We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love the Fairmont”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort
Ranked #6 of 49 Hotels in Whistler
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed October 9, 2012

We just got home from yet another stay at the Fairmont Whistler. We go almost every October for our anniversary and the big Turkey sale/Market. It by far is our favourite place to stay up there as we have tried a few other hotels up there. I will say that this wasn't the best stay this time. They had the pool, sauna and Steam room torn up for renovations (which I know must be done at some point) But they never disclosed this upon booking. If we had of known we probably would have stayed somewhere else. It is a huge reason why we stay there so we were very disappointed. They should have at least given a better rate considering this. Also, in years past they would put out chocolates or a little something as it's our anniversary when we go but they didn't do anything, not even a room upgrade.
If you decide to go just make sure the pools are up and running and I promise you will really enjoy your stay!!

Room Tip: Ask for a Slope side View room.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank philandmichelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChateauWhistler, Manager at Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for continuing to choose The Fairmont Chateau Whistler. We were disappointed to read that your anniversary was not acknowledged during your recent stay. This is something we are typically very good at. Thank you for your patience and understanding regarding our pool facility upgrade. During this time we are still offering one pool, two hot tubs, and our fitness facility. We will have the rest of the pool amenities back in service very soon. We look forward to welcoming you back with a beautiful facility!

Sincerely,

The Fairmont Chateau Whistler

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,456)
There are newer reviews for Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,548 - 2,554 of 3,456 reviews

Reviewed October 8, 2012

This hotel is absolutely amazing: great spacious rooms, impeccable service, great location in the Whistler village whether you ski or not.
The spa amenities are the best ones I have ever seen: the steam room, the outdoor heated pool and hot tubs (with drink service!) are amazing, with great view of the mountains.
Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nadinka_12_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2012

We only stayed one night and did not use the bars or restaurants but the lobby and communal areas had a nice feel. Check-in service was nice enough. The room however did not. It was large with two king beds but the decor was very dated, the bathroom especially so. Not what you want on your honeymoon. Shame but it put me off going back.

Note parking was expensive, $30 a night. Glad we were only there one night.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank theGEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChateauWhistler, Manager at Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor. We were disappointed to read that your guest room did not meet your expectations, especially on such a special trip. We are continually updating our hotel and guest rooms. Should you have the opportunity to return to Whistler, please contact our Front Office Management team at cwrfoleaders@fairmont.com. It would be our pleasure to ensure you have a wonderful stay!

Sincerely,

The Fairmont Chateau Whistler

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

First of all, we loved Whistler. It is beautiful and the ski village is fun. Chateau Whistler is a beautiful property. I loved the architecture. We splurged on a room at the Gold level that includes a private lounge and concierge for Gold guests. We made good use of the concierge and had them coordinate snowmobile and dogsledding private tours for us prior to our arrival. Daniel (if memory does not fail) was a delightful gentleman and we checked our daily plans with him to get his feedback and recommendations. Everyday they serve a bountiful breakfast in this lounge that is also included for Gold guests. Our room was picture perfect with a great view of the mountains. It had a separate sitting room with a double sided fireplace that also warmed the bedroom. The bathroom was very big as well as the walk in closet. I was there for my birthday and they left for me in the room a beautiful dessert with a handwritten note from the staff. I was very moved.  A perfect holiday!

Room Tip: Gold rooms may be an option if you factor that they include a full breakfast and the services of a p...
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JEOJC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChateauWhistler, Manager at Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your wonderful experience on Fairmont Gold. Daniel will be thrilled to read what an impact he had on your stay. Our Fairmont Gold team looks forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Sincerely,

The Fairmont Chateau Whistler

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

In full disclosure, we booked at the Fairmont through Priceline . . . we paid less and received a room that was definately less too.

At check-in we inquired about availability of a king bed, but were told "none were available". My guess is because of the price we paid. Well, later that night as my wife and I were looking at the green and rust colored accomodations (this room needed to be updated), I called again to the desk to check on a room change. WHAT A DIFFERENCE! The desk attendant bent over backwards to ensure our stay was a good one (room change, parking, breakfast, etc.). We ended up staying in the room because he just made me happy that someone cared.

In summary, I gave this 4 out of 5 because the room was crappy (2 stars), average initial service (3 stars) but amazing service later (5+ stars).

PS. make use of the FREE loaner bicycles and take a ride to Lost Lake.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Doug B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChateauWhistler, Manager at Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2012

Dear Guest,

We were very pleased to read that you were well looked after. Please accept our apology for your stay having not started off as well. We hope that you will visit us again.

Sincerely,

The Fairmont Chateau Whistler

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2012

Genuine and sincere are the words that come to mind to describe the attitudes of all the staff here. We stayed 4 nights on the Gold floor and this high level of service is truly refreshing. Our room was clean and beautifully "staged" every night. Staff were always available and eager to serve. Nothing is lacking. Good location for walks everywhere. Included breakfast is fantastic. Included appetizers are good too. We love the quiet, relaxing atmosphere of the Gold lounge. Excellent Valet parking.
The incredible service is what bumps up the value but we paid off-season rates.

The auto closers on the room doors tend to loudly slam the doors shut. This is common at many hotels but I am hoping that Fairmont is working on solving it as this is the only minor flaw I could think of. (Maybe not so minor if it wakes you up from a good sleep)

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TucsonGrant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChateauWhistler, Manager at Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2012

Dear Guest,

It was wonderful to read about your experience with us on Fairmont Gold. Please rest assured that our maintenance department does adjust the door closers on a regular basis. Please accept our apology for the disturbance. We hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,

The Fairmont Chateau Whistler

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012

This hotel is in quiet upper village & has shuttle bus going to & from Whistler Village all day long. It's a ski in ski out property so very convenient. Breakfast buffet is goog but will cost almost 40 per person counting drink & tip. For around 20, we can have a decent breakfast at Portobello(downstair). The 2 restaurants - Wildflower & grill room are excellent. For the whole week we dine @ those 2 restaurants. Make sure you make reservation in the morning esp. for the grill room.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jade6666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Whistler hotels
0.5 mi away
Crystal Lodge Hotel
Crystal Lodge Hotel
#8 of 49 in Whistler
2,707 reviews
2.6 mi away
Nita Lake Lodge
Nita Lake Lodge
#1 of 49 in Whistler
1,926 reviews
0.5 mi away
Summit Lodge Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hilton Whistler Resort & Spa
0.4 mi away
Sundial Boutique Hotel
Sundial Boutique Hotel
#7 of 49 in Whistler
866 reviews
0.2 mi away
Four Seasons Resort and Residences Whistler
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort

Address: 4599 Chateau Boulevard, Whistler, British Columbia V0N 1B4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Whistler
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Whistler
#2 Business Hotel in Whistler
#3 Family Hotel in Whistler
#4 Spa Hotel in Whistler
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Whistler
#5 Luxury Hotel in Whistler
#8 Romantic Hotel in Whistler
Price Range: $207 - $908 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 539
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the base of Blackcomb Mountain, Whistler's landmark ski-in ski-out hotel, Fairmont Chateau Whistler resort hotel defines mountain luxury. A classic 12-story Chateau-style resort hotel with Health Club, Spa and the largest pool deck in Whistler - offering indoor and outdoor swimming pools, four whirlpools and breathtaking views of Blackcomb mountain. Situated a five minute walk from village center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Fairmont Hotels, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TravelUp, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Chateau Whistler Hotel Whistler
Fairmont Whistler
Whistler Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing