We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Close but not quite there” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort
Ranked #6 of 49 Hotels in Whistler
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
70 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Close but not quite there”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2013

If you request a view of the mountain room, take the time to see the view before you move in.
Take advantage of the indoor/outdoor pool and spa and understand that it is a 20 minute walk to the main village.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zmaison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChateauWhistler, Front Office Manager at Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

It is great that you had a chance to experience our newly renovation health club facilities, a serene place to relax the in the sun in this spectacular Whistler mountain resort setting.

We hope to welcome you back in the future.

Sincerely,

Chris Smart
Director of Front Office Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,101
    667
    243
    87
    50
See reviews for
949
1,091
78
462
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (628)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Raipur, Chhattisgarh, India
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2013

I stayed in this Hotel with my colleague officers for 2 days . Reaching a 5Star property, you obviously expect the Customer Care Team to be highly professional in not only welcoming the Guests but also gets us a smooth check in. But we were really disappointed when we got to know that Rooms for 30% of Officers were not ready wherein Our Canadian Coordinator had booked our stay months ago. That was indeed very surprising n even our coordinator too felt embarrassed .It took around 2hrs before everyone got room keys.
Located at the base of the Black comb mountain, the location is excellent since its only 10min walk into the town or village to access all that it has to offer.The Hotel is quite away from the night noise of the town.The room was pretty ok but I was expecting Luxury!!! The room Balcony gave a lovely view of the Black Mountain n adjacent well maintained gardens.
Since we had 2 Official Buffets, I would say that the spread wasn't satisfactory . The common areas of the hotel are beautiful n comfortable but that everyone expects from a 5-Star property.

Room Tip: On 3rd to 5th floor facing the mountain
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tiger567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChateauWhistler, Front Office Manager at Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your feedback and we are very sorry to hear that your expectations were not met during your stay. I was concered to hear that your rooms were not ready upon your arrival at the hotel. We continually seek to improve our service and facilities, and your feedback will assist us in these efforts.

As a landmark property within the resort, we strive to preserve the classic alpine setting of the hotel along with continuous upgrades and enhancements. Since 2010 we have renovated our guestroom corridors and Health Club as well as 100 guestrooms. We are aware that certain room categories require renovations and are thus targeting a selection of rooms and suites each year.

Chris Smart
Director of Front Office Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, USA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2013 via mobile

Always loved this place. Rooms are nice not fancy. Pool is perfect with several choices with relaxing views of the mountains. Quick walk to lifts and village. Quieter than village locations while still close to the action.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank John I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChateauWhistler, Front Office Manager at Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Hi John,
It is an absolute pleasure to hear your visit was a great one. Thank you for taking the time to share you review. We hope to welcome you back to the hotel for many more years to come.

Christopher Smart
Director of Front Office Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2013

I could not be more positive about my experience at this hotel. I stayed here for skiing and it was truly a great place to stay. Obviously, WB is a fun mountain to ski.

The hotel is in Blackcombe. Our check-in was great and we got upgraded to a mountain view. Our rate included our lift ticket. There was a ski rental shop right in the hotel so we could take care of that. Both the dining room and the bar had great food. The morning breakfast, while expensive, was quite good and I think worth it compared to having to wait in line somewhere else. The pool and hot tub area were just awesome. The hotel itself is old-school but refined and updated appropriately.

I have not stayed at the Four Seasons (which is slightly farther from the lift) or Pan Pacific (in Whistler itself rather than Blackcombe, but I have stayed at similar such properties at other ski resorts, and I see no reason to waiver from the Fairmont in Whistler if it's price is lower than the others. Nothing but good things to say about the place.

Room Tip: Mountain view overlooking the pool and ski lift
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank avidgolfer2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver BC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for an end of season golf trip, as per many of the other reviews the staff and service is enthusiastic, the common areas of this hotel are beautiful and comfortable to lounge in, the location is close enough to the village with the benefit of being quieter than staying in the village. Beautiful mountain views from our rooms.
Not cheap but well worth the price.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Arseniclad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChateauWhistler, Front Office Manager at Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your Whistler experience. I am very pleased to hear you and your family enjoyed your stay with us. You visited the resort at the perfect time; Whistler's record breaking October was full of sun.Our course hasn't looked better either, what a beautiful time to tee off at our course. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed the beauty of the area as well as our staff’s warm, engaging service. We pride ourselves on sharing our passion for the hotel and area with our guests. We hope to welcome you back to The Fairmont Chateau Whistler soon.

Sincerely,

Chris Smart

Director of Front Office Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
178 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013

Almost any Fairmont hotel is fabulous for all-inclusive meetings, as well as regular hotel stays. The rooms, amenities and top-notch friendly service are second to none. And the catering is terrific!

The Chateau Whistler is located on the Blackcomb side of the resort area, so it's a bit of a hike to the main village, but that also means it's a lot quieter. The walk is to the village is just what one needs after any superbly prepared buffet meal.

Our room had a king-size bed, bar fridge, and coffee maker (with lots of supplies). The room had night lights and tables on BOTH sides of the bed!!! Bathroom had separate bath AND shower!!! Nightly turn-down service included sweet treats and two bottles of water. Rooms was kept very clean and tidy.

Great place for all our delegates to meet.

Room Tip: Rooms with even numbers look out upon a cliff, odd numbers over valley.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OneWayVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutton Coldfield, UK
Level Contributor
107 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2013

This hotel is perfect for when you are skiing in Canada, it doesn't get much better than this!
Great bedrooms, perfect location.
Ski right from the slope into the hotel, where your skis are taken from you and stored safely away. Easily walk to all local shops and restaurants, of which there are plenty, or stay and enjoy a meal in and drinks in the lounge area with the great log fires...

Hot tubs out in the fresh air are lovely,,, would love to return one day..

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank UK007agent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChateauWhistler, Front Office Manager at Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your great review. The Fairmont Chateau Whistler is the perfect ski-in ski-out hotel defining mountain luxury. Naturally spectacular, The Fairmont Chateau Whistler resort hotel strives to deliver an ideal setting for ‘skiing in Canada’. You are right The Fairmont Chateau Whistler ski resort is located at the doorstep of some of the finest skiing in North America. Thank you for taking the time to share you review. We hope to welcome you and your family back to the hotel for many more years to come.

Sincerely,

Chris Smart

Director of Front Office Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Whistler hotels
2.6 mi away
Nita Lake Lodge
Nita Lake Lodge
#1 of 49 in Whistler
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,745 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hilton Whistler Resort & Spa
0.6 mi away
Aava Whistler Hotel
Aava Whistler Hotel
#14 of 49 in Whistler
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Summit Lodge Boutique Hotel
0.4 mi away
Sundial Boutique Hotel
Sundial Boutique Hotel
#7 of 49 in Whistler
4.5 of 5 bubbles 779 reviews
0.2 mi away
Four Seasons Resort and Residences Whistler
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort

Property: Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort
Address: 4599 Chateau Boulevard, Whistler, British Columbia V0N 1B4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Whistler
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Whistler
#2 Business Hotel in Whistler
#3 Family Hotel in Whistler
#4 Spa Hotel in Whistler
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Whistler
#5 Luxury Hotel in Whistler
#8 Romantic Hotel in Whistler
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 539
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the base of Blackcomb Mountain, Whistler's landmark ski-in ski-out hotel, Fairmont Chateau Whistler resort hotel defines mountain luxury. A classic 12-story Chateau-style resort hotel with Health Club, Spa and the largest pool deck in Whistler - offering indoor and outdoor swimming pools, four whirlpools and breathtaking views of Blackcomb mountain. Situated a five minute walk from village center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Fairmont Hotels, Agoda, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone and Jetsetter so you can book your Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Chateau Whistler Hotel Whistler
Fairmont Whistler
Whistler Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing