We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to meet up with friends”

Earls Kitchen + Bar
Ranked #96 of 214 Restaurants in Vernon
Cuisines: Bar, Canadian, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Vernon, Canada
1 review
“Great place to meet up with friends”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

Great place to meet up for drinks in the lounge. Love the drink menu. There signature caesars are amazing. Had great service and food too.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jade E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    39
    16
    20
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vernon, Canada
Level Contributor
64 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Lacklustre”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

Earls used to be am amazing place, but now? Well, it's still popular. It's so hard to get a table that one might, as I was, get squeezed in one day at the kitchen door, with a great view of the staff not getting along at all in the kitchen, and another day in this weird cubby hole with room for tables and people but no waitress, so she had to hand the plates and the pepper grinder over from a different area, over my head. This is not exactly classy, really. What were they thinking? I don't know. New decor (with a glitch, as I mentioned), wonderfully charming and beautiful waitresses in skimpy wispy dresses (it doesn't make the food taste better, though), and a, um, it hurts me to say it, boring menu. The specials rarely change. The regular items rarely change. And little of it has zing. The Caesar Salad? That's a test of any chef, because it's such a non-event, usually... and this is so. Give it a pass. But beware. There are only 2 salads on the menu. The same 2. Always. My favourite is the prawn pesto pizza, because little else entices... it varies a lot, depending on the chef. Ask for extra lemon. Earls has a successful formula, but once the glitz is gone, the food no longer sings, and it did once, and I miss it. In Vernon, go to the Phoenix, or treat yourself and go to the Crush, where they love food. Earls, that most charming Earls with electric salads and an always-new menu, has become a hockey pub. A fancy one, but a hockey pub nonetheless. It hurts to say it, but there it is.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Senklip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“CRAPPY SERVICE!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2013

Came to Earls for lunch. Place was almost empty. Waited for 10 minutes for the waitress to even acknowledge we were waiting for water! Food was good but hope you're not in a hurry!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Downy67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vernon, Canada
Level Contributor
80 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Not a Friendly Place”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

I have gone to Earls for years. I used to love it there and really enjoy the food. This batch of waitresses have no charisma. They were not even pleasant. The food was good but the service was disappointing. Our waitress did not smile and neither did the other waitresses. What an uncomfortable evening. Not worth the time as there are many other places with better food and better service.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank relaxinvernon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lac La Hache, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“What more can be said, it's Earl's!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

We've been patronizing Earl's restaurants for many years, never had a bad meal. My wife, son and I ate at Earl's on New Year's Eve, asked for a reservation but unfortunately they only let out so many, long gone, understandable. Our meals and service were exceptional, everything we anticipated! We will no doubt returning very soon and would encourage everyone to go, you won't be disappointed.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank teeoff22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Earls Kitchen + Bar also viewed

Vernon, Okanagan Valley
Vernon, Okanagan Valley
 

Been to Earls Kitchen + Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing