We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So cozy”
Review of Richmond House B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Richmond House B&B
Ranked #4 of 18 Vernon B&B and Inns
Vancouver, BC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“So cozy”
Reviewed May 13, 2013

Loved this B&B - my boyfriend and I stayed in the Rossetti room, super comfortable bed and well appointed bathroom. Great value; the breakfasts are amazing and worth the price of the stay alone. I will be back when I travel to Vernon for work as I am looking forward to trying all of Kathy's breakfasts! Hosts Kathy and Dinham are lovely and we especially enjoyed Kathy's suggestion to see the waterfall at Fintry. It was incredible!!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wanda_Vancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathy D, Owner at Richmond House B&B, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
Glad you enjoyed the incredible Fintry Falls. Despite the clouds and threatening rain it was a good day at Fintry! We enjoyed hosting you both and we will do our best to tantalize your tastebuds with another of our breakfasts on your next visit to Richmond House. K&D
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    10
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
5
32
2
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Qualicum Beach BC
Level Contributor
150 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2013

We arrived late afternoon to a warm welcome from Kathy & Dinham. We were shown the upstairs guest sitting room where there were coffee and tea making facilities available. We were in Vernon for a family birthday celebration and booked two rooms with other family members. We found the house very central and convenient. We noticed a bit of traffic noise upon arrival, but had a lovely, restful and quiet sleep during the night despite the fact our room faced the street. No hint of traffic at night. We asked the hosts for tips on where to go for a nice long walk, and received a couple of great suggestions.

We really enjoyed our stay and would definitely return.

Good value, very comfortable bed, lots of towels, good shower - everything we could possibly want.

Breakfast was delicious and plentiful so we were well set up until dinner time!

Highly recommend

Room Tip: We were very happy with Tennyson Room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Westerham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathy D, Owner at Richmond House B&B, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Thank you for such a lovely review. We enjoyed meeting and hosting you all and are glad we were able to provide you with a home away from home during your family celebrations. Perhaps our paths will cross again some day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2012

We were in Vernon for a wedding and chose Richmond House as our home away from home. Our room was well equipped and comfortable. At first we thought our room may be noisy as cars raced by on the road but it calmed down and we heard nothing through the night. The ensuite bath was a little bit of a surprise, being essentially in the room, however in an historical house it was a unique way to give each room all the essentials. The water was hot, the towels were soft and there were lots of them. Kathy did a lovely job with our breakfasts. Several courses and delicious mains meant we only needed one other meal each day. After tasting the delicious fresh juice, we had to visit the Davison Orchards. Dinham was a gracious server and kept our coffee cups full. We were especially grateful to Kathy and Dinham for allowing us to have a late checkout that allowed us to view all the Vernon murals the morning of the wedding and then come back to shower and dress.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank imutual
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathy D, Owner at Richmond House B&B, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
Thank you so much for those kind words! Dinham.......gracious...???? He's tickled pink! Glad you enjoyed your stay and perhaps we will have the honour of hosting you again one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2012

My daughter and I stayed at Richmond House for nearly a week and it was, in every possible way, a wonderful experience. The breakfasts are truly inspired, a delight for the eyes and even better to taste. The hosts go out of their way to make you feel at home and the rooms are comfortable, spotless and luxurious. I'm gong back whenever I can!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank djakobsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland
Level Contributor
42 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2011

A very comfortable stay here. Nice room with good bed, en suite and a small room where we were able to relax and eat a small meal. Breakfast was superb to the highest standard and the hosts Kathy and Dinham were so helpful with providing directions on our departure.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank telmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2011

We stayed here for 2 nights and totally enjoyed it - built in 1894 and well kept up and renovated over the years it was an enlightening experience - LOVED it ....the hosts were VERY accommodating (even though we arrived late )they went out of their way to welcome us and were MOST friendly - absolutely recommend to folks who appreciate history and the way it used to be like BUT with modern amenities - we were supplied with ALL we could want and had a delicious AND beautiful home cooked breakfast each morning. Aside from our wonderful hosts ...the history AND breakfast were something to remember. Our dog was welcomed and spoiled here .... he wants to go back....yep.....the duckie in the tub ....made us smile. Thank You BOTH for the memories and friendship.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheWs_58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
784 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 373 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2011

We stayed here for only one night sadly, we would have liked to stay longer. the hosts are so friendly and welcoming. The accommodation is so clean and tidy and really better than most hotels. Plush carpets, a comfy bed, fluffy towels and toiletries supplied too. Even a rubber duck for the huge bath. The quaint guest lounge caters for all, with a variety of drinks and books, games and videos to assist with a relaxing night in. The rooms have good air conditioning too. We stayed in the Tennyson room but we viewed the other rooms and all were of the same standard. Now on to the breakfast, WOW WOW. it is more like a dinner, it will certainly fillyou up for the whole day. So well presented and all home cooked, amazing.....

We cannot recommend this place high enough, book it you will not be disappointed. There is a small town nearby with lovely murals on the side of the buildings. The local eateries close early but dennys is open 24 hours and they serve really good meals.

Room Tip: all rooms are good. The cheapest room has a smaller bath but it is adequate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank streakey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vernon hotels
0.8 mi away
Vernon Lodge and Conference Centre
1.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Vernon
0.9 mi away
Village Green Hotel
Village Green Hotel
#8 of 20 in Vernon
261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Prestige Hotel Vernon
Prestige Hotel Vernon
#3 of 20 in Vernon
247 reviews
1.8 mi away
Turtle Mountain Inn
Turtle Mountain Inn
#3 of 18 in Vernon
22 reviews
4.3 mi away
The Castle at Swan Lake
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Richmond House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Richmond House B&B

Property: Richmond House B&B
Address: 4008 Pleasant Valley Rd, Vernon, British Columbia V1T 4M2, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Okanagan Valley > Vernon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Vernon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Richmond House B&B 2*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Richmond House is one of Vernon's original homes. Built in 1894, it has been lovingly restored to its Victorian beauty and unique charm. Antique furnishings, queen beds; private bathroom and en-suites; clawfoot bathtubs; cable TV in rooms; air conditioning; guest lounge with TV, fridge. Full gourmet breakfasts, WiFi. The B&B is within the city limits and an easy walk to downtown. Adult oriented. Non-smoking facility. The owners respect your privacy and will provide you with any possible information at your request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Richmond House B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Richmond Hotel Vernon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing