We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location Summer or Winter” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort
Ranked #6 of 49 Hotels in Whistler
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Aspen, Colorado
Level Contributor
131 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Great Location Summer or Winter”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

We had a phenomenal time at this hotel during our stay this summer. They put us on the Gold level which offered a nice breakfast as well as evening snacks and an honor bar, nice touch.

The room was comfortable but not huge by any means.The staff we encountered was great and we tried a couple of the outlets which we found fine but not amazing and a bit on the expensive side.

The pool area could definitely use some work. It is large and at the base of the mountain but had nothing special about it and felt like a large public pool rather than a mountainside resort experience.

The location and views from the hotel are top notch, probably the hotel's greatest asset.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bmordski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChateauWhistler, Front Office Manager at Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback. We are glad you enjoyed the service during your stay. We pride ourselves in providing warm, professional and engaging service to all our guests!

As a hotel with 550 rooms we have continuous plans in place for ongoing renovations and updates. This past year we invested 2.5 million dollars in renovating our corridors and 1.7 million in updating our health club including four whirlpools, indoor and outdoor swimming pools and guest change rooms.

In regards to dining on property, we would like to recommend you take the time to enjoy our Portobello Bakery and Fresh Deli on your next visit. It is a great alternative to our fine dining restaurants and offers a hip, casual setting serves up a fresh & fabulous menu selection - Deli-style.

Chris Smart
Director of Front Office Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,100
    667
    243
    87
    49
See reviews for
948
1,090
78
462
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (627)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Barrie, Canada
Level Contributor
55 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013 via mobile

Staff were nice.

Location was decent for ski/bike.

I find some fairmont's need a refresh. Bathroom and furniture could be updated.

Beds are comfortable.

A bit of a walk to the main village.

I like contemporary and modern design.

This place needs a makeover.





  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Garbagefud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChateauWhistler, Front Office Manager at Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your experience here. We continually seek to improve our service and facilities, and your feedback will assist us in these efforts

As a hotel with 550 rooms we have continuous plans in place for ongoing renovations and updates. This past year we invested 2.5 million dollars in renovating our corridors and 1.7 million in updating our health club including four whirlpools, indoor and outdoor swimming pools and guest change rooms.

Chris Smart
Director of Front Office Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aston UK
Level Contributor
148 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

This was the 3rd out of 6 Fairmonts we stayed in whislt travelling around Canada in Aug/ Sep this year and it nearly put me off Fairmonts for life! It was all smiles at check -in and for the only time during our Fairmont experiences we were rapidly offered the chance to upgrade to the Gold floor at quite a cost. From the moment we declined this offer the male receptionist (didn't get his name) rapidly lost his smile and helpfulness and whisked through check in and disappeared out the back door. We were left standing there thinking OK what did we do? He didn't tell us how to get to our room hence we headed off in the wrong direction! We had to track someone down just to ask how to find the elevators to our room. Unfortunately welcomes like this leave a grand (bad) impression on the hotel and we avoided everything to do with paying any extra expense at the hotel just on principle! We avoided the high car park costs too by parking in lot 5. Wouldn't go back!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CarolAstonUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChateauWhistler, Front Office Manager at Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear Guest,
We are very sorry to hear you had a less than satisfactory visit.

We were concerned to learn about the service that you received upon check-in. It is certainly not up to our standards. We continually seek to improve our service and facilities, and your feedback will assist us in these efforts.

It is a shame you did not experience our hotel to its full potential. We do hope that if you do return to the hotel, we can restore your faith in our brand and have the opportunity to demonstrate the true, high level of service we are known for.
Sincerely,
Chris Smart
Director of Front Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Powell River, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

Went to a conference here recently, stayed 4 nights in a room with two queen beds. It was nice. Conference facilities were nice. Restaurant was good food with good service. Skipped the exorbitant parking by using the free lot just down the road (lot 5).

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kyla B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChateauWhistler, Front Office Manager at Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your Whistler experience. I am very pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Fairmont staff strives to turn moments into memories for our guests and I will be sure to pass on your fond words to our staff. The Fairmont Chateau Whistler resort unites business and pleasure and is committed to exceeding your expectations and making your Whistler conference a memorable expierence. It is great that you had a chance to enjoy the warm, inviting ambiance of the The Fairmont Chateau Whistler; we look forward to welcoming you and your family back to the hotel soon.

Sincerely,

Chris Smart

Director of Front Office Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lublin, Poland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

Although the price is like almost 500 dollars a night, but definately live up the price,
the lifts are right next to the hotel

AND the outdoor hot sauna and warm pool is great enjoyment during winter time,

I even ordered a milk shake while in it, great times

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank friesdavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChateauWhistler, Front Office Manager at Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

I am happy to hear you enjoyed your recent stay at The Fairmont Chateau Whistler. It is great that you had a chance to experience our newly renovation health club facilities, a serene place to relax at the end of a day. You are right the hotel’s location in the upper village makes our resort the perfect location for a mountainous retreat. Thank you for choosing The Fairmont Chateau Whistler; we look forward to welcoming you and your family back to the hotel soon.

Sincerely,

Chris Smart

Director of Front Office Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013

I was fortunate enough to stay in the Fairmont Chateau Whistler Penthouse Suite two weeks back (Whistler Room) and it was everything I could have wanted and more. We were greeted by two Fairmont employees upon arrival in Madison Shenker and Nikki Stewart and they were incredibly professional in welcoming us with warm open arms while having our details prepared and seamless. I essentially did nothing at check in, Madison and Nikki were like my own personal concierge (great feeling). The room was breathtaking as were its views. Every small detail wasn't overlooked when it came to Fairmont luxury. I especially enjoyed the late night towel and linen service that made everything fresh when I returned from a night in Whistler village. I would recommend the Fairmont Chateau Whistler to anyone who is in the area as it will surpass your expectations and leave you with a great memory of a spectacular destination town. Try the golf course as well, great layout (coming from a golf enthusiast).

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChristopherMcGrath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChateauWhistler, Front Office Manager at Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Dear Mr. McGrath,

Thank you for sharing feedback on your recent stay here at The Fairmont Chateau Whistler. It is an absolute pleasure to hear your recent visit to The Fairmont Chateau Whistler was a great one. I will be sure to pass along your compliments to our team, including Nikki & Madison. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Sincerely,

Chris Smart
Director of Front Office Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
85 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

We want to congratulate the mgmt & staff of Fairmont Chateau Whistler foir our tremendous experience during our stay in their property. We were attendong our industry assoc conference in Sept, 2013 and were consistently struck by the attn to detail, the courtesy and enthusiasm of the staff and the quality of food and hotel amenities. Quality comes with price tag, but the Fairmont team delivers value for your hospitality dollar. Our conference ran for 4 days so had a chance to explore the hotel and the nearby Whistler Village. Blessed with sunny weather throughout our stay, we found the Whistler property to be an excellent base from which to explore Whistler. The addition of a top drawer golf course was icing on the cake. A short walk and even shorter shuttle ride, the Fairmont Whister course winds it's way up the mountain providing superb views and excellent golfing challenges along the way. We are leaving relaxed and soothed by our experence with at the Fairmont Chateau Whistler. This level of service comes from excellent leadership and good recruitment. A great hotel in a beautiful setting is just a frustrating shell without exceptional staff to deliver the experience. Well done.

Room Tip: for the best view, ask for a room facing norht, overlooking the ski resort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank neilcha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChateauWhistler, Front Office Manager at Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing feedback on your recent stay here at The Fairmont Chateau Whistler. Fairmont staff strives to turn moments into memories for our guests and hearing you have fond memories of our resort is rewarding and appreciated. I will be sure to pass along your compliments to our team. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Sincerely,

Chris Smart
Director of Front Office Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Whistler hotels
2.6 mi away
Nita Lake Lodge
Nita Lake Lodge
#1 of 49 in Whistler
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,744 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hilton Whistler Resort & Spa
0.6 mi away
Aava Whistler Hotel
Aava Whistler Hotel
#14 of 49 in Whistler
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Summit Lodge Boutique Hotel
0.4 mi away
Sundial Boutique Hotel
Sundial Boutique Hotel
#7 of 49 in Whistler
4.5 of 5 bubbles 779 reviews
0.2 mi away
Four Seasons Resort and Residences Whistler
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort

Property: Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort
Address: 4599 Chateau Boulevard, Whistler, British Columbia V0N 1B4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Whistler
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Whistler
#2 Business Hotel in Whistler
#3 Family Hotel in Whistler
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Whistler
#4 Spa Hotel in Whistler
#5 Luxury Hotel in Whistler
#8 Romantic Hotel in Whistler
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 539
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the base of Blackcomb Mountain, Whistler's landmark ski-in ski-out hotel, Fairmont Chateau Whistler resort hotel defines mountain luxury. A classic 12-story Chateau-style resort hotel with Health Club, Spa and the largest pool deck in Whistler - offering indoor and outdoor swimming pools, four whirlpools and breathtaking views of Blackcomb mountain. Situated a five minute walk from village center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelsforEveryone, Priceline, Fairmont Hotels, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Chateau Whistler Hotel Whistler
Fairmont Whistler
Whistler Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing