We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Service, Fabulous Golf”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort
Ranked #5 of 49 Hotels in Whistler
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Fantastic Service, Fabulous Golf”
Reviewed September 5, 2008

We originally were scheduled to stay at this hotel in July when our 2 yr old dog got extremely ill and we had to cancel. The hotel worked with us to get full refund from Expedia even though we were supposed to have a 30 day cancellation. We re-booked for the end of August/beginning of September.
We are so glad we re-booked our trip. The service at the Chateau is truly amazing. Everyone is there to make your experience the best possible. The valets, bellboys, bartenders, servers, front desk are some of the best we have ever experienced.
We golfed the Chateau course, it is an amazing course, very tough but one of the most beautiful we have ever played. We also played Whistler Golf Club, we had a black bear 10 feet from the green! We liked both courses but the most beautiful and most challenging is the Chateau course.
We had a few martinis at the Mallard Lounge, best martinis we have ever had (and most expensive). Very classy bar with great live music.
The rooms were nice but nothing spectacular. We had a higher expectation since it was a Fairmont but the service did make up for the average room.
We would go back and stay based on the fabulous service.

  • Liked — Service
  • Disliked — Prices in the bar/restaurants
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Onyxsoleil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,255 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,186
    682
    248
    88
    51
See reviews for
984
1,129
81
477
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (654)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, BC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2008

We were excited to stay at the Fairmont as we have stayed at the Vancouver Airport hotel and loved it. Check in was good - we asked for early check-in and got it.

Once we arrived in the room we thought it was just a normal hotel room, no fireplace or kitchen amenities as you normally receive at Whistler. We had to call and request the dog bed that was supposed to be provided, and the robes so we could use the pool.

Safe never worked. In-room dining was expensive but the fish and chips was excellent.

Really bad layout to get to the pool/spa. You walk along the third floor and then down a metal fire escape - not nice at all! This is the way you are directed to go, so that you don't wander through the lobby.

OK stay but there are better hotels with nicer amenities for the money.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank heldol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2008

We stayed here the last weekend of August 2008. The weather had been rainy all week, but it cleared up and was sunny and beautiful. It was cool, low 60 F/16 C during the day. At night at bit chilly at 40 F/8 C.

The Fairmont is in the upper village, which if you want to be close to the mounatain and away from the hussle and bussle of town, it is perfect. They have a shuttle that runs to three stops in the village and back to the hotel. If you can get to Whistler without a car you really don't need one once you are here.

This Fairmont is smaller than others we have stayed at, but still very nice. We stayed on the Gold floor. If you can splurge for the extra money, I highly recommend it. It is well worth the price. On the Gold floor you have private check in/out, included: breakfast with made to order omelettes; free pop, water, snacks; DVD check out; helpful staff all just for you.

We stayed in a King room, it was very nice. No complaints. We had a fireplace, jetted tub, seperate shower, dual vanity, and small balcony. Room was clean, comfortable, and quite.

The rest of the hotel was always busy, but never felt crowded. They have a nice fitness center with everything you might need. 3-4 pools (heated) and 4-6 hot tubs (seat like 12 people). Was great for after we hiked, and would be really great in winter after a long day of skiing.

There are a few restuarants at hotel, but we opted to eat in town. Lots to choose from, McDonalds, Quiznos, pasta, asian, upscale, etc. Things to definately do: ziptrek, walk the village, gondola ride to top of Whistler mounatin.

We can not wait to go back. :)

  • Liked — Comfortable yet elegant
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wrkout4life
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Bloomfield, Michigan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2008

My husband and I stayed at the Fairmont for two nights. We spent most of our honeymoon at the Fairmont in Maui and we developed a bit of an obsession with Fairmonts after that! We had quite high expectations and for the most part, the Fairmont Chateau lived up to our expectations.

The level of service was amazing- everyone was so helpful and so friendly. The staff goes out of their way to make you feel like royalty. We arrived early and our room was not ready so we got upgraded to a room with a mountain view, which was beautiful. The room itself was a very nice size with an incredibly comfy bed. My only gripe was the bathroom- it was nothing special and looked like it came out of a completely different hotel. Basic, I guess is the word. In Maui, the Fairmont had these amazing bathrooms with huge jacuzzi tubs so I was a bit dissapointed that the bathroom wasn't like that in Whistler.

The hotel itself is chock full of things to keep you entertained. The spa was amazing, though overpriced. On Friday nights they have free appetizers in one of the lounges and live music. There are shops in the hotel and a couple of good restaurants. We didin't eat in the nicer one, but we got breakfast in the cafe type place- Portabella- and that was good.

One con is that the hotel is in the upper village and most of the action is in the lower village. It is only a 10 minute walk between the two though, so it is not too bad.

Overall, a great hotel!

  • Liked — The pool, the supreme level of service
  • Disliked — The bathroom in our room
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gizmojen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2008

We booked our room via Intrawest which in hindsight probably explains why the hotel didn't have our ski-lift passes ready when we checked in. We had to line up at the Intrawest ticket counter to get our passes.

Once we sorted out our ski lift ticket problem we went to the ski rental shop, which is conveniently located in the basement, and rented our equipment. However, the next morning our rented skis, which were supposed to be ready in the lobby, were no where to be found. Trying to find someone to help us out in the morning was extremely difficult.

Call it bad luck... but in my opinion when situations like these occur in a hotel boasting 5 stars, or "5 peaks" in this particular case, they should be dealt with promptly and efficiently which was not the case.

We did calm down after a nice day of skiing and the "ski-in & ski-out" convenience of the hotel is a big plus.

The pool area is a great spot to unwind after a hard day of skiing: it has many outdoor hot tubs and a splendid view of the mountain. The sport massages at the hotel spa were expensive, but they were excellent.

The hotel is located in the Upper Village which is a good 10 minute walk to most bars or restaurants in the main Whistler village. It also means that you need a taxi in the morning if you are doing the "Fresh Tracks Breakfast" on the Whistler Mountain (which I highly recommend). On the positive side, the hotel sits are the base of Blackcomb which in my opinion offers better skiing.

The room was small and the plumbing was a bit dated, but the beds were very comfortable.

Overall it was an OK experience, but next time I will try another hotel.

  • Liked — Ski-in / Ski-out
  • Disliked — Ski passes / skis not ready
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eric168
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 19, 2008

My husband and I recently spent four nights in the Fairmont Chateau in Whistler. Whistler was beautiful, but I was not impressed with the Fairmont. We'd never stayed at a Fairmont before, and I assumed that based on the previous reviews and the high star rating that it would be a luxury hotel. I was disappointed. While the lobby and the exterior of the hotel were beautiful, the corridors and the rooms were decorated in an old-fashioned manner. As we walked down the halls and then into our room, I almost had the feeling I was walking through an assisted living facility. Our room was somewhat dusty, and for some reason, we were given a handicapped room, complete with low light switches, railings in the bathroom and a hand held shower which looked as if it had seen better days.

This was the fourth hotel we were staying in on our trip through the Pacific Northwest, and it was by far the least desirable of the bunch. When we stopped by the pool on one of the warmer evenings, I was not happy with its' condition either. It looked as if it could use a good vacuuming, as there was dirt on the pool floor. I am normally not a picky person, I just expect certain things, and a clean pool is something that I always thought was a given, especially at a hotel of this caliber. Positives of this hotel were the beautiful lobby, and the extremely friendly staff. We were always greeted very warmly and sincerely throughout our stay.

  • Liked — Friendly staff
  • Disliked — Room did not seem up to 'luxury' standards
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank argonaut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver area
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2008

This property is tired and worn. It looks impressive as you enter the grand lobby, but once you check in you see a hotel that in spite of its reputation is at best mediocre. Soiled, threadbare carpets, sagging beds, pillows that smelled like they had been around a long time, beat up furniture, 20-year-old TV, doors that must be slammed to close properly (try sleeping with that noise up and down the corridor), and a phone that wouldn't work properly; all in a room that is bigger but not much better than you find in a Motel 6. The bathroom had faucets that both turned in the same direction (plumbing goof) so that you could scald yourself making adjustments, a non-functioning towel warmer, dirty grout and caulking, and when you closed the shower curtain you were left in semi-darkness due to poor lighting. There was no creamer for the in-room coffee. The restrooms in the common areas did not have toilet seat covers. The plastic "glasses" used at poolside were cracked and worn, and the pricey drinks were watered down. At $16 a pop, a good pour in a nice clean glass is a reasonable expectation.

The hotel staff was for the most part friendly and responsive, and the servers in the lounge and restaurant were competent, although we were once served drinks in the lounge by a young lady who was very slow and almost surly. The property suffers from a problem common to many major ski resorts - the local cost of living is too high to find and retain good employees unless you are willing to pay them properly. Having travelled extensively on business, I find it customary to get evening turn-down service and a morning paper at the door at better hotels. Not here, even when requested. This may seem picaune to some, but there are minimum standards that should be met by a hotel that claims to be, and charges like, a luxury accomodation.

This hotel is milking the Fairmont reputation while commanding premium prices. If you are planning to visit the Fairmont in Whistler, be prepared for a disappointment. Whistler will be used as a venue for the 2010 winter Olympic games, and I saw no evidence of plans to make renovations before then. Chances are that they are already fully booked and don't see the need to spend any money, not even for a facelift.

  • Liked — The location.
  • Disliked — Poor value.
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank yipikya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Whistler hotels
2.6 mi away
Nita Lake Lodge
Nita Lake Lodge
#1 of 49 in Whistler
1,836 reviews
0.5 mi away
Crystal Lodge Hotel
Crystal Lodge Hotel
#8 of 49 in Whistler
2,564 reviews
0.5 mi away
Summit Lodge Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hilton Whistler Resort & Spa
0.6 mi away
Aava Whistler Hotel
Aava Whistler Hotel
#13 of 49 in Whistler
1,688 reviews
0.2 mi away
Four Seasons Resort and Residences Whistler
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort

Property: Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort
Address: 4599 Chateau Boulevard, Whistler, British Columbia V0N 1B4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Whistler
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Whistler
#2 Business Hotel in Whistler
#3 Family Hotel in Whistler
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Whistler
#4 Luxury Hotel in Whistler
#4 Spa Hotel in Whistler
#8 Romantic Hotel in Whistler
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 539
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the base of Blackcomb Mountain, Whistler's landmark ski-in ski-out hotel, Fairmont Chateau Whistler resort hotel defines mountain luxury. A classic 12-story Chateau-style resort hotel with Health Club, Spa and the largest pool deck in Whistler - offering indoor and outdoor swimming pools, four whirlpools and breathtaking views of Blackcomb mountain. Situated a five minute walk from village center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Agoda, Fairmont Hotels, Hotwire, TravelUp, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Chateau Whistler Hotel Whistler
Fairmont Whistler
Whistler Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing