We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of New Golden Crown Restaurant - CLOSED

New Golden Crown Restaurant
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Takeout
Vernon, British Columbia, Canada
1 review
“Good Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

We recently visited the Golden Crown and found the food to be the best we have had since moving to Vernon. The service was fast and friendly, the hot towels at the end of our meal were a great touch and i would highly recommend trying the place.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Charlie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    10
    6
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vernon, Canada
1 review
“BEST CHINESE FOOD EVER!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2013

Went to the Golden Crown! I am a total foodie! The food is amazing there....... you must order the traditional foods like the ginger beef hot pot, golden crown hot pot or singapore noodles to get the true experience. Their secret recipe of inhouse egg rolls are just delicious. Every time I take clients there it just rave reviews.

This is a hidden gem of a restaurant. And I love to support small business owners.

I highly recommend the Golden Crown for a date night, family gathering or take-out!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MG3_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lumby, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great Buffet”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

This is one of our favorite Chinese resturants in the city. They offer a wide variety of Chinese cuisine in their buffet, and all you can eat pricing which if very affordable.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vernon B.C.
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Not great”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

We took our Mom there a year ago for her birthday. The place is quite nice looking, but smells old and musty. We ordered our food and then waited 1.5 hours before we finally got our dinner and then some of the items where wrong. We were told that they were very busy with take out orders, which is no excuse. If that is your business then you should be adequately prepared for what ever comes your way. I complained and was given a $50.00 gift certificate. We finally used that gift certificate on Friday for take out. Ugh. The rice is horrid...not sure what they put in it, but it is a sticky conglomeration. The chow mein was flavorless. The sweet and sour pork was chunks of pork roast thrown into a sauce. No deep fried pork. Just tough old pork roast. Won't be back.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Judy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vernon, Canada
Level Contributor
193 reviews
127 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Not great but some of the best in Vernon”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2012

We went for dinner there on Saturday. The dinning room is cosy and pleasant. The serving staff is fast and friendly. We picked the dinners for one 1 and 2 and had an order of fried won-tons, and 2 egg rolls. The food was hot, tasted good and the portions were fairly large. We ordered a half litre of Mission hill red, their house wine which was excellent. The food came hot to the table which is always a plus in my books. I hate look warm food any time.
The dinner with the 2 side dishes, the wine, green tea came to $65.00 for 2 which included a generous tip. Excellent value for the money. We will go back there in the future and I would not hesitate in recommending the Golden Crown in Vernon.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank swissboy43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed New Golden Crown Restaurant also viewed

Vernon, Okanagan Valley
Vernon, Okanagan Valley
 
Vernon, Okanagan Valley
Vernon, Okanagan Valley
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing