We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Riverside Resort Whistler
Reviewed September 30, 2012

My wife and I strolled (with 6 mo. old) into the village in about 35 mins on the paved trail. There are mtb trails accessible from the campground as well. They stretch basically from the campground to the village (and more). The campground is clean and has many amenities.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JamieRoberts998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (930)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

841 - 847 of 930 reviews

Reviewed September 16, 2012

We made reservations a couple weeks in advance and stayed in one of the cabins for two nights over a weekend. The staff at reception were friendly and helpful. It was pretty straight forward to find the cabin and we found it to be clean even if a bit smaller than we thought. But the furnishings were nice, in good condition and we found the bed to be very comfortable.

The resort offers a free shuttle to and from town every two hours starting at 9am and going into the evening. If you want to walk, you can take the Valley Trail and the walk took me not even 20 minutes.

We had breakfast each morning in the cafe at the main building. It is great home-cooked food and we ate well for about $12-14 each. The desserts looked great too!

Overall, we enjoyed the stay and would recommend the resort.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2012

I had an rv space at Riverside Resort for two nights in September. Campsites are very nice and the location is wonderful. It's a nice 1 mile or so walk into Whistler Village, or you can use the resort's free shuttle. There is a sign that says Riverside Resort is a Good Sam park, but they only give the Good Sam discount for the first night's stay. I found this pretty disappointing. There is a nice little breakfast and lunch cafe on site. I paid $50 Canadian per night for a site with full hookups. I think that's very expensive, but the location is good and the shuttle is a nice amenity. I'd probably stay here again if I'm in Whistler.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kikinw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2012

We enjoyed our ten nights at the Riverside RV resort & campground and found staff were friendly and helpful. We opted for a log cabin which was cosy and had everything we needed. We used it as a base to explore as much of BC as we could - it's so easy to get into Whistler but also great access to Highway 99 if you want to make the most of your time in BC. Our twelve year old son loved having the loft twin room - quite a steep climb up the loft ladder (which scared mom) but he liked having the 'top floor' to himself. The accommodation is compact but comfortable. We slept well, the cabins were really quiet at night, i think the campsites could be noisier but the site management provide you with an out of hours number to call if your neighbours do get a little rowdy!

The resort offer a free shuttle to Whistler village which we found really handy, both drivers we encountered were friendly and chatty. The team that manned the reception couldn't do enough for us. You can rent BBQs, bikes & golf equipment for the putting green. The site was well maintained and gave us easy access to the hiking/cycling trails - Green Lake & Lost Lake are all within easy reach.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helana3179
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2012

Stayed the week of Crankworx. We’ve stayed all over B.C. in our RV at many popular tourist destination towns. I would almost say this is the most convenient park we’ve stayed at. The sites were very big in comparison to many other touristy places. The showers were clean, large, free and didn’t have a “closed for cleaning” time like most other places. Nobody hassled the kids when they played at the park late which was great considering they are on holidays as well. The shuttle was very convenient. The restaurant was fine for coffee and breakfast. The laundry facilities were relatively new and well priced. There weren’t a million rules posted everywhere like most places in the Okanagan or Jasper parks. The gates didn’t close at 11 like a lot of other parks so you are free to stay out late without worrying about getting into the camp in time.

It really was a “No Worries” type of resort. We plan to stay again next year for Crankworx.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank North54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2012

Camped here before the Olympics and thought it was expensive but good facilities. Just took some relatives from California including a 3 year old. When making the reservation we requested a camp site and a yurt if it was close by. We were told that they were close even though on the map they didn't look close. We did mention the 3 year old. Turns out they increased the size of the campground by building a one vehicle only bridge across the river. We were put in the new part which is all manicured, paved lots on the hillside. Nothing like the forest that used to be there. The yurt was not close and the route to it was extremely dangerous with a 3year old.

There is a playground but it was across the single vehicle bridge that has a traffic light. Can you imagine going to stay in a campground in the forest and waiting at a traffic light! We met another family from California who told us BC meant bring cash. And they are not joking. Whistler has become completely out of the reach of a regular family.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guy A, General Manager at Riverside Resort Whistler, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2012

Hello,

I am disappointed to read that your stay with us did not meet your expectations. Our entire team is dedicated to make each of our guest’s stay, a great experience. It is truly disappointing when we fall short of your expectations.

I do apologize if you felt mis-lead with regards to the distance between your Yurt and what I assume (from your description) was a multi-use site that you used as a camping site.

Unfortunately perception of distance is completely relative to ones expectations. Our graded path between the Yurts and Multi Use sites is approximately 100 yards in length and if your camping site was at the far end of the row you would have another 100 yards to cover. Close by? For some yes… and for other not so much.

I have reviewed your situation with our Guest Experience team to ensure they are aware of the actual distance and can communicate this accurately to guests in the future.

Please rests assured the safety of all our guests, young and not so young, is our highest priority. From your comments I have asked our Operations Manager to review the graded path between the Yurts and multi-use sites to ensure it meets safety standards.

We did increase the size of our facility to accommodate the ever increasing requests we receive for various types of accommodations.

We were very mindful of the environment we live and work in during our expansion. Hence the installation of a single lane motor vehicle bridge with a separate lane for pedestrians and cyclists. This provided the needed access to the area while minimizing the impact on the environment. Unfortunately within a very short time, experience demonstrated that controlled vehicle access to the single lane bridge was a safety necessity, hence the requirement to add traffic lights.

I truly appreciate your comments and regret that we did not meet your expectations during your stay with us.

Kind regards,

Guy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2012

We stayed at a Riverside walk in tent site for 4 nights during some good weather this July.
Overall the experience was good, despite an unfortunate last evening which was ruined by 2 groups of younger campers back from drinking etc in the village. They stayed up ALL night ( till daybreak) talking, and despite being asked twice to keep it down, they just continued on as if no one was trying to sleep just a few meters away. Not having a phone there was no way to call the number that Riverside provided us if there was disturbances. Ah well the other nights were peaceful enough.
Washrooms etc were clean etc, having Wifi through out the campspot was good. Due to Bear activity we had to hang our food and cook wear whenever we left the site, which was very impractical. I understand the need, but maybe each site should be provided with its own bear proof container or something. After 2 days I had become very tired of hauling all our gear either back to the car or over to the bear wires.
Overall totally acceptable but at $45 a night there should have been a little some thing extra other than clean washrooms and wifi- maybe hot water in the washrooms (showers were hot- but you had to pay sink faucets were freezing) and larger washrooms and perhaps an easier way to get noisy neighbors to shut up.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jctraveller89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Whistler hotels
1.6 mi away
Aava Whistler Hotel
Aava Whistler Hotel
#12 of 49 in Whistler
1,806 reviews
1.3 mi away
Summit Lodge Boutique Hotel
3.4 mi away
Nita Lake Lodge
Nita Lake Lodge
#1 of 49 in Whistler
1,989 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Adara Hotel
Adara Hotel
#17 of 49 in Whistler
702 reviews
1.4 mi away
Pinnacle Hotel Whistler
Pinnacle Hotel Whistler
#10 of 49 in Whistler
1,477 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hilton Whistler Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverside Resort Whistler? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverside Resort Whistler

Address: 8018 Mons Rd, Whistler, British Columbia V0N 1B8, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Whistler
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 55 Specialty Lodging in Whistler
Price Range: $111 - $210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on forty acres on the banks of Fitzsimmons Creek, Riverside Resort is surrounded by the natural beauty of the mountains yet is only minutes away from all the action and excitment that Whistler has to offer. Featuring fully equipped cozy log cabins, full & partial service RV sites, private walk-in tent sites, serviced multi-use camping sites plus our unique and natural yurts, Riverside Resort offers a variety of accomodations for all seasons and budgets, and the experience of staying close to nature. We look forward to welcoming you to Whistler, and your home away from home at Riverside Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Riverside Resort Whistler reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riverside Rv Resort & Campground Hotel Whistler
Riverside Rv Resort And Campground

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing