We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort
Ranked #6 of 49 Hotels in Whistler
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Lincoln, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Brilliant stay”
Reviewed February 27, 2014

Perfect location for the slopes. Excellent service from all the staff particularly in the gold service. Always willing to help and so friendly. Hot tubs were really hot and a pina colada on the side was a perfect way to relax the legs after skiing. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Go for gold,
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janette S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChateauWhistler, Front Office Manager at Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort, responded to this review, March 1, 2014
Dear Janette,

We are happy you had the chance to enjoy a Pina Colada poolside with us! It's great to hear you enjoyed your ski holiday and our Gold Floor service at The Fairmont Chateau Whistler.

We also like to suggest a session in the eucalyptus steam room at our health club to really ease those tired muscles after a day on the mountain.

Hope to see you again soon!

Warmest Regards,
Christopher Smart
Director of Front Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,316 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,220
    705
    251
    88
    52
See reviews for
1,006
1,154
82
482
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (659)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed February 26, 2014

I stay at many hotels as a part of my job (on average about 3-4 different hotels a week) and I just returned from an amazing stay at the Fairmont Chateau Whistler! I stayed in the Gold Room on the 8th floor and walked into the room to find chocolate treats waiting for me along with soft music playing by the fireplace. The king size bed was very comfortable and I had a great sleep. The bathroom was well equipped with luxurious bathroom amenities and had a jetted bathtub! It was a great way to unwind after my long flight and drive up to Whistler!
The room itself is equipped with anything that you can think of: Keurig coffee maker, six varieties of teas, a mini fridge, fresh creamers and milk in the fridge, water bottles, umbrellas, slippers, a scale, bathrobes and just about anything else that you would need during a stay.

In the morning, the Gold Lounge offers a complimentary breakfast with a variety of pastries, juices, teas and coffee. Refreshments are also offered throughout the day. This was perhaps one of my favourite features of the Gold Lounge as I was exhausted after my day of skiing and just wanted to bring some snacks and hot tea back to my room to eat in bed while unwinding instead of eating at a restaurant.

If you opt to dine at one of their restaurants, the Wildflower Restaurant offers a breakfast buffet with the biggest selection of food that you will ever come across or you can order a la carte. I ordered the eggs benedict piled on top of two crab cakes and it was fabulous!

Be sure to check out the pools — they have an outdoor heated lap swim pool along with heated whirlpools. The steam rooms are Eucalyptus scented and there are complimentary lockers in the change room.

The location of the hotel is unbeatable — it takes about 30 seconds to walk from the hotel to the base of Blackcomb ski resort where the lifts and rental shop are located. You don't have to pack your equipment in your car to drive to the resort or worry about having to hike anywhere with your heavy skis or snowboard because the hotel is literally right there.

I read reviews of others that were upset about the steep prices of the wifi and I would suggest for you to sign up for the Fairmont President's Club card: the complimentary membership offers free wifi at all Fairmont hotels.

I would definitely stay at Fairmont Whistler again, the amenities such as the fitness centre, spa and activities that the hotel offers can actually provide enough entertainment for the day if you chose to stay at the hotel instead of hitting the slopes.

Room Tip: I would choose the Gold Room with the convenience of being able to quickly grab breakfast or refresh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TigerLilz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChateauWhistler, Front Office Manager at Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort, responded to this review, March 1, 2014
Dear Guest,

We are thrilled you had such a lovely stay at The Fairmont Chateau Whistler!d

We pride ourselves in having all the comforts you need to have a fabulous ski holiday! Please note that not only can you receive free wifi with your President's Club membership, but you can also take advantage of Fairmont Fit Gear (workout clothes and shoes) delivered directly to your room on every stay. As you are an avid traveler this may save you some valuable real estate in your luggage!

We hope to see you again soon!

Warmest Regards,
Christopher Smart
Director of Front Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2014 via mobile

This was our second visit to Chateau Whistler and the service and friendliness of the staff was just as good as the first.
It's best features are its location on the slope which is perfect for access to the slopes. And the free frequent Fairmont bus into town is great for getting into town for evening meals. Coming back we would usually get the bus at stop number 1 where we would ask the reception staff if we could shelter in the foyer of Sundial Hotel to keep warm.
The bedrooms at Fairmont are starting to look a bit tired and there was wallpaper peeling away in places.
It is also disappointing that there are few facilities for children either in the hotel or the resort. Apart from the
small indoor pool at the hotel and a small playground in the centre, there was little for those too young for skiing. We looked at lessons for our three year old but the choice was either a full or a half day's tuition combined with lunch and activity. But we only wanted an hour or two at the most, as you would find in other Canadian resorts. We were also not very impressed with the hiring and fitting of the child's helmet. We were told that it was the smallest they had, but when we went back it turned out it was in fact too small. We
bought one from a shop instead.
We booked the hotel independently and arranged our own flights. It was much better and cheaper than the package option we did last year. The booking was done
by e-mail with the hotel who also arranged transport from Vancouver Airport. Brilliant.
I must also mention the concierge desk and in particular Joanne. We wanted to do a sleigh ride but lack of snow meant only two rides available. Joanne checked availability for us and suggested it might be too cold for us and the child, out on the lake. We took her advice and it was just as well, for we found out later that the rides had been cancelled because of the cold.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank JandP_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChateauWhistler, Front Office Manager at Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort, responded to this review, March 1, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to submit a review. We are happy to hear you enjoyed our shuttle and concierge services.

It's unfortunate that you didn't find the family activities you were hoping for. There are quite a few activities that cater to children year round. Should you choose to come to Whistler in the future for a holiday, please contact us in advance and we would be delighted to help you plan a family-friendly itinerary.

Warmest Regards,
Christopher Smart
Director of Front Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver
Level 6 Contributor
88 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2014

We stayed here during the summer and it is the perfect location. It feels extremely impressive when you pull up to the front of this hotel as well as the lobby being very grand. However the rooms are in need of some serious updates it feels like you are staying in a hotel from the 80's. We were however pleasantly surprised with the service from the hotel as we received a beautiful welcome plate of deserts. We also were impressed with the spa services and pool area.

Room Tip: Try to get a room looking at the mountain
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank munecap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChateauWhistler, Front Office Manager at Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback. We are glad you enjoyed the service during your stay. We pride ourselves in providing warm, professional and engaging service to our guests.

As a landmark property within the resort, we strive to preserve the classic alpine setting of the hotel along with continuous upgrades and enhancements. Since 2010 we have renovated our guestroom corridors and Health Club as well as 100 guestrooms - including significant upgrades to the Mountain and Penthouse suites. We are aware that certain room categories require renovations and are thus targeting a selection of rooms and suites each year.

Warmest Regards,
Christopher Smart
Director of Front Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2014

This is the easiest ski experience you could ever want as far as access to the lift at Blackcomb. The hotel is great with all types of amenities. It is very family friendly and, yet, upscale.

The service was impeccable particularly Ian and Damien at the concierge desk who were fabulous.

My only complaint is that there are two hot tubs which were PACKED with parents and their toddlers and kids. How I looked forward to a hot tub after skiing that was not inhabited by literally 20 - 25 human bodies. They should make one of them adults-only for the money that we pay to stay there, AY??

Other than that we will definitely go back as this place is really awesome.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NYSojourner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChateauWhistler, Front Office Manager at Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort, responded to this review, March 1, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for takiing the time to share your experience at the hotel. We are happy to hear you enjoyed the ski in/ski out access as well as the service of our concierge team.

We are sorry to hear you found the post ski experience in the hot tub to be less than satisfactory. We appreciate your feedback and will take into consideration your comments regarding an adult hot tub.

Many thanks,
Christopher Smart
Director of Front Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
77 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2014

I have stayed at this resort on many occasions, not on one of these were I disapointed. The resort is Ideally located on the bottom of Blackomb mountain. Lifts are just on your doorstep. A small ski buttler service operates in high season, making your return to the resort extremely easy and pleasant.

Rooms are large, and offer planty of space to move around. The recent renovation of the entire resort, makes the place very unique, as most fairmont resorts offer.

Regardless where you are in the resort you will have a formidable stay.

Room Tip: Never book a fairmont moderate room. These are small it is quite difficult to move around. Book a f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WTC2092
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChateauWhistler, Front Office Manager at Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your great feedback. We're glad you enjoyed the ski in/ski out facilities and had the opportunity to take in some of the great runs Whistler Blackcomb is known for.

We hope to see you again soon.

Warmest Regards,
Christopher Smart
Director of Front Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potomac, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2014

We have spent many Christmas or New Year holidays at the Fairmont Chateau Whistler, and every time we go is as magical as the last. First, the ski-in/ski-out location at the foot of Blackcomb Mountain can't be beat -- especially if you plan on arranging ski lessons for children: The ski school is right there and private instructors can meet you literally right out the door of the property. As for the hotel itself, the lobby (at least during the holidays) is a scene out of a Dickens novel -- filled with carolers and complimentary hot apple cider and treats like cheese fondue and maple-sugar-snow lollipops, and the apre-ski scene is so much fun it's hard to leave it to dress for dinner. Plus, the staff work hard to accommodate any request, even during the busiest times. A few years ago, we'd have complained (only a bit) that the rooms needed updating, but last time we were there, even that had been taken care of. Everything in our suite was brand new. Our only criticism now is that it's about a 10 minute walk into town, where many of the best restaurants are, and though the Fairmont runs a pretty convenient shuttle every 15 minutes, it stops running at 10 pm. We wish it ran later.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChateauWhistler, Front Office Manager at Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Dear Amy,

Thank you so very much for your nice words. We are thrilled you enjoyed your holiday at The Fairmont Chateau Whistler. We take great pride in making the holidays a magical experience for our guests.

We also appreciate your feedback on our shuttle and will discuss with our team.

Warmest Regards,
Christopher Smart
Director of Front Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Whistler hotels
2.6 mi away
Nita Lake Lodge
Nita Lake Lodge
#1 of 49 in Whistler
1,866 reviews
0.5 mi away
Crystal Lodge Hotel
Crystal Lodge Hotel
#8 of 49 in Whistler
2,610 reviews
0.5 mi away
Summit Lodge Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hilton Whistler Resort & Spa
0.6 mi away
Aava Whistler Hotel
Aava Whistler Hotel
#14 of 49 in Whistler
1,712 reviews
0.2 mi away
Four Seasons Resort and Residences Whistler
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort

Property: Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort
Address: 4599 Chateau Boulevard, Whistler, British Columbia V0N 1B4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Whistler
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Whistler
#2 Business Hotel in Whistler
#3 Family Hotel in Whistler
#4 Spa Hotel in Whistler
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Whistler
#5 Luxury Hotel in Whistler
#8 Romantic Hotel in Whistler
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 539
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the base of Blackcomb Mountain, Whistler's landmark ski-in ski-out hotel, Fairmont Chateau Whistler resort hotel defines mountain luxury. A classic 12-story Chateau-style resort hotel with Health Club, Spa and the largest pool deck in Whistler - offering indoor and outdoor swimming pools, four whirlpools and breathtaking views of Blackcomb mountain. Situated a five minute walk from village center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Fairmont Hotels, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Ctrip TA, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Chateau Whistler Hotel Whistler
Fairmont Whistler
Whistler Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing