We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staff are as good as it gets”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort
Ranked #4 of 49 Hotels in Whistler
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed September 5, 2013

We booked the gold floor, it was worth the price difference especially the use of the lounge for breakfast and afternoon drinks. Well furnished 8th floor room and a great view of the valley and surrounding mountains which I think is better than the slope view. The key is the excellent staff in all aspects...bellhops, check-in, room staff and especially the staff in the very busy gold floor lounge, and a friendly smile and hello from all staff on the property. Although very busy for breakfast,(labour day weekend with lots of kids) the staff do a great job of keeping the food and people moving, with a smile...first rate. Expensive parking but not many other options but the property is a nice walk to Whistler Village for shops and restaurants. Will return.

Room Tip: Valley side, nicer views than the ski slope side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 1943Canuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChateauWhistler, Front Office Manager at Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

Thank you for sharing your Whistler experience. I am very pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. You visited the resort at the perfect time; Labour Day weekend was gorgeous after the previous week's rain.
Thank you for choosing The Fairmont Chateau Whistler; we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon.

Sincerely,

Chris Smart
Director of Front Office Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,661)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,468 - 2,474 of 3,661 reviews

Reviewed September 5, 2013

Stayed here one night on a Canadian train ride. Beautiful place and reasonably priced for lodging and food. Bar is extra nice and many beers available. Walk the village and see the beauty of the ski range.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ron_TX_Ft_Worth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChateauWhistler, Front Office Manager at Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share you review. It is an absolute pleasure to hear your recent visit to The Fairmont Chateau Whistler was a great one.
We hope to welcome you back to the hotel soon.

Sincerely,

Chris Smart
Director of Front Office Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

My wife and I were up in Whistler for a 2 day golf getaway. The Fairmont met our every need as we golfed at the Chateau Whistler golf course (well maintained and challenging) ate at the Grill Room (great meal & wonderful service) and of course stayed in this wonderful Grand Hotel. We met some friends at the outdoor pool / spa complex which gave us a chance to reminisce with old friends while their children entertained themselves in the pool and Jacuzzi. We will definitely spoil ourselves here again in the future

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bruce J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChateauWhistler, Front Office Manager at Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2013

Dear Bruce,

Thank you for sharing your Whistler experience. I am very pleased to hear you and your family enjoyed your stay with us. You visited the resort at the perfect time; Whistler's August was full of sun. This surely helped our newly renovated health club facilities in becoming a hot spot for families in Whistler. Our course hasn't looked better either, what a beautiful time to tee off at our course. Thank you for choosing The Fairmont Chateau Whistler; we look forward to welcoming you and your family back to the hotel soon.

Sincerely,

Chris Smart

Director of Front Office Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Nothing but praise for the Fairmont Chateau Whistler. We were there for a business summit and could not have asked for better accomodations and service. The meals were outstanding, we especially enjoyed the bagged lunches they prepared for us to take on the bus transfer back to Vancouver airport. We accidentally left one of our luggage at the hotel and they located it and stored it until it could be transported back to us. The pool area was beautiful and of course the views of BlackComb mountain were gorgeous. Our room was spotless, and had all of the luxuries you would expect from a Fairmont. Only wish I had been able to stay longer!

Room Tip: We were on the 7th floor and the view was amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shelley P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChateauWhistler, Front Office Manager at Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

Dear Guest,

It is an absolute pleasure to hear your recent visit to The Fairmont Chateau Whistler was a great one. I will be sure to pass on your kind words to our Banquet Team to inform them their efforts are recognized and appreciated. Thank you for taking the time to share you review. We hope to welcome you back to the hotel for many more years to come.

Sincerely,

Chris Smart
Director of Front Office Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We had a 3 day trip to Whistler and stayed at this hotel for 2 nights.
Having previously stayed at Fairmont Lake Louise we had an expectation, which I am glad to say was exceeded. Arriving on the day after Labor Day, the hotel was quiet and we were impressed with the greeting from Concierge and Reception staff.
Our room was on the 6th floor and the twin queen beds were very comfortable. The room was air conditioned and it was cooled to just the right level. The duvets on the beds were just the right weight for us too. Requested foam pillows arrived 5 minutes after we got in the room. There were also a few fruit flies on the room that were swiftly dealt with by the same attendant.
Bathroom was clean and well equipped. No Fairmont slippers in the hotel though and we found out later when we used the spa that you have to request a bathrobe if required.
The second day it was rainy so we used the spa and pools and had a very relaxing afternoon.
The bar area is elegant and comfortable, lots of sofas to lounge in, drinks were not extortionate prices and you can eat in there too. Much less formal than the Lake Louise lounge. Must be lovely in the winter when the log fire is going.
We ate in the upper village (at Milestones) the first evening and had burgers! We don't usually order burgers but these had been recommended so we gave it a shot and were not disappointed, great burger, great fries, great salad.
The second evening we ate in the Fairmont lounge and just snacked off the menu. No hassle, good dishes, we just had what took our fancy and then had a desert to finish.
For breakfast we ate in the Portobello deli in the lower lobby. Great if you don't want the full English job, which after 2 weeks we are fed up with. The coffee and Danish are great value at $5.50 and the parfait is excellent. They also do fantastic "chose your own" filling sandwiches.
The hotel has fast wifi which works everywhere.
Our room had a mountain view at the side. I think they all have, so not sure it's worth paying extra for any particular aspect at this hotel, unlike lake Louise where the lake view is a bit special.
The ski lift goes up Blackcomb mountain from right behind the hotel, so very convenient.
It's quite a long walk to the lower village from the hotel, where there was more going on. Not a problem if you have come here for any sort of energetic activity though! And there is plenty of that to chose from.
Self parking at this hotel is $35!
Only negative was the noise made by the housekeeping staff on the first morning, at 08:15 I don't like being woken up by all the rooms around me being deconstructed, especially when I have hung a do not disturb sign on my door.
I did make my feelings known at reception, but did not get any further feedback. They didn't do it on morning two!
If I do Whistler again I will seriously consider staying here again. It's a great place and I will stay longer next time.

Room Tip: We were in room 619. Quiet but you can hear the next room a small amount. They coughed a lot. Tour...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bmwman995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChateauWhistler, Front Office Manager at Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your Whistler experience. I am very pleased to hear you and your family enjoyed your stay with us. The hotel is certainly a base camp of adventure in Whistler and is the perfect location to explore a wide range of activities. Our Portobello Deli, where you had breakfast, is a local favourite and full of bountiful breakfast/lunch options for the whole family. Thank you for choosing The Fairmont Chateau Whistler; we look forward to welcoming you and your family back to the hotel soon.

Sincerely,

Chris Smart

Director of Front Office Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

The place reminded me a little of the hotel complex from "The Shining", that is without Jack Nicholson. Lot of history in that place and would have been great during ski season. Rooms were a little tired but wouldn't complain. The highlight was the outdoor heated Jacuzzi's (party size). I was sitting in one of these at 8am with very warm water overlooking the snow capped peaks at the back of the hotel - memorable moment. Parking was a little steep for $36 +tax for self park, but I guess they have the monopoly. Check in was a breeze with very attentive bell hops and delightful check in staff (3pm 8/26). Sign up for the Fairmont FF program for free wifi while you are there. All good and book this one through Priceline, the 4.5star hotel in Whistler.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jesterinoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChateauWhistler, Front Office Manager at Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2013

Dear Guest,

I am happy to hear you enjoyed your recent stay at The Fairmont Chateau Whistler. Since opening its doors in 1989, The Fairmont Chateau Whistler hotel has been the area's landmark ski resort, located within the Whistler Blackcomb ski area. You are right The Fairmont Chateau Whistler's signature grand decor brings the old and new together in a seamless meld of historical style and modern beauty. Fairmont staff strives to turn moments into memories for our guests and I will be sure to pass on your fond words to the staff. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.


Sincerely,

Chris Smart

Director of Front Office Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

During our stay, the staff were very helpful. We stayed in a room with two queen beds so it was a bit cramp for two adults and two kids. The pool area was beautiful and we swam in it just about every day. Since the hotel was located at the Blackcomb side of the mountain, there's a short (8 to 10 min) walk to downtown Whistler.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank williamn8808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChateauWhistler, Front Office Manager at Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your Whistler experience. I am very pleased to hear you and your family enjoyed your stay with us. I'm glad you got to experience our newly renovated health club facilities, it is becoming a hot spot for families in Whistler.Thank you for choosing The Fairmont Chateau Whistler; we look forward to welcoming you and your family back to the hotel soon.

Sincerely,

Chris Smart
Director of Front Office Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Whistler hotels
2.6 mi away
Nita Lake Lodge
Nita Lake Lodge
#1 of 49 in Whistler
2,006 reviews
0.5 mi away
Summit Lodge Boutique Hotel
0.5 mi away
Crystal Lodge Hotel
Crystal Lodge Hotel
#8 of 49 in Whistler
2,855 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hilton Whistler Resort & Spa
0.6 mi away
Aava Whistler Hotel
Aava Whistler Hotel
#13 of 49 in Whistler
1,818 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sundial Boutique Hotel
Sundial Boutique Hotel
#7 of 49 in Whistler
922 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort

Address: 4599 Chateau Boulevard, Whistler, British Columbia V0N 1B4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Whistler
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Whistler
#2 Business Hotel in Whistler
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Whistler
#3 Family Hotel in Whistler
#3 Luxury Hotel in Whistler
#4 Spa Hotel in Whistler
#8 Romantic Hotel in Whistler
Price Range: $259 - $737 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 539
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the base of Blackcomb Mountain, Whistler's landmark ski-in ski-out hotel, Fairmont Chateau Whistler resort hotel defines mountain luxury. A classic 12-story Chateau-style resort hotel with Health Club, Spa and the largest pool deck in Whistler - offering indoor and outdoor swimming pools, four whirlpools and breathtaking views of Blackcomb mountain. Situated a five minute walk from village center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Fairmont Hotels, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Chateau Whistler Hotel Whistler
Fairmont Whistler
Whistler Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing