We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dated and dirty.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort
Ranked #6 of 49 Hotels in Whistler
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed October 7, 2013 via mobile

We had great expectations for the Fairmont but we're sadly disappointed. The 'upgraded' room was small, dated, and in need of repair. Upon arrival, we found someone's sock in the closet, a cigarette in the bathroom, and empty packaging in the drawer. The parking charge is outrageous at $35 for self-parking and so is the wi-fi charge. Dear Fairmont, skip the daily newspaper and throw in the wi-fi.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank soupergirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChateauWhistler, Front Office Manager at Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your experience here. Please accept my sincere apologies and regret in failing to meet your expectations regarding your visit. We were concerned to learn that you found a sock in your closet, and garbage in the bathroom. We continually seek to improve our service and facilities, and your feedback will assist us in these efforts.

As a hotel with 550 rooms we have continuous plans in place for ongoing renovations and updates. This past year we invested 2.5 million dollars in renovating our corridors and 1.7 million in updating our health club including four whirlpools, indoor and outdoor swimming pools and guest change rooms.

Also, please know that our loyalty program, the Fairmont President's Club is a great opportunity for our staff to get to know you. This program has benefits such as complimentary high-speed internet service, priority check in/out, upgraded amenities.

Your feedback is appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Sincerely,

Chris Smart
Director of Front Office Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,448)
There are newer reviews for Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,243 - 2,249 of 3,451 reviews

Reviewed October 7, 2013

The staff definitely carries this property. Anyone who I came in contact with (front desk, housekeeping, servers, bellboys) were all friendly and accommodating.

Common areas are nice, and have definitely been renovated .

The rooms, at least the ones we've been in, most definitely, have not been. That said, cleanliness is not an issue.
The bathroom, which one would hope would be the most paid attention to, was on the level of a motel. The bathtub was the shallowest one I've ever seen (maybe held 6 inches of water?). Grouting was old and stained. Shower fixtures antiquated and need replacing.
Vanity was nicer than above, but still not what I would consider high-end.

The bed was sagging and squeaked badly enough that whenever I moved that it woke me up.

Key card entry was awful. As in, it took us at least 10 tries every single time we arrived at the suite.

There are plenty of other places in the village that one could stay at for half the price, that still have better rooms than the Fairmont.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank truenic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

We started our stay at Glaciers Reach Unit 100. It was so bad that we left after 1 day although my husband had paid for 3. We were able to get in at the Fairmont Chateau Whistler with the 3rd day free, We were celebrating both our 25th wedding anniversary and my birthday. Internet was free for Fairmont Presidents Club members which we are (free to join). The pool, spa, gym area is excellent and has recently been redone. The turn-down service adds a lovely touch. This is a lovely romantic haven - even has Juliette balconies. There is a lovely Market on the stroll into the Village on Sundays.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DrPooh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChateauWhistler, Front Office Manager at Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2013

Thank you for choosing The Fairmont Chateau Whistler as your destination to celebrate such a lovely and personal day. Fairmont staff strives to turn moments into memories for our guests and hearing you have fond memories of our resort is rewarding and appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Sincerely,

Chris Smart
Director of Front Office Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

The internet charge is absurd given widow is free most everywhere. Parking is $35. A day. Lovely employees but the upgraded Fairnont room felt old ( cracked shower floor, strange lights that come on in groups), no micro wave etc al. Otherwise OK. But the location is poor in the upper village, with no shuttle to Whistler. Village with lively restaurants and nightlife. It is a cold 1 plus km. Walk. Good bar, awkward pool access from 3 rd floor down ugly stairways. Lovely lobby. But the hotel needs some Orientation to travellers needs.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 19Mel50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChateauWhistler, Front Office Manager at Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for your comments. We are continually upgrading our guest rooms and renovations of our remaining guest rooms and corridors are part of our long term plan. We appreciate your observations and are grateful for your willingness to share your thoughts with us.

Please know that our loyalty program, the Fairmont President's Club is a great opportunity for our staff to get to know you. This program has benefits such as complimentary highspeed internet service, priority check in/out, upgraded amenities

Your feedback is appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Sincerely,

Chris Smart
Director of Front Office Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2013

After a fantastic stay at the Fairmont Vancouver we decided to stay at the Fairmont Whistler in February 2013 and set up as a base for our white wedding! We booked the Penthouse for two nights before moving to one of the Gold Rooms. The hotel is in a fantastic location, and to be able to use the ski concierge in the hotel was just great. The Staff, as with Vancouver could not do enough to make us feel welcome, and the Gold Lounge had fantastic breakfast and munchies day in /day out. The Penthouse is huge with awesome views, although we preferred the normal room as it was a little cosier for us. The Fairmont Hotel chain should be proud of this , and their sister hotel in Vancouver. We have been back once again in May for some spring skiing at great rates. I thoroughly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: The normal rooms are cosier and a little more romantic for couples. Stay in the Gold rooms, worth th...
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank richbassett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChateauWhistler, Front Office Manager at Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review of our property. I am very pleased to hear you and enjoyed their visit to The Fairmont Chateau Whistler and had the opportunity to experience our Fairmont Gold product during your stay. The Fairmont Gold floor at our hotel is ranked in the top 5 of the company and our gold floor staff strives to make every guest’s stay personalized and memorable. Thank you for choosing The Fairmont Chateau Whistler and we look forward to welcoming you back to the resort.

Sincerely,

Chris Smart
Director of Front Office Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013

The best thing about this hotel are the beds, which are extremely wonderful. The sheets are crisp and cool. They look very white too but as the lighting is a bit dim it's hard to tell for sure. My main objection is partly the cost of parking ($35 per day) but mainly the cost of the wifi - $14 per day. Charging for wifi in 2013 is like charging $14 per day to use the telephone. It's just wrong!

Room Tip: The 4th floor is actually the first residential floor. Rooms on the 4th floor, depending where they...
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kate181793
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

We had a phenomenal time at this hotel during our stay this summer. They put us on the Gold level which offered a nice breakfast as well as evening snacks and an honor bar, nice touch.

The room was comfortable but not huge by any means.The staff we encountered was great and we tried a couple of the outlets which we found fine but not amazing and a bit on the expensive side.

The pool area could definitely use some work. It is large and at the base of the mountain but had nothing special about it and felt like a large public pool rather than a mountainside resort experience.

The location and views from the hotel are top notch, probably the hotel's greatest asset.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bmordski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChateauWhistler, Front Office Manager at Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback. We are glad you enjoyed the service during your stay. We pride ourselves in providing warm, professional and engaging service to all our guests!

As a hotel with 550 rooms we have continuous plans in place for ongoing renovations and updates. This past year we invested 2.5 million dollars in renovating our corridors and 1.7 million in updating our health club including four whirlpools, indoor and outdoor swimming pools and guest change rooms.

In regards to dining on property, we would like to recommend you take the time to enjoy our Portobello Bakery and Fresh Deli on your next visit. It is a great alternative to our fine dining restaurants and offers a hip, casual setting serves up a fresh & fabulous menu selection - Deli-style.

Chris Smart
Director of Front Office Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Whistler hotels
0.5 mi away
Crystal Lodge Hotel
Crystal Lodge Hotel
#8 of 49 in Whistler
2,701 reviews
2.6 mi away
Nita Lake Lodge
Nita Lake Lodge
#1 of 49 in Whistler
1,924 reviews
0.5 mi away
Summit Lodge Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hilton Whistler Resort & Spa
0.4 mi away
Sundial Boutique Hotel
Sundial Boutique Hotel
#7 of 49 in Whistler
863 reviews
0.2 mi away
Four Seasons Resort and Residences Whistler
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort

Address: 4599 Chateau Boulevard, Whistler, British Columbia V0N 1B4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Whistler
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Whistler
#2 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Whistler
#3 Family Hotel in Whistler
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Whistler
#4 Spa Hotel in Whistler
#5 Luxury Hotel in Whistler
#8 Romantic Hotel in Whistler
Price Range: $207 - $900 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 539
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the base of Blackcomb Mountain, Whistler's landmark ski-in ski-out hotel, Fairmont Chateau Whistler resort hotel defines mountain luxury. A classic 12-story Chateau-style resort hotel with Health Club, Spa and the largest pool deck in Whistler - offering indoor and outdoor swimming pools, four whirlpools and breathtaking views of Blackcomb mountain. Situated a five minute walk from village center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Fairmont Hotels, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TravelUp, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Agoda, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Chateau Whistler Hotel Whistler
Fairmont Whistler
Whistler Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing