We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another fantastic visit” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Castle on the Mountain

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Vernon
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Castle on the Mountain
Ranked #2 of 18 Vernon B&B and Inns
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Another fantastic visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014

I stayed at the castle for a 5 day break and once again the hospitality was second to none,

Ray and Liz are fantastic hosts and really go out of there way to make you feel at home and the morning breakfast is just amazing,

This is my 6th visit to the castle and i would never think of staying anywhere else in Vernon as this place is just so beautiful and peaceful but also within easy reach of silver star ski resort and also downtown Vernon so ideal for everyone,

If you are visiting the area then you just have to stay at the castle, its not to be missed.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sapperguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
20
45
6
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Vernon, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I found the Castle on the Mountain on the internet. What a great find! We stayed here from September to November 2013 at the Castle's Allure Apartment in a self catering unit. Our hosts Ray and Liz were marvelous. The unit was very functional with a thoughtful quality of care to it. There was everything we needed from a comfortable bed to the kitchen facilities including a washer and dryer. Our host told us about the Vernon Outdoors Club so we promptly joined and had lots of opportunities to go hiking with the Club. After our hikes, we could relax back at our apartment and use the hot tub. The view from the Mountain out our window was beautiful over looking the City of Vernon, the mountains and Kalamalka and Okanagan Lakes. I would highly recommend staying here and would certainly stay at Castle on the Mountain again.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank cvkiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vernon, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013

We live in Vernon and every one in a while feel the need to get away from the daily routine. Castle on the Mountain is our go to destination for a wonderful staycation. The location is great - a short drive into town but tucked away in the hills so it feels removed and the view of both Kalamalka Lake and Okanagan Lake is stunning. We have stayed in both the cottage and the main house and both are lovely. The hosts are originally from the UK and the breakfast is, in typical English fashion, fabulous. This is a great place for locals or anyone wanting a taste of Okanagan living!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Patti F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013

just a short break of three days however it wont be my last, the hosts made me feel so welcome and the views are to die for, cant recommend Castle The Mountain highly enough, i cant wait to return.
The daily breakfast was superb and set me up perfectly , i went for a couple of walks and the surrounding countryside is just beautiful,its so peacful and relaxing whats not to enjoy .
Ray ans Liz are the perfect hosts thanks for a great time guys.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Simon A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Level Contributor
55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

Your hosts make you feel so welcome . From the moment you step into the property you can just relax and take in the wonderful views of the Okanagan Valley. Breakfast is exceptional and we just lingered longer each day enjoying home cooking and great new friends. A very quiet spot with lovely surroundings and homeliness.

Room Tip: A variety of rooms to suit every type of traveller so just chat with your host who will give you gre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank karinr613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I stayed in the spacious apartment suite in the main house with our own private entrance we had a great time.
During the day my wife and i would leave to tour the wineries close to vernon and some close to kelowna
just a short drive down the the highway,we managed to visit 9 wineries in the 3 days we stayed there,it was so nice to come back to the apartment suite at night,we would just sit outside and relax having a glass or two of wine from one of the bottles we had purchased during the tours that day,we really enjoyed Gray Monk winery and of course Mission Hill winery was great.
We also enjoyed some of the smaller ones arrowleaf and ex nilhilo,volcanic hills were all great the the people were even better
We would not hesitate to go back there again
A toast to our great hosts
Thanks Mike and Monique Collins

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon
Level Contributor
28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2012

My wife and I have just returned from a five day break at Castle on the Mountain, we stayed in the Gate House Cottage and it was wonderful. The Cottage has everything you need and proved to be the perfect base for our trips out to the wonderful Okanagan Valley. I can't fault the Cottage or the welcome we received from Ray & Liz. I would recomend Castle on the Mountain to anyone.

Room Tip: The Gate House has a Blu Ray player so we took some movies with us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PetraMarsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vernon hotels
13.3 mi away
Sparkling Hill Resort
5.2 mi away
Village Green Hotel
Village Green Hotel
#7 of 20 in Vernon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
5.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Pacific Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
The Castle at Swan Lake
5.9 mi away
Panorama View Bed and Breakfast
1.1 mi away
Silver Star Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle on the Mountain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle on the Mountain

Property: Castle on the Mountain
Address: 8227 Silver Star Rd, Vernon, British Columbia V1B 3M8, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Okanagan Valley > Vernon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Vernon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury accommodations close to Silver Star resort and downtown Vernon BC. Guests can choose from Private Cottage, Apartments, Honeymoon Suite and 4.5 Star B&B Guestrooms. Great Mountain, Lake and City views. Long term rentals welcome. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing