We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“ABSOLUTELY AMAZING”

Intermezzo Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 214 Restaurants in Vernon
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $24
Cuisines: Italian, Canadian, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Located in the heart of Downtown Vernon, Intermezzo is an elegant fine-dining experience. Specializing in Sterling Silver Steaks, delicious Seafood dishes and Mediterranean cuisine. Intermezzo is famous for its our signature dish “The Moroccan Lamb” which was created by our current Executive Chef. In addition to the Italian Continental fare that has been our trademark, Intermezzo is now proud to offer a new expanded menu which includes Mediterranean and European fare. With a wide variety of appetizers and entrees including, Crab Cakes, Sicilian Scallops & Prawns, Veal Parmigiana and Mediterranean Chicken which you are sure to remember every bite of your dining experience at Intermezzo. Also don’t forget to try some of our home made classic desserts such as Creme Brule, Tiramisu or the velvety Gluten Free Chocolate Truffle.
Vernon BC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“ABSOLUTELY AMAZING”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2013

This is one of my favorite restaurants EVER! The restaurant is beautiful itself and is very classy. The embiance is lovely and the food is absolutely delicious! It is served beautifully and you just fall in love with the character of the restaurant. i am DEFINITELY recommending this restaurant

Helpful?
1 Thank juliapoplawski
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

318 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    205
    77
    29
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
75 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Very Good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2013 via mobile

A very good restaurant. Started with the Saffron cream sauce with prawns and mussels. The group also enjoyed the escargot (a little too much cheese but still tasty) and the artichoke dip with crab. I had the veal Oscar, which was a delight to eat. The hollandaise was creamy and delicious without being too rich and overpowering. We also enjoyed king crab legs and steak Oscar with a filet. Everyone enjoyed their food. We also had a great bottle of wine called chateaux ste Michelle. A lovely accent to the meal. Our server was attentive and the atmosphere was relaxing and cozy. I would recommend this restaurant for sure.

Helpful?
Thank Michelle11796
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vernon, Canada
Level Contributor
58 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

This is a real gem of a restaurant. Fresh food, wonderful flavour. Ambience is romantic but not stuffy. Pretty neat for a great night out!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank acadia_mom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Doesn't deserve number one on Trip Advisor in Vernon.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

Nice atmosphere but after that everything goes downhill. Have been there about three times, each time hoping it will get better but no luck. Every dish we have ordered has too much going on on the plate. Each dish is presented with so many conflicting flavors and excessive sauces. Chef needs to understand thst simple is beter.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank foodloververnon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellie E, General Manager at Intermezzo Restaurant, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
Hi Foodloververnon, thank you for your response as we take all positive and negative reviews seriously to make sure we are giving the best dining experience possible for our guests. We are happy that you have dined with us just more than once to have an Intermezzo experience and understanding of our business. As you know we do a few dishes that have a lot going on, but the executive chef purposely creates these dishes to give the customer an experience of that region the dish come from. These dishes will have an abundance of flavours and not be so simple as some of the other items on our menu offer, as in our fresh cut steaks, brought in fresh seafood dishes or chicken and veal dishes. In response to your review and an idea we have been discussing is that the executive chef will be changing the name of some of the dishes to reflect the culinary experience the guest will be receiving while enjoying the tour of taste through the region the dish comes from.
Hopefully you would try us again in the future as our executive chef is always creating new dishes to raise everyone’s experience while dinning with us and thank you for giving us more insight to our business plan.
Sincerely
Ellie Erickson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langley City, Canada
Level Contributor
127 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Not Relaxing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

Sorry to be contrarian, but our experience at intermezzo was very disappointing.

We arrived on an early weekday night for dinner for 2 and were told that we were lucky and getting the last deuce available. We were pleased and felt it must be good considering how popular it has become.

We ordered a bottle of wine and it arrived quickly. We ordered a salad and main course each. The salad and bread arrived quickly. It didn't occur to me at the time, but in hindsight, I should have seen it coming and told them to slow down. We read reviews of diners complaining that the service is slow. While I would agree that too slow is no good, I also feel too fast is no good. So folks, no word of a lie - we finished our salads and 10 seconds later our main courses arrived. Not a half a minute, not 20 seconds - literally 10 seconds later. Had I thought we were getting special treatment, I would have been wrong. The other early arrival table, sitting not far from us, got exactly the same treatment. Their appetizer was removed and within seconds their main courses arrived. Perhaps they were fine with it - I didn't ask them. We certainly were not.

As for the food. The bread was very nice. The salad was nicely presented and tasty. Our main courses of veal and pasta were awful. The veal tasted like something you might get in a school or hospital cafeteria and the pasta was so overcooked it was like mush. I don't know, perhaps our main courses had been sitting under a heat lamp for 10 minutes.

We were looking forward to having a nice, relaxing dinner and this was anything but. I certainly would never go back nor recommend it.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ashle4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellie E, General Manager at Intermezzo Restaurant, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
Hi Ashl, we are upset to hear about your unfortunate experience at our restaurant. We appreciate your comments as we continue to abide to our business plan of exceptional service and food. We take full responsibility of not letting you enjoy your full dining experience and evening while at our restaurant as we love spending time with our guests and having them feel comfortable. Our servers are trained to gauge and read the tables as each guest has different desires and unfortunately yours were not met, as you noted that some guests are happy to eat and run while others would love to spend the whole night with us. We are sorry that you felt rushed with your food arriving too fast and bill timing not being perfect. As for the quality of food we will look into the procedures of what went wrong with your meals, so that our future guests will not endure this problem. Thanks for your response and hope to see you again sometime in the future as we feel we can create that perfect experience for you.
Sincerely
Ellie Erickson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Intermezzo Restaurant also viewed

 
Vernon, Okanagan Valley
Vernon, Okanagan Valley
 

Been to Intermezzo Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing