We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great except for the grumpy manager”
Review of Los Huesos

Los Huesos
Ranked #14 of 217 Restaurants in Vernon
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Vernon, Canada
1 review
“Great except for the grumpy manager”
Reviewed March 3, 2013

Great little place. Authentic food, live music, great food. If only the could get rid of their grumpy manager. Rude on welcoming - he charged my 6 year old $12 for cheesy chips (full nacho price). If he could stay at home the experience would have been great. Unfortunately there is a grumpy man walking throughout the business.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank m j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    28
    13
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Clueless server, food okay”
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Picked this restaurant on a driveby because it looked interesting. When we went in were 'greeted' tentatively. When told we were a party of 5, it took the server a moment to figure out he needed to put a couple tables together. I suppressed the thought of turning around right then. I should really listen to my gut. Where to start? He had a hard time taking our order, didn't bring water until the food came, didn't seem to be paying attention whether the food was ready (25 minutes after ordering for lunch), didn't bring more chips when its taking so long, when I asked for more water he brought a glass for only me and didn't ask anyone else at the table, took forever to clear other tables (our dirty dish from the chips stayed on the table until we left), didn't have the bill ready. The place wasn't busy. Instead of paying attention to the diners he was fiddling around with other things. It's been quite a while since I have seen an adult that is so useless. Fortunately, once we got the food it tasted pretty good. There is a small stage at the back. It may be a fun place for drinks when there is a band.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank The_Cowtowners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“We're still sick after two days,”
Reviewed December 30, 2012

Mediocre food with crappy atmosphere and a real putz for a server. It looks run down and grubby with no atmosphere.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mott12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Don't go there”
Reviewed December 30, 2012

When food comes out really quickly you know its been reheated, and then you taste it and sure enough you can taste it. Reheated food from the microwave. I ordered a salad with reheated meat on top. Gross. Decor is nice, great location. The Bar area is too large. Service could be better. Chips and salsa are cheap, yet you hardly get any.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Sallyfoodcritic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great value, fresh ingredients!”
Reviewed October 7, 2012

We've eaten here several times and never been disappointed. Their service is excellent, food is tasty, and the mango margeritas are to die for! During busier months, live music will keep you entertained!!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank VernoniteCanuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Los Huesos also viewed

Vernon, Okanagan Valley
Vernon, Okanagan Valley
 
Vernon, Okanagan Valley
Vernon, Okanagan Valley
 
Vernon, Okanagan Valley
 

Been to Los Huesos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing