We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Whistler Olypic Park - XC Trails not for Beginners”

Whistler Olympic Park
Ranked #29 of 102 things to do in Whistler
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Whistler Olympic Park has a history of glory and gold. One-third of all medals at the Vancouver 2010 Olympic and Paralympic Winter Games were awarded at the venue. Today, it remains an active centre for world-class competitors while preserving the winter legacy for the enjoyment of the Sea to Sky community and visitors. Whistler Olympic Park will be open for the WINTER season 2017/2018 on November 23, 2017 (season will end April 2, 2018). In addition to exploring 130 kilometers of picturesque cross-country ski and snowshoe trails, we offer snow play activities such as biathlon, tobogganing and fat biking. Whistler Olympic Park will be open again for SUMMER from June until September 2018. Summer activities include Summer Biathlon, Electric Assist Fat Bike Rentals and Olympic Sightseeing!
Reviewed January 18, 2009

There is much to like about WOP. However they have not set things up to be a supportive environment for the new beginner, which I am.

The only green run accessible from XC base ( the Biathalon Technical Building) - begins with a sharp turn at a relatively steep pitch, with a steep, long dropoff on the right side. Really not an ideal beginning for people who are just learning to control their skiis. The rest of the run has a lot of pitch, including a long steep hill for which I removed my skiis. This was a surpprise to me as the trail map described this run as 'flat and easy'. The green runs of Madeley Creek and Around the World might have been easier to manage - but since they are only accessible by a blue run (which in the case of Madeley is a long and steep drop) I never did find out.

Signage is not great - the signs are infrequent and have small print so that you have to be right up next to them to read them. I passed a crossover to another run, and there was no signage at all.

They do have a set of parallel short track set for sprints and people wanting a stretch of straight, flat track to practice technique on, and a short circular track, and a short loop for practicing inclines. Very nice for the first hour to 90 minutes on skiis, after that, not so much. I'll be skiing at Cypress until my strength and control improve.

2  Thank GeorgiaBrownDowntown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (239)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"ski jump"
in 22 reviews
"shooting range"
in 12 reviews
"cross country skiing"
in 11 reviews
"car fee"
in 2 reviews
"target shooting"
in 2 reviews
"definitely worth the trip"
in 3 reviews
"alexander falls"
in 6 reviews
"winter olympics"
in 6 reviews
"electric bikes"
in 2 reviews
"bike riders"
in 2 reviews
"great trails"
in 4 reviews
"well worth the trip"
in 2 reviews
"great fun"
in 6 reviews
"amazing views"
in 3 reviews
"biathlon"
in 61 reviews
"rifle"
in 15 reviews
"gun"
in 5 reviews
Filter

197 - 201 of 239 reviews

Reviewed November 23, 2008

Located 15-20 minutes off of the the Sea to Sky Highway (and 30-35 minute from Whistler), make sure you make time for this stop enroute to Whistler. The area is remote... breathtaking when covered in pristine white snow.

We took the chair lift 7 minutes up to the top where you can walk to the ski jump platform. You can literally look down onto the one of two jumps which will be used by the Olympic athletes in 2010.

We were on a private tour, and the guide who was with us gave us a brilliant presentation about the sport, where the media, camera crew and judges would be standing etc.

We took the lift back but some people walk down the hill. I overheard the guide telling them that it would take about 30 minutes.

From there we headed over to the Biathalon where we were able to try our hands at shooting. It's a long walk so I suggest driving over. It was fun but not as easy as it looks.

Overall we spent about 2 hours here, including running around in the snow. Because there's not other pedestrian traffic with the exception of people cross country skiing, it's a great place for families with children. Kinds can run loose playing in the snow without having to watch for skier coming down the mountain.

2  Thank BumblebeeVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Thank Jotjie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2017
Google Translation

Thank 高山龍山
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed August 30, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Thank relebeib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Whistler Olympic Park also viewed

 
Whistler, British Columbia
 

Been to Whistler Olympic Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing