We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“First time stay, Don't think we'll be back” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort
Ranked #6 of 49 Hotels in Whistler
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Nanoose Bay, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“First time stay, Don't think we'll be back”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2014

We have stayed in Whistler several times and try to make it an annual trip for our anniversary. We have stayed at the pan pacific mountain side as well as the Four Seasons Whistler. I had read reviews before booking and due to lack of availability at the Four Seasons, I chose the fairmont chateau.

The lobby is beautiful and checking in as a Fairmont Presidents Club member was a breeze. Although the desk clerk was not the friendliest we have ever had, she made check in very easy. The room we chose was a Junior valley view suite. We were not impressed with the view of the driveway into the resort. As this room was supposed to be an upgrade from the regular junior suite, We thought the view would've been more substantial. There was a lovely welcome note as the concierge had asked prior to our arrival if it was a special occasion.

After that the hotel fell short in my books. We wanted to have a quick lunch, and seeing as there was only one restaurant open for lunch in the hotel, we didn't have a lot of choice. We ordered a couple of appys which took almost an hour to get. The server was understanding and gave us our drinks for free, but at a 4 star resort, my thoughts were the service should've been better.

Now, my comparison of this hotel is with the Four Seasons Whistler. Rooms are of similar price, the location is almost side by side, but the Four Seasons is definitely the easy choice in my books. We were very disappointed in the car service that the fairmont offers. Most locations seem to be very open to driving Fairmont Presidents Clubs members anywhere in a reasonable distance, in a nice BMW. When we asked about the car service at the front desk, she told us there was no such thing offered. So then we asked the bell man, and he assured us that yes, there was a car service that would drive us into the village. We used the service once which was nice, but when we needed a ride to a local spa, or to the float plane (both a $15 cab away) we were told that there was no shuttle for those locations. After spending nearly $40 - $50 in cabs, the easy choice is the Four Seasons which offered a car service that was much more flexible, friendly, and easy going. The cost of Cabs that you will need to take staying at the fairmont should make any other hotel an easy decision. When I asked why the bell man couldn't take us in a standing BMW with Fairmont decals on it, we were told that if they used it they would have to wash it at the end of the night which was too much work. This really solidified my opinion that the Four Seasons Whistler is a much much better choice when visiting whistler. We were let down by the Fairmont and will be choosing the Four Seasons over this hotel anytime we visit.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shawn m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChateauWhistler, Front Office Manager at Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you so very much for taking the time to provide feedback on your most recent visit.

I was disappointed to hear that you didn't receive an accurate description of the view from your guestroom and was therefore disappointed with the view from your guestroom.

As for your dining experience in The Mallard, this is certainly not our normal level of service. Although we have been exceptionally busy in the hotel, it does not excuse the shortfalls in service and comfort that you did experience during your stay.

I truly appreciate your valuable feedback and can assure you that your comments have been taken seriously and will be beneficial in assisting us in the future.

It is a shame you did not experience our hotel to its full potential. We appreciate your feedback and hope to welcome you back to the resort soon.

Christopher Smart
Director of Front Office Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,102
    669
    243
    87
    50
See reviews for
950
1,092
78
462
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (630)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2014 via mobile

These guys were fantastic, friendly and helpful.
We left our passports in the safe and only realised when we got to Vancouver airport with 3 hrs until take off. They helped get us a taxi to courier them to the airport and we made our flight hone. Also make sure you eat at Portobello downstairs-great lunch esp if you are gluten intolerant.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Bhendhal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChateauWhistler, Front Office Manager at Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay. We are so happy to hear that we were able to assist in getting your passports to you in time for your flight.
Thank you for your feedback on our gluten free options in Portobello! Our entire team takes great pride in being able to provide options for people with dietary restrictions.

We hope to see you again very soon.

Sincerely,

Christopher Smart
Director of Front Office Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2014

This is what first class is all about! From the minute we drove up, we knew we were in for a treat. The accommodations were just wonderful. Our room had a view of the mountains, and we slept with the french door open to take in the clean, fresh air. The restaurant options were all exceptional, and we enjoyed talking with the staff and they went out of their way to be attentive and anticipate our every need. This place is definitely not for the budget-minded, but if you'd like a truly wonderful experience...this is the place!

Room Tip: I would imagine every room would have a fabulous view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pegi R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChateauWhistler, Front Office Manager at Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your feedback. We are glad you enjoyed the service and accomodations during your stay. We pride ourselves in providing warm, professional and engaging service to all our guests!

Christopher Smart
Director of Front Office Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qualicum Beach
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2014

Was hoping for an enjoyable stay as showing off Whistler to my brother from London, England ... and was not disappointed ! Wonderful ambiance and very friendly and efficient staff!! Easy and pleasant walk to the Village and other amenities.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Pamela K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChateauWhistler, Front Office Manager at Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Dear Guest,

It is an absolute pleasure to hear your visit was a great one. Thank you for choosing The Fairmont Chateau Whistler to show your brother during his stay in Whistler.
I will be sure to pass on your kind words to our colleagues to inform them their efforts are recognized and appreciated.
Thank you for taking the time to share you review. We hope to welcome you and your family back to the hotel for many more years to come.

Christopher Smart
Director of Front Office Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
60 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2014

I can't remember if we ever before walked into a hotel room and said, "Wow!," but that's what we did at the Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort. The decor and the view out the window were real show stoppers. Phone calls from the room were answered very courteously and friendly, and results were exactly as requested and immediate. The restaurant experience matched the room - wonderful. Save up (a lot) to stay and eat here for something really special, like your 25th wedding anniversary. You'll remember it long afterwards.

Room Tip: A high floor and a corner room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GogoGSO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChateauWhistler, Front Office Manager at Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Dear Guest,

What an absolute pleasure to hear you had such a lovely experience at The Fairmont Chateau Whistler! It fills our hearts with pride to know you received the level of service we continously strive for.

We hope to welcome you again for another "wow" experience sometime soon!

Warmest Regards,
Christopher Smart
Director of Front Office Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
212 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2014

This is one of my favorite Whistler/Blackcomb hotels. The staff is always friendly and helpful. The rooms are very comfortable. The swimming pool is very good. Whistler village is a 10 minute walk away from this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank onip1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChateauWhistler, Front Office Manager at Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

We pride ourselves on providing warm and engaging service and are very happy to hear you had a pleasant experience while staying at The Fairmont Chateau Whistler.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warmest Regards,
Christopher Smart
Director of Front Office Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2014

Beautiful hotel, very clean, great atmosphere, especially loved the outdoor pool/lounge area with all of its facilities, very impressive. Great view of the mountain while you swim. Bar staff super friendly, drinks and food delicious.
Enjoyed having a glass of wine in the evening sitting by the outdoor fireplace.
Room was very nice, beds super comfy. Again, great views from room window, even saw two bears amble across the hill outside!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Allyson H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChateauWhistler, Front Office Manager at Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Dear Allyson,

Thank you very much for your kind words and review.

We are thrilled you enjoyed all the amenities and the slopeside setting of The Fairmont Chateau Whistler. May and June are incredible months for wildlife viewing - both on mountain and from our hotel. We are so pleased you had the opportunity to view our regular black bear visitors from your room.

We hope to welcome you back very soon!

Warmest Regards,
Christopher Smart
Director of Front Office Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Whistler hotels
2.6 mi away
Nita Lake Lodge
Nita Lake Lodge
#1 of 49 in Whistler
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,748 reviews
0.6 mi away
Aava Whistler Hotel
Aava Whistler Hotel
#14 of 49 in Whistler
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,648 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hilton Whistler Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Summit Lodge Boutique Hotel
0.4 mi away
Sundial Boutique Hotel
Sundial Boutique Hotel
#7 of 49 in Whistler
4.5 of 5 bubbles 779 reviews
0.2 mi away
Four Seasons Resort and Residences Whistler
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort

Property: Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort
Address: 4599 Chateau Boulevard, Whistler, British Columbia V0N 1B4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Whistler
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Whistler
#2 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Whistler
#3 Family Hotel in Whistler
#4 Spa Hotel in Whistler
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Whistler
#5 Luxury Hotel in Whistler
#8 Romantic Hotel in Whistler
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 539
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the base of Blackcomb Mountain, Whistler's landmark ski-in ski-out hotel, Fairmont Chateau Whistler resort hotel defines mountain luxury. A classic 12-story Chateau-style resort hotel with Health Club, Spa and the largest pool deck in Whistler - offering indoor and outdoor swimming pools, four whirlpools and breathtaking views of Blackcomb mountain. Situated a five minute walk from village center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Fairmont Hotels, HotelsforEveryone, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Chateau Whistler Hotel Whistler
Fairmont Whistler
Whistler Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing