We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very old, very tired” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Village Green Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Village Green Hotel
Ranked #7 of 20 Hotels in Vernon
Certificate of Excellence
Alberta
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Very old, very tired”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2010

Stayed here for a wedding. Our mattresses must have been from 30 years ago - soft, lumpy, terrible sleep. Check in was painful, the fellow was clueless.. Rooms are a good size but horribly outdated. During the week, there is a good breakfast deal and the daily specials in the evening are also good but service is hit or miss, depending on your server. Excellent in the evening but bit of a bi*ch in the morning. Only advantages - cheap rate for the wedding and there is a Starbucks right across the street in the mall. And full of young hockey players, most of whom were polite.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank redhead44Alberta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villagegreenhotel, General Manager at Village Green Hotel, responded to this review, April 12, 2010
While we try to make every stay for our guests a positive one, we cannot do our job to your satisfaction when you don't mention our perceived shortcomings while you are in-house. It is only when we understand where we lack that we can adequately address the issues at hand.

Unfortunately anonymous reviews being subjective, give an overall impression that may, in fact, not be true. While you were staying with us we were in the midst of a million dollar upgrade, already having installed a new elevator, new bathrooms throughout, and with more updates to come, thus addressing our "tired" image. Any complaint of unsatisfactory service etc. would likely have netted a rate reduction or complimentary stay with profuse apologies. Keep in mind, our room rate is spectacular to begin with. All we needed to know was that there was a problem.

Unfortunately, I cannot make right an anonymous complaint, nor can I adequately correct the problem since I don't even know what room you stayed in.

With apologies,

Robert Glattfelder
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    106
    53
    13
    5
See reviews for
68
78
19
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
vancouver
Level Contributor
44 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2009

Completly disgusting. Heed the warning of the decay in the building. Seriously, when I first pulled in I was mortified at the condition of the exterior. I then went to the front desk which was actually not too bad, nor were the front desk staff(I decided to still check-in as I did have a reservation. Thats where "not too bad ended". The interior, halls and room were a disaster. The smell in the room was horrid as was the general makeup. There is no casino ( not that I really cared) and what I saw on the internet of the coutyard pool was a laugh. We had dinner with a friend who lives in Vernon and when we told him where we were staying he shivered. Hopefully I can save whoever is reading this from a very memorable night....( not a good one). The worst hotel I have EVER stayed in.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sosehaku
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villagegreenhotel, General Manager at Village Green Hotel, responded to this review, March 18, 2010
I fail to understand why you would wait 2 full months to complain about your stay in July, and then use an anonymous forum to do so?

I'm not sure why you would use unecessary, imflamatory language to characterize the condition of our hotel. The hotel may be dated, but to characterize it as decaying is not accurate in the least! Quite frankly our rates reflect this fact. We have the best hotel rates in the region!

Unfortuantely there are times when previous and/or current guests engage in activities that can compromise our usual high standards for care. Had you made mention of any of your concerns re: smell or any other discomfiture to any of our hotel staff, we would have gladly upgraded your stay to better accommodate your expectations.

Having said that, I fail to understand how the hotel with the number 1 liquor store in Vernon, arguably the best Sports Bar in Vernon, and some of the best food served in this City can be characterized by a resident friend of yours as "shivering" when our hotel is mentioned. I dare say you would have a difficult time to find better in this city.

Had you mentioned any of your concerns to my front desk staff, we would have bent over backwards to accommodate you.........because that is what we do. Our customers are our #1 concern. In fact we likely would have comped your stay if it was as bad as you suggest!

Sincerely,

Robert Glattfelder
General Manager
Village Green Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2009

Myself, my husband and our two boys 6 & 3 travelled to Vernon for two nights. The first night we booked into the Holiday Inn but they were fully booked for the second night. We thought we would try the Village Green. I've been by many times in my travels to Vernon but never thought to stop in. After checking out the reviews on this site I was surprised it was rated #4 just because of the outer appearance of the hotel. I booked with a fully open mind and I should have stayed somewhere else.
The hotel lobby is nicely renovated and might fool you into thinking you're in a quality hotel. The check in went smoothly. The minute I got into the elevator I was hit by the smell of cigarette smoke. We travelled tot the VERY outdated third floor. We got a "mountain view" room that only has a view of the huge pine tree outside the window and the glow from the Petro Can sign across the street. I was still open minded though. The room was decent size. We headed down to the pool which was the jewel of the stay. Nice pool and hot tub. Turned in for the night. Bed was comfy but the noise from the street very loud.
Went to have a shower the next morning to find a several short curly hairs (not ours) stuck to the walls and in the soap dish. My mind is closing now.
We went to the 27th Street Grille for breakfast. Incredibly overpriced for what you get. $11 for eggs benny! My husband had the breakfast buffet which was decent for $12. Ordered the kids meals and received pancakes that were still raw inside.
Checked out and must say we all agreed not to return again.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chichikoko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VANCOUVER, BC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2009

Thirty years ago, this was one of "the" places to stay so I thought I'd give it a try. The hotel was average and the was certainly in a price rage that was reasonable. As a heads-up - the Casino has moved about 3-blocks away to a larger space.

The entrance to the hotel does not have automatic doors and can be a bit challenging to negotiate with luggage or for someone who's physically challenged. The lobby is large but austere and so much more could be done with this space. The name "Village Green" seems to originate from it's treed courtyard which could decorated with exterior lighting to enhance it as the focal point it was undoubtedly intended to be.

The service at the front desk was very good and the staff were both friendly and efficient.

As hotels in Vernon go, there's not a lot of choices and this one is somewhat challenged by it's dated interior. There is a faint (but noticeable) old-tobacco smell in the air (read that as likely emanating from the walls and carpets) and fresh paint & new carpets would go along way to help resolve this.The ceilings in the hallway are noteably lower than normal with thick-stucco texturing (way cool in the 70's but now - not so much). The rooms also seem to be a bit "yester-year" with fixtures in need of remodelling. The bed was HARD and a bit challenging to sleep on and the water pipes were quite "audible". The water pressure in the shower seemed to fluctuate as did the temperature.

On a bright note, the hotel's restaurant and sports bar were both excellent! I was told that there are plans by the owner to renovate and if they do the same for the rooms as they've done for the restaurant & bar then I would happily return to this hotel.

So, if you're on a modest budget, don't mind a harder bed then this may be the hotel for you!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank COLONEL_GLEN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2009

I stayed in room 621 on June 19 and 20th. The rooms were clean and large. Wifi was free. Microwave and fridge in the room. Air conditioning was good, but was noisy in my friend's room (623). Friendly staff.The restaurant was slow and pokey and the breakfast was so-so. I paid $118, tax included, for an upgraded room. I have no complaints at all. The casino, however is no long adjacent to the hotel. It moved to a new building about 3 blocks away.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RonfromRegina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Airdrie, Canada
Level Contributor
214 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2008

We spent one night at the Village Green Hotel in August 2008. We got what they call the “apartment suite.” It had a separate bedroom that was very large with a queen sized bed, dressers, a closet and patio. You had to go through the bedroom to get to the bathroom. It had a good sized living room with two couches& another balcony. There was a t.v. in the bedroom and also one in the living room. There was a small kitchen with a small fridge, microwave and utensils. The pool was really nice , it was about 8 ft. deep at the one end. There was also a really hot hot-tub and a sauna. The pool area was kept very clean. Actually, everything was very clean and comfortable throughout the whole hotel. There is also a casino in the hotel & a restaurant which had really good food. Overall the experience there was really good.

  • Liked — It was close to the waterslides, and had a casino and restaurant on site
  • Disliked — There was no elevator to the 2nd floor, only stairs
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Moscato-Mama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villagegreenhotel, General Manager at Village Green Hotel, responded to this review, December 29, 2011
General Manager's note:

The pictures in this review were submitted long before the Village Green Hotel has undergone extensive renovations. These pictures do not reflect the Village Green Hotel's property accuarately. Please click on our website link for current hotel images.

Thank you

Robert Glattfelder
Village Green Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
red deer
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2008

We stayed in this hotel for my moms 50th birthday. The rooms were huge! My mom had a suite and we also had the 2 rooms next to hers and there were doors adjoining all the rooms.
All the rooms we had, had balconys.
The rooms were very clean,
Customer service was great. We had no problems
There is a casino and a sports bar attached to the hotel.
The casino was very nice.
The sports pub had good live music.

  • Liked — The big rooms and the balconys
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jolene138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vernon hotels
0.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Vernon
0.5 mi away
Prestige Hotel Vernon
Prestige Hotel Vernon
#6 of 20 in Vernon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
0.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Pacific Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Vernon Lodge and Conference Centre
0.1 mi away
Days Inn Vernon
Days Inn Vernon
#9 of 20 in Vernon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Vernon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Village Green Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village Green Hotel

Property: Village Green Hotel
Address: 4801 27 St, Vernon, British Columbia V1T 4Z1, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Okanagan Valley > Vernon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 20 Hotels in Vernon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Village Green Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Village Green Hotel is a full service located at the north end of Vernon, nestled in the heart of B.C.'s recreational paradise, the North Okanagan. With 127 guest rooms, family style restaurant, lively pub, indoor pool, hot tub, sauna, fitness room and liquor store, we are one of the area's largest hotels. In spring, summer and autumn, golf at one of the area's many challenging and scenic golf courses or just relax at one of Vernon's sandy beaches. In the winter enjoy superb skiing at Silver Star Mountain or Big White Resort, both only a short drive from the comfort of our hotel. Centrally located, we are close to shopping, dining, and many local tourist attractions. Kelowna International Airport is a scenic 35 minute drive from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Village Green Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing