We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great restaurant but don't go until they take Blue Fin Tuna off the menu”

KA-ZE Sushi and Beyond
Ranked #96 of 193 Restaurants in Whistler
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $24 - $31
Cuisines: Sushi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
UK
Level 6 Contributor
161 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Great restaurant but don't go until they take Blue Fin Tuna off the menu”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We had a terrific meal for seven of us in March 2013.
However, I would have preferred to have walked out (prevented as family gathering) when I discovered that they have blue fin tuna on the menu - you would think that a fish near extinction could have been left off the menu in a civilised place - draw your own conclusions.
I WOULD MEVER GO THERE AGAIN UNTIL BLUE FIN TUNA IS TAKEN OFF THE MENU. Please don't you dine there either.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JoannaandMatthew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    19
    9
    5
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
BC, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Underwhelming”
Reviewed March 26, 2013

We noticed that the Sushi chef enjoyed drinking quite heavily with the patrons and there was only one waitress, which would explain the slow service and the pushy waitress. We would not mind if the food was great. Unfortunately, the miso and the sushi did not wow us in any way.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank BCCan93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Sushi with kids”
Reviewed March 13, 2013

Very good. Didn't have to wait on a Wednesday night. Sushi was very freshness. Miso soup good. Would try the soup you cook at the table info was to return.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mcdup2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, FL
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Fantastic food, great price”
Reviewed March 10, 2013

You would think because this place is in the Westin that it would be expensive... IT WASN'T, but the quality was amazing. The service is authentic so be prepared to enjoy Japanize hospitality. We really enjoyed the sushi, salad (with homemade special dressing), Gyoza and Tempura. Definitely give this place a try.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank ken1ceo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Amazingly fresh and delicious sushi”
Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

We have been coming to Kaze Sushi for more than a decade and it is a restaurant we never miss on our trips to Whistler (among a few certain select others). This is quite simply some of the best sushi you will find anywhere and is no doubt influenced by the use of local ingredients and fresh seafood from the coast - Tom has done an outstanding job and this is an experience not to be met. The prices are also very reasonable - a welcome change from the typical Whistler restaurant.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Eric B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed KA-ZE Sushi and Beyond also viewed

Whistler, British Columbia
Whistler, British Columbia
 
Whistler, British Columbia
Whistler, British Columbia
 

Been to KA-ZE Sushi and Beyond? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing