We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing place”
Review of Fireside Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Fireside Lodge
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Amazing place”
Reviewed September 8, 2012

What a great place if you like mountains solitude! Not in village but bus 3 min walk and as much ride... Immaculately clean all over; so nice homey feel. Host- Randy will go way out of his way to help you with anything. Amazing kitchen-- so well stocked and maintained. Check this place out, even if you are not on budget. Agree, that dorm rooms that are without windows feel too dark but that's probaly the only problem with this place.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alex p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    9
    5
    0
    3
See reviews for
1
15
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Athlone, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2012

Sooooo nice. For ski members only during winter . We stayed there in summer rooms so nice and comfy huge kitchen with everything u need in it no brekkie thou . Owners helpful and nice. Very quiet which we liked and very close to whistler village definitely recommend it 9 out of 10

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sendai, Japan
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2012

I stayed here on my own for a few days skiing. It was a wonderful experience. The accommodation is superb, an amazing kitchen with lots of space and the utensils and pots to cook anything you can imagine. The social areas include a huge living room with lots of sofas, fireplace and a well stocked bookcase. Outside is a sun deck surrounded by trees and lots of humming birds. I was in a bunk room which is fairly basic but clean and comfy. There is even a sauna, although I didn't get round to trying it. The manager Randy is a top guy was Mark his Belgium assistant for the season. The lodge members I met were all very friendly and good fun to chat with. I even got some skiing tips on the slopes. If you want to stay near whistler on a budget, stay here. In fact even if you're not on a budget its a great place to meet people.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2012

The lodge has some good and bad points. The dorm rooms are tiny, they do not have doors (curtains, that lead out into a corridor) and the bedding is old and very worn (bring your own sleeping bag).

The room I stayed in did not have a window, so it was very stuffy and smelled pretty bad. The lodge bathrooms were dated and not the cleanest, but they did the job.

The kitchen was good, very big, lots of storage and everything you need to make meals. The living area is big and warm with lots of big comfy sofas.

Its about a 15min walk to creekside gondola, or you can walk 3 mins to a bus stop at the bottom of the road ($2.50 cash or bills accepted).

This place is great for a few nights if you want somewhere cheap and quite to stay, the staff were friendly and helpful. This is a good place to stay if you to ski everyday and want lots of sleep.

Room Tip: >The private rooms looked bigger, with doors. If you are traveling with more than one person or w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dhj88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whistler
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 24, 2012

Arrived at the lodge the 25 of November 2011, still planning to stay to the end of May, Love this place. Cheapest place in Whistler for backpackers.

Has a big and clean kittchen, a lounge with a fireplace, a Gamesroom with pool, tablesoccer, tabletennis, a laundryroom and a Sauna, free WIFI, waxing room.

Had a wonderfull Christmis and New Year at the lodge.

The Creekside gondola is at short walking distance, so i don´t have to take any bus.

If you come to Whister come and check this place out!!!!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marc J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2011

Stayed in this lodge summer of 2011 for a few days. It's very cheap accomodation for the traveler that doesn't have the dough for the village.
However, I repeatedly had problems with the key-card entry system. I also found the rooms to smell very old and musty.
I probably would not stay here agin, simply because there are so many other options right in the Whistler Village. However, for the person with little funds, this place might do.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ToAFarOffLand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whistlerorbust, Publicity Director at Fireside Lodge, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear ToAFarOffLand,

We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience.

Key card entry - We are using magnetic card, unfortunately the presence of magnet beside it will corrupt the card.
Location - We are proud of the location of the lodge. It is located in a quiet area of Whistler.
The rooms - You are welcome to come back and check the rooms out.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radebeul, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2011

It is a real great lodge and very cheap. There are private-rooms (2-5 persons) and Dormrooms (max. 4 persons). It has a big and very clean kittchen, a lounch with a fireplace, a Gamesroom with pool, tablesoccer, tabletennis, a laundry an very great a Sauna! To the villages is it very close (2,5 kilometers) and to the Gondola (creakside) is ist only 800 meters. if you want you can walk.
I can really recommendet this lodge. best way of reservation is, if you go to the internetside www.firesidelodge.org and call them or write them a email.
Have fun there.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Enrico B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Whistler hotels
1.7 mi away
Summit Lodge Boutique Hotel
1.5 mi away
Crystal Lodge Hotel
Crystal Lodge Hotel
#8 of 49 in Whistler
2,649 reviews
1.6 mi away
Whistler Village Inn + Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Nita Lake Lodge
Nita Lake Lodge
#1 of 49 in Whistler
1,886 reviews
1.6 mi away
Pinnacle Hotel Whistler
Pinnacle Hotel Whistler
#10 of 49 in Whistler
1,362 reviews
1.4 mi away
Aava Whistler Hotel
Aava Whistler Hotel
#14 of 49 in Whistler
1,731 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fireside Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fireside Lodge

Property: Fireside Lodge
Address: 2117 Nordic Dr, Whistler, British Columbia V0N 1B2, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Whistler
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 55 Specialty Lodging in Whistler
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fireside Lodge is located in Whistler, British Columbia; home of North America’s two largest vertical mountains - Whistler and Blackcomb. Relax at our cozy lodge, year round, after enjoying world class activities including; skiing, boarding, mountain biking, hiking etc.We have a large kitchen, large living room, sauna and FREE parking. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing