We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely perfect”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Vernon
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Castle on the Mountain
Ranked #3 of 17 Vernon B&B and Inns
Reviewed March 26, 2009

I always prefer staying in B&B's to hotels and saw this as a reasonably priced alternative to the condos at Silverstar so I thought we'd give it a try.

We weren't disappointed. Everything was just as it was described on the website, Ray and Liz made every effort to accommodate us and just as they advertise, if you fill up on the fabulous breakfast you won't need more than a snack after a morning of snowboarding.

It is a 10 minute drive down the hill from the ski resort, so there's no walking down at the end of the day, but that's about the only issue we had, and it's pretty clear about that on their website.

We'll definitely be back, perhaps in the summer as well.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheMacd0nalds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (88)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

73 - 79 of 88 reviews

Reviewed March 24, 2009

This young Brit couple have created a spotless haven for winter skiers (check for local tips on discounted lift tickets!) and summer tourists. The views are as big as the English breakfasts. Oh and the guest hot tub is a divine way to end an active day. A definite ten! AR - A picky Vancouver Travelwriter!

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RENTAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2009

This was our first stay at the Castle on the Mountain, it certainly wont be our last. Everything throughout our stay was perfect. Our rooms, recently refurbished, Ray & Liz our superb hosts, the exceptional views and a brilliant location. What more could you wish for. We will certainly be booking again soon.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ElsbethGermany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2009

Having never stayed in a B&B before I was a little nervous about feeling like I was staying overnight in someone's house. However, the opposite couldn't be more true of this location: it felt like we had rented a suite with amazing views, great location, outdoor hot tub, and the best service you could ask for. The breakfast was terrific, and the hosts Ray and Liz are superb hosts. We couldn't have asked for a better stay.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank JGiesbre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2009

We were recommended COTM by a friend and it proved to be superb. We will be coming back in the summer to see how the view looks then. Ray and Liz were superb Hosts, nothing was too much trouble for them and they are certainly putting their own stamp on COTM. I would recommend this accommodation to anyone.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DIBFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2008

Though only spent a night at this magnificient B&B but it was like castle in heaven as compared to the many heritage B&B we stayed the past week travelling through the Canadian Rockies. Our party of 5 were much impressed by the cleanliness and excellent beddings (if am not mistaken - Egyptian Cotton??) and very English breakfast (what else to expect from the excellent English host and hostess Ryan & Liz.. We have stayed in countless B&Bs all over the world, the Castle on the Mountain is one of the best

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank grandmaSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2008

My husband, myself and our nine month old son stayed at COTM for three nights. It took us awhile to find a B&B that was not 'adult oriented' that we could stay in with our son. Not only did COTM accomodate us but Ray and Liz found a playpen for our son to sleep in. This saved us from buying one and having to set it up when we got there which was appreciated after a nine hour car/ferry trip to get to Vernon. We were able to check in in the evening with no problems.

The main area where we stayed had just been extensively renovated and updated and is beautiful. We were in the Valley Vista room which lived up to its name. Our room didn't have an ensuite but we had our own bathroom across the hall. The amazing view made up for the very short commute to the bathroom. Housecoats and a blow dryer are available.

We took advantage of the hot tub that overlooks the valley. There is also a fridge to store snacks or drinks. The breakfast was amazing - so much good food! After the third day though we were ready for a change of menu so it was good that that was our last meal. The only criticism is that the coffee was weak and tasteless and let the meal down a bit.

We found the room rate around the same as most of the hotels/motels we would have stayed at in town and the breakfast was included so it was good value overall. It was nice to be able to put our son to bed and then go into the hot tub or watch some tv and have a drink in the common area in the evening. We would definately stay at COTM again.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marleygirl5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vernon hotels
6 mi away
Vernon Lodge and Conference Centre
6.8 mi away
Turtle Mountain Inn
Turtle Mountain Inn
#2 of 17 in Vernon
26 reviews
5.3 mi away
Richmond House B&B
Richmond House B&B
#1 of 17 in Vernon
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 mi away
OKeefe's Landing B&B
OKeefe's Landing B&B
#4 of 17 in Vernon
29 reviews
1.1 mi away
Silver Star Bed & Breakfast
13.2 mi away
Sparkling Hill Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle on the Mountain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle on the Mountain

Address: 8227 Silver Star Rd, Vernon, British Columbia V1B 3M8, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Okanagan Valley > Vernon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Vernon
Price Range: $110 - $255 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury accommodations just minutes Silver Star resort, Sovereign Lake and downtown Vernon BC. Guests can choose from Private Cottage, Apartments, Honeymoon Suite and 4.5 Star B&B Guestrooms.Easy access to nearby Lakes and Golf courses. Long term rentals welcome. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing