We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Can't wait to go back”

Friesen's Countrytyme Gardens
Ranked #26 of 214 Restaurants in Vernon
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Okanagan
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Can't wait to go back”
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Accidentally stumbled across this place...and glad we did! The food was good, the people who work there are very friendly. The only downside is that it is VERY busy, so if you go in just to buy something from the bakery area you have to wait in line with the people who are also ordering their meals, can make for a little wait...but worth it!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank JetGibson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    24
    5
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vernon, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
101 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“a charming place”
Reviewed September 3, 2012

a must do for tourists. It's very charming, with lots of homemade goodies, a nice outdoor area, and food for purchase, delicious cinnamon buns, to die for!

Helpful?
1 Thank Shannon Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vernon, Canada
Level Contributor
203 reviews
152 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Only been once but will go back soon!”
Reviewed August 9, 2012

We were looking for a Sunday brunch and a pub with limited seletion recommended this place. It is a hidden gem, that I don't want too many others to find out about but I do have to give my opinion! Yes it is out of the way and a little market/house type atmosphere...but home cooking like you will get no where else! We had the brunch but next time I would just order off the menu for either breakfast or lunch...so much I want to try.

Yes as others said the brunch had the uaual pancakes, made to order eggs etc...but the fail to say that most of this is homemade. Even the bread for the toast ! And I dare anyone to try the whip cream for the pancakes and not say it is the best ever! Homemade too. A few fresh dairy cattle right out their back door! The fruit sauce was very fresh too...I assume made from local or their own produce.

And lots of homemade items in the store to buy and take home such as Shepards Pie, Lasagna, jams etc.etc. Kind of a counter where your orer and pay...then the food and drinks are brought out to you. By the way...at least the glass of orange juice was huge, many places serve very little glasses for juice.

This place should be in the top 5 for eats in Vernon/coldstream.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Sandy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canada
Level Contributor
95 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Great brunch”
Reviewed June 18, 2012

Never a disappointment. Lovery, plentiful assortment of brunch items (french toast, pancakes, perogies/sausage, bacon, gilled potatoes, fresh fruit and eggs made-to-order. We were more then satisfied. Staff is cheerful and helpful.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank whatsinaname50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Country, Canada
Level Contributor
122 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“A country market and diner combined...”
Reviewed September 10, 2010

A country market and diner combined. Totally agree with the previous review, awesome perogies - yum! They even sell them frozen in the market section to take home. Tons of other homemade canned itesm avaailable. They also serve brunch on weekends in the summer. Looking forward to go back to try some of the other menu items. Oh, if you're squeezed for time they warn it can take up to 45 minutes for food when they're full, so leave yourself time to relax and enjoy.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank strattc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Friesen's Countrytyme Gardens also viewed

Vernon, Okanagan Valley
Vernon, Okanagan Valley
 
Vernon, Okanagan Valley
Vernon, Okanagan Valley
 

Been to Friesen's Countrytyme Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing