We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Informal Vive with Great Food”

The Southside Diner
Ranked #52 of 188 Restaurants in Whistler
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Cafe, Diner, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: A popular spot for locals and visitors alike to enjoy a meal, catch up on the latest gossip and maybe even have a few beverages. We hope that you will also become one of our regulars!
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Informal Vive with Great Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2014 via mobile

Impromptu stop held a surprise of great food in a diner - like atmosphere. We sampled the "beltch" sandwich which was fabulous. Fries were not noteworthy. Prices very reasonable.

Helpful?
Thank LeAnne A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    124
    98
    34
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Lot's of Character But not Great”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014

The title pretty much sums this place up - lots of character and a great diner experience but the food was only so-so. Disappointing overall.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank UMH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
77 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“What a comfy place.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014

This is the kind of place you go and expect to see the diner equivalent of Norm of Cheers sitting at the counter. It's a rustic, homely, comfortable place to eat and the food matches. Comfort food is an over used chant but we all know what it is. Breakfast here was great with a pair of huge pancakes and some of the best coffee I've had in a long time.

I remember this building from the 1970s. The building and restaurant is a welcome sanctuary from the over-planned, sterile, over-regulated atmosphere Whistler-Blackcomb presents. The galvanized sheeting under the counter, rough wood and cozy booths are a perfect hiding place.

But don't stay long if it's busy. Read the rules on the place mat. I love stuff like this as, although the rules are meant as humour, one can respect the honest sentiment that drove the place to state them in an effort to guard the staff against superficial, spoiled, phoney urban clowns of the low-fat-double-foam-extra-hot-with-ice-cubes-and-sprinkles-in-a-stemmed-cup-decaf-and-yogurt-for-the-kids crowd.

I'm going back the next time I pass through Whistler, hopefully at a slow time so I can hang around a bit. Good coffee...mmmmm.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank geoqwest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A highlight of our Canada trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2014

We loved the ambience and energy of the diner and the staff. But even more than that, we fell in love with the food here. Canadian blueberry pancakes with real maple syrup and bacon, as big as dinner plates, poutine with pulled pork and bbq sauce.....all bigger and better than we possibly imagined! We were sorely tempted to detour on our way home just to fit in another visit

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Louise E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho, United States
Level Contributor
32 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice, Low Key Place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2014

Off the beaten (to death) track of Whistler Village, Southside Diner is a gem in the Creekside Village area. Nothing fancy just great down home food at a reasonable price. The staff is super friendly and the ambiance is funky.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Elliot W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Southside Diner also viewed

Whistler, British Columbia
Whistler, British Columbia
 
Whistler, British Columbia
Whistler, British Columbia
 
Whistler, British Columbia
Whistler, British Columbia
 

Been to The Southside Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing