We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Golf Tournament”
Review of Whistler Golf Club

Whistler Golf Club
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Designed by Arnold Palmer in 1983 and fully renovated in 2000, the Whistler Golf Club is located in the heart of Whistler Village. Known for our friendly service, the Whistler Golf Club is a walkable, playable golf course the prides itself on being accessible for all. Our newly renovated Practice Facility is in the heart of the village and features 5 target greens, a practice green, full chipping and bunker area and C.P.G.A. Teaching Professionals. Visit Palmer's Gallery Bar and Grill and enjoy our amazing patio overlooking the 18th green.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
56 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Golf Tournament”
Reviewed July 24, 2012

What a great course, on our first round we saw a black Bear and 3 cubs. One of the grounds crew stayed with the bears keeping an eye on them. We played 5 rounds in 4 days, and the service was great. Very enjoyable.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank John_R_Day
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    51
    7
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“beautiful Palmer course”
Reviewed July 23, 2012

incredible scenery, wonderful staff, interesting course. Had a lesson and that was great.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank michael c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“We rode the course, but, didn't play...”
Reviewed July 11, 2012

At over $200 a round it was just too much money for me...but, if I could have afforded it...it was beautiful and extremly challenging. Good chance you'll see bears right on the course most of the spring/summer/fall.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank BoiseBill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawthorn Woods, Illinois
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great service staff”
Reviewed July 4, 2012

I've played many high end golf courses and never had such friendly service as Whistler Golf club. The course is challenging and very nice. We saw a black bear with 3 cubs in the middle of our round (uncomfortable when they came closer, but very cool).

Despite all the mountains, this course does not have elevation changes. Play the Chateau for true mountain golf.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, British Columbia
Level Contributor
163 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“Great Layout, fantastic location, great views, course condition not great”
Reviewed July 3, 2012

Played this as part of our yearly golf trip the end of June. Location is perfect right in Whistler Village and the staff were all friendly and professional. Thought the layout was great and very fair, though by no means easy. Had a old classic type feel to it despite being a resort course. An Arnold Palmer design which I do usually like along with Greg Norman and Jack Nicklaus designs. The views and setting are superb. My only minor complaint is that the condition of the course was not great with a number of muddy, wet and/or bare patches often in fairways as well as the rough. Greens did not look great but did roll decent. Nicklaus North put this course to shame as far as course condition goes. If the maintenance and conditioning was brought up to the same standard as Nicklaus North, I would have rated it 5 out of 5. Definitely worth playing and I would return. Pace of play was good even though the course was very busy. I give the course top marks for having a number of Marshall's keeping people moving and making sure everyone is happy.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank CaseyluvsSophie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WGC19832013, Manager at Whistler Golf Club, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Thanks for the review. Yes that brutal Spring in 2012 hurt us. Our new greens are mint this year. hope you come back. Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Whistler Golf Club also viewed

 
Pemberton, British Columbia
Pemberton, British Columbia
 

Been to Whistler Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing