty program and you get free internet in all Fairmonts. It's a better perk than Marriott where you have to attain a certain level in the program in order to get free internet in some of their hotels. Overall, this is a great choice, and I'm looking forward to coming back.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JEPCda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChateauWhistler, Front Office Manager at Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear JEPCda,
Thank you so very much for taking the time to provide feedback on your most recent visit. We are glad you enjoyed the service and amenities during your stay. It is really nice to hear that you were able to enjoy a little bit of relaxation while travelling on business!
Thank you for your feedback on our restaurant selection, all of our patios have great views so we are glad to hear that you had a chance to enoy them.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon.

Christopher Smart
Director of Front Office Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vernon, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 21, 2014

This property meets all of the expectations of a five star luxury hotel. The staff were unfailingliy helpful and courteous, the food and drink was excellent and the rooms were luxusious without being ostentatious.

This was our first trip to Whistler in teh summer and our first stay at the Chateau Whistler. Whistler is as amazing in summer as it is in winter. Millions of activities and outstanding dining opportunities.

I can not rave enouigh and will ceraintainly return.

Room Tip: A valley view upgrade is nice, but not necessary as both views are spectacular.
See more room tips
Green Features: They had all of teh environmentally friendly amenities I would expect.
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rileynoone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChateauWhistler, Front Office Manager at Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear Rileynoone,
Thank you for choosing The Fairmont Chateau Whistler as your destination. We are so happy to see that you enjoyed our service during your stay, Fairmont staff strives to turn moments into memories for our guests and hearing you have fond memories of our resort is rewarding and appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Christopher Smart
Director of Front Office Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Whistler hotels
2.6 mi away
Nita Lake Lodge
Nita Lake Lodge
#1 of 49 in Whistler
1,829 reviews
0.5 mi away
Crystal Lodge Hotel
Crystal Lodge Hotel
#8 of 49 in Whistler
2,558 reviews
0.5 mi away
Summit Lodge Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hilton Whistler Resort & Spa
0.6 mi away
Aava Whistler Hotel
Aava Whistler Hotel
#13 of 49 in Whistler
1,682 reviews
0.2 mi away
Four Seasons Resort and Residences Whistler
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort

Property: Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort
Address: 4599 Chateau Boulevard, Whistler, British Columbia V0N 1B4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Whistler
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Whistler
#2 Business Hotel in Whistler
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Whistler
#3 Family Hotel in Whistler
#4 Spa Hotel in Whistler
#4 Luxury Hotel in Whistler
#8 Romantic Hotel in Whistler
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 539
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the base of Blackcomb Mountain, Whistler's landmark ski-in ski-out hotel, Fairmont Chateau Whistler resort hotel defines mountain luxury. A classic 12-story Chateau-style resort hotel with Health Club, Spa and the largest pool deck in Whistler - offering indoor and outdoor swimming pools, four whirlpools and breathtaking views of Blackcomb mountain. Situated a five minute walk from village center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, TravelUp, Fairmont Hotels, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Priceline, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Chateau Whistler Hotel Whistler
Fairmont Whistler
Whistler Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing