We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not what we were expecting”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Riverside Resort Whistler
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Not what we were expecting”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2012

Camped here before the Olympics and thought it was expensive but good facilities. Just took some relatives from California including a 3 year old. When making the reservation we requested a camp site and a yurt if it was close by. We were told that they were close even though on the map they didn't look close. We did mention the 3 year old. Turns out they increased the size of the campground by building a one vehicle only bridge across the river. We were put in the new part which is all manicured, paved lots on the hillside. Nothing like the forest that used to be there. The yurt was not close and the route to it was extremely dangerous with a 3year old.

There is a playground but it was across the single vehicle bridge that has a traffic light. Can you imagine going to stay in a campground in the forest and waiting at a traffic light! We met another family from California who told us BC meant bring cash. And they are not joking. Whistler has become completely out of the reach of a regular family.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guy A, General Manager at Riverside Resort Whistler, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
Hello,

I am disappointed to read that your stay with us did not meet your expectations. Our entire team is dedicated to make each of our guest’s stay, a great experience. It is truly disappointing when we fall short of your expectations.

I do apologize if you felt mis-lead with regards to the distance between your Yurt and what I assume (from your description) was a multi-use site that you used as a camping site.

Unfortunately perception of distance is completely relative to ones expectations. Our graded path between the Yurts and Multi Use sites is approximately 100 yards in length and if your camping site was at the far end of the row you would have another 100 yards to cover. Close by? For some yes… and for other not so much.

I have reviewed your situation with our Guest Experience team to ensure they are aware of the actual distance and can communicate this accurately to guests in the future.

Please rests assured the safety of all our guests, young and not so young, is our highest priority. From your comments I have asked our Operations Manager to review the graded path between the Yurts and multi-use sites to ensure it meets safety standards.

We did increase the size of our facility to accommodate the ever increasing requests we receive for various types of accommodations.

We were very mindful of the environment we live and work in during our expansion. Hence the installation of a single lane motor vehicle bridge with a separate lane for pedestrians and cyclists. This provided the needed access to the area while minimizing the impact on the environment. Unfortunately within a very short time, experience demonstrated that controlled vehicle access to the single lane bridge was a safety necessity, hence the requirement to add traffic lights.

I truly appreciate your comments and regret that we did not meet your expectations during your stay with us.

Kind regards,

Guy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

875 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    399
    285
    120
    40
    31
See reviews for
443
252
22
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2012

We stayed at a Riverside walk in tent site for 4 nights during some good weather this July.
Overall the experience was good, despite an unfortunate last evening which was ruined by 2 groups of younger campers back from drinking etc in the village. They stayed up ALL night ( till daybreak) talking, and despite being asked twice to keep it down, they just continued on as if no one was trying to sleep just a few meters away. Not having a phone there was no way to call the number that Riverside provided us if there was disturbances. Ah well the other nights were peaceful enough.
Washrooms etc were clean etc, having Wifi through out the campspot was good. Due to Bear activity we had to hang our food and cook wear whenever we left the site, which was very impractical. I understand the need, but maybe each site should be provided with its own bear proof container or something. After 2 days I had become very tired of hauling all our gear either back to the car or over to the bear wires.
Overall totally acceptable but at $45 a night there should have been a little some thing extra other than clean washrooms and wifi- maybe hot water in the washrooms (showers were hot- but you had to pay sink faucets were freezing) and larger washrooms and perhaps an easier way to get noisy neighbors to shut up.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jctraveller89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winona, Minnesota
Level Contributor
86 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2012

3 generations stayed here for 3 nights. First visit to whistler ans loved the close walk to whisper and easy bike trail access to go as far as we wanted. Quiet. Staff helpful.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OnTheRoad1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2012

Actually, I don't really want to write this review because more people might find what I think is just an absolute gem of a place. A group of us stayed in two yurts (they sleep 5) and couldn't have been happier. The yurt was spotless, heated, and comfortable. The washrooms below were also spotless, thought they didn't have soap, which was strange--just bring your own. The location to Whistler couldn't be better: out of the mayhem but close enough to walk. And then, the campground is right next to a fantastic spa, which we didn't get to try, but we are already planning a girls' weekend for later this year.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KEJ2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2012

Stayed at Riverside Campground at the beginning of May for one night. We were travelling with friends who had an RV. We stayed in a Yurt which is located across the bridge and up abit. The Yurt was a great fun alternative, and quite private sitting on platforms through the trees. The Yurt was dry and warm [heaters were provided in the room] and clean - all we need were our pillows and sleeping bags. Washrooms/showers a short distance away were very clean and warm, the hot shower free.
The campground is only 5 minute drive from Whistler village.
Did not check out other facilities. Staff were very friendly and helpful.
We enjoyed our stay and would recommend it!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ppauli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north vancouver
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2012

Just stayed at Riverside for the 3rd time and had another excellent experience. We stayed in a cabin - which is the best kept secret in Whistler. Everything was clean and comfortable. The only complaint we might make is the shower heads in the cabins. Left the doggies at home this time, but love that we have the option to bring them along.
Staff were friendly and efficient and we were impressed how quickly they handled the large group of visitors that turned up all at once to check in. Didn't check the wi-fi - really people you are on holidays - I'm sure it can wait. The area is beautiful and has great space for kids to play. You can't play baseball outside your hotel in the village.
We chose to take a taxi into the village for dinner and it was a cheap ($10). In the morning we ate at the Junction Cafe - excellent start to our day.
Love this place and will never stay in the village again.

Room Tip: Some cabins are walk in, but we were lucky to stay in one that you could drive right up to and park...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dkf03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich UK
Level Contributor
423 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 295 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2012

We were located in the newer area across the bridge which was smart and well - tended but the Wifi DOESN'T WORK here. I have stayed in a number of much cheaper and untidier campgrounds where they have a number of signal points and usually manage to get on-line. There also are TOO FEW shower / toilet facilities; for 39 RV pitches; just 1 (working) toilet and 2 showers in the men's block is insufficient. Whistler is a good location for a short break though, and enjoyed cycling around and going on a bear trip.

Room Tip: Make sure if you want WiFi your pitch will get a signal
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PeterHarvey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Whistler hotels
1.6 mi away
Aava Whistler Hotel
Aava Whistler Hotel
#14 of 49 in Whistler
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,665 reviews
3.4 mi away
Nita Lake Lodge
Nita Lake Lodge
#1 of 49 in Whistler
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,772 reviews
1.3 mi away
Summit Lodge Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Whistler Village Inn + Suites
1.7 mi away
Coast Blackcomb Suites at Whistler
1.6 mi away
Crystal Lodge Hotel
Crystal Lodge Hotel
#8 of 49 in Whistler
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverside Resort Whistler? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverside Resort Whistler

Property: Riverside Resort Whistler
Address: 8018 Mons Rd, Whistler, British Columbia V0N 1B8, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Whistler
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 53 Specialty Lodging in Whistler
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on forty acres on the banks of Fitzsimmons Creek, Riverside Resort is surrounded by the natural beauty of the mountains yet is only minutes away from all the action and excitment that Whistler has to offer. Featuring fully equipped cozy log cabins, full & partial service RV sites, private walk-in tent sites, serviced multi-use camping sites plus our unique and natural yurts, Riverside Resort offers a variety of accomodations for all seasons and budgets, and the experience of staying close to nature. We look forward to welcoming you to Whistler, and your home away from home at Riverside Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Riverside Resort Whistler reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riverside Rv Resort & Campground Hotel Whistler
Riverside Rv Resort And Campground

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing