We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Ski Valet is a Wonderful Thing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort
Ranked #5 of 49 Hotels in Whistler
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed February 21, 2013

This was our first time to Whistler and to a Fairmont property. Excellent across the board. Our initial contact was with Sue Bjorkman who did a masterful job of working out the details of our stay. Next were Ian & Jo Ann at the concierge desk who took care of arranging our transport from Vancouver to Whistler & back, followed by lift tickets, ski rentals, and finally dinner reservations. The hotel seems to employ only smiling friendly people eager to help out their guests at every turn. The location, right at the base of Blackcomb seemed to be the best anywhere in Whistler.

The absolute best part of our stay was the ski valet. In the basement is the ski rental shop where they will outfit you and then keep your boots at the boot storage and your skiis at the ski storage. It's great to walk downstairs in your shoes, trade for your boots, pick up your skiis and head out the door to the lift. Literally put on your skiis and get into the lift line. While this sounds great, they took it one step further by having a small tent set up outside when you return complete with Hot Chocolate. Simply hand them your skiis and off you go to Apres-ski!

Great people, great hotel. If only the skiing were better. Still a very special place to go.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kkeesee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChateauWhistler, Front Office Manager at Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing this great feedback about our staff members and ski valet service here at The Fairmont Chateau Whistler. Our hotel works hard at making sure that all guests receive top notch, friendly customer service during their stay.

I hope we will be able to welcome you back to Whistler for another ski holiday soon so you can enjoy the slopes and the hot chocolate!

Sincerely,

Chris Smart
Director of Front Office

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,619)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,615 - 2,621 of 3,619 reviews

Reviewed February 21, 2013

I should start by saying that I love Chateau Whistler: this was our 3rd visit (over a period of 9 years), and I'd be quite happy to stay there every year if I could persuade the wife. It has great facilities, and a fabulous location.

However, that's not to say that it's perfect. In particular, there is a change I would make to the rooms, and that is to add an additional door between the entrance corridor (which has the bathroom on one side and the wardrobes on the other) and the bedroom itself.

The trouble is that, without such a door, you can hear too much noise from other guests, particularly when they close the doors to their own rooms. Even worse is if you are close to the entrance stairwell for the Health Club and Spa (the hotel encourages access via the 3rd floor, to avoid having guests walk through the main lobby in their bathrobes). We had the misfortune to be allocated room 301 on the first night: we naturally wished to go to bed early not being able to cope with an 8-hour time adjustment in a single day, but sleep was impossible due to door noise until after the spa closed at 11pm.

We managed to move rooms the following day (moving on the day of arrival was not possible due to the hotel being completely full). Even so, we did not escape noise problems entirely, but it did reduce the frequency of disturbances. Fortunately, most people want to get up early to go skiing and are relatively quiet!

Room Tip: As long as you don't plan on going to sleep before 11pm and you're not bothered about the oc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jonathan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChateauWhistler, Front Office Manager at Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2013

Dear Jonathan,

Thank you for choosing our hotel for so many of your ski visits to Whistler. Please accept our apologies for the noise levels at our hotel. We certainly want our guests to be able to enjoy a peaceful night’s sleep, regardless of the time they wish to go to bed.

Thank you for this valuable feedback. I hope we can welcome you a fourth time to the hotel in the future.

Sincerely,

Chris Smart
Director of Front Office

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

We've stayed at the Fairmont trice in the last 13 months and both visits were a disappointment. This trip we had lamps that didn't work, the refrigerator didn't work, there were no robes in our room and the level of service in the lobby restaurant bar was horrible.

We stayed there during New Year's even 2011/12 and it wasn't good then either--but we thought perhaps it had to do with the fact that it was a busy holiday week.

We may return again just because if the ski in/out and the proximity to the lifts. Or I may just try the Four Seasons which is right next door.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MischelleDavis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChateauWhistler, Front Office Manager at Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2013

Dear Mischelle,

Please accept our sincere apology for your recent stay with us at the hotel. Service is something we strive for excellence in at all of our outlets and we are sorry that those standards were not met during your stay, regardless of our occupancy levels. Please feel free to follow up with our team directly at cwrfoleaders@fairmont.com.

Sincerely,

Chris Smart
Director of Front Office

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2013

The Fairmont Whistler is superbly located in the Upper Village. Downhill skiing is right outside the door and cross country skiing at Lost Lake is only about a 5 min walk away. Service was at the high standard you would expect for this classic hotel, and the spa, steam room and hot tubs are very welcome after a day in the fresh air. The ability to order a beverage while enjoying one of three hot tubs outside, or the one inside, is a nice touch. The room was very nice as well. Highly recommended if you want to treat yourself to a resort that can pamper you. Signing up to be a Fairmont President's Club Member is also worth your while, as free internet, priority check-in/out, and a few other perks come along with being a member.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AJDVictoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChateauWhistler, Front Office Manager at Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing this insight with our guests from your recent stay with us here in Whistler. Signing up for the Fairmont President’s Club is definitely the way to go and is complimentary to join.

Glad to hear you were able to enjoy the spa and pool facilities after a day of skiing. I hope we will see you back again soon!

Sincerely,

Chris Smart
Director of Front Office

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2013

Very nice stay at the Fairmont. Would recommend to couples, groups, family or solo travellers. Located in Whistler/Blackcombs upper village - it is comfortably removed from the 'main' village/promenade by a 5-10 min. walk. There is plenty to do at the hotel and nearby shops / stores / eateries however.
More importantly, you are at the BASE of Blackcomb.

What made the biggest impression on me was the high and consistent level of service. They have ski/snowboard valet at end of day and is very simply tied into the Whistler/Blackcomb rental centre. - At the end of day, it takes about 10 seconds to go and give your room # and board/skis to customer service, and same with pickup.

Fine art and clothing, as well as restaurant selection are great. The hotel lounge/bar had great live music and inviting atmosphere. The spa was great and the pool / hot tubs / sauna were all clean and enjoyable. Beds were extremely comfortable as well.

Get the Edge Pass to streamline your visit.

Room Tip: Great view mountain side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2013

Our second year at the Fairmont - and frankly won't be staying anywhere else if I can help it!

From the moment you arrive the Team there make you fell welcome and cared for - exceptional customer service, great rooms, great facilities, brilliant lounge bar, outstanding gym.

Each day after skiing relaxed in the Mallard Bar - brilliant drinks and welcoming staff - the drinks are a tad pricy but makes up for it in ambience and quality - great live music too

We we're there 10 days - with differing staff - yet the service level never dipped - and in most cases staff remember you and your names with easy

We'll be back!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cliff G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2013

Great stay in Whistler this weekend at the Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort. The lobby is very well layed out, spacious and makes for a grand impression! The staff were very pleasant and helpful. When we arrived, an individual by the name of Brodie helped us with our car, luggage and asked us if we had any questions or needed help with anything... good first impression!

We were early and therefor couldn't get our room right away but it wasn't long before our room was ready and wow, fantastic view of the slope and very spacious! We were impressed and very happy that it only took a couple hours to get into our room (arrived at 11:30am - in our room by 1:30pm). Stephanie and Andrea at the front desk presented and represented the Hotel well, smiling as we talked to both of them upon arriving and checking in to get our keys.

My girlfriend and I enjoyed our time in the Hottubs, pools, Spa facilities etc. The whole stay was really good. The only negative, the rooms still seem somewhat out dated with their furniture and walls and one of the valet / concierge members (won't mention a name) didn't help much at all. We were a little disappointed that we had our hands full of bags and stuff and yet he didn't offer to help and or assist in any way shape or form... not impressed with that person. I even tipped him to try and initiate some help and or be like thanks for bringing the car up (hint hint, can we get some help but that didn't work).

Overall, 4.5 out of 5 stars and I'd recommend others to stay here.

Room Tip: Ask for a slope facing view room with a balcony! Well worth it as they have fireworks that go off at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChateauWhistler, Front Office Manager at Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2013

Dear Jeff,

Thank you for sharing your feedback of your recent stay at The Fairmont Chateau Whistler. I will be certain to pass it along to our helpful Front Office team. We are glad to hear that you and your girlfriend enjoyed the spa and pool area.

Please accept our apologies for our shortcomings in offering assistance with your checkout. It is our standard to take care of any luggage needs upon arrival and departure or as otherwise needed during their stay and we are sorry that this standard was not met.

I hope we can welcome you back to Whistler again soon.

Sincerely,

The Fairmont Chateau Whistler

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Whistler hotels
2.6 mi away
Nita Lake Lodge
Nita Lake Lodge
#1 of 49 in Whistler
1,990 reviews
0.5 mi away
Summit Lodge Boutique Hotel
0.5 mi away
Crystal Lodge Hotel
Crystal Lodge Hotel
#8 of 49 in Whistler
2,835 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hilton Whistler Resort & Spa
0.6 mi away
Aava Whistler Hotel
Aava Whistler Hotel
#13 of 49 in Whistler
1,807 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sundial Boutique Hotel
Sundial Boutique Hotel
#7 of 49 in Whistler
916 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort

Address: 4599 Chateau Boulevard, Whistler, British Columbia V0N 1B4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Whistler
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Whistler
#2 Business Hotel in Whistler
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Whistler
#3 Family Hotel in Whistler
#4 Luxury Hotel in Whistler
#5 Spa Hotel in Whistler
#8 Romantic Hotel in Whistler
Price Range: $310 - $797 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 539
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the base of Blackcomb Mountain, Whistler's landmark ski-in ski-out hotel, Fairmont Chateau Whistler resort hotel defines mountain luxury. A classic 12-story Chateau-style resort hotel with Health Club, Spa and the largest pool deck in Whistler - offering indoor and outdoor swimming pools, four whirlpools and breathtaking views of Blackcomb mountain. Situated a five minute walk from village center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Chateau Whistler Hotel Whistler
Fairmont Whistler
Whistler Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing