We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food but terrible service” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Italian Kitchen

Italian Kitchen
Ranked #39 of 212 Restaurants in Vernon
Price range: $7 - $21
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: We are a well established Italian restaurant that has been in operation for the last 21 years. We focus on local wines but have a nice selection of new and old world wines as well. The atmosphere is casual upbeat and friendly.
Kelowna
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good food but terrible service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013

Stayed in Vernon for a couple of nights and had the Italian Kitchen recommended to us. Nice setting and food was good- especially the tomato and artichoke salad- but our waitress was horrible. She looked completely uninterested in being there and I had to ask the lovely girl who was topping up our water to get someone to come and take our order for appetizers. When we were paying, the other couple and myself had discussed the tip and were not going to give 15% due to the service but still wanted to leave something due to the quality of the food. However, the waitress hovered right over the shoulder and watched what we were typing in (I watched her do it as the other person paid- she was not even subtle about it). Very uncomfortable and rude. Won't be going back as there are other good Italian restaurants in Vernon!!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BKelowna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    50
    20
    19
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Abbotsford BC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere, Delicious Food but limited menu and poor value”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013

We made a reservation to celebrate a birthday.
Menu is limited, but the atmosphere was comfortable, and service was very good.
No bread while waiting for appetizer... What Italian Restaurant doesn't service crusty bread with balsamic vinegar and olive oil for dipping??? You could order bread, but it was an extra cost.
We can highly recommend the warm seafood salad as an appetizer. It was a large portion and even though it was a black bean warm sauce which we thought was different for an Italian dish, it was very tasty with the seafood and roasted vegetables, greens were excellent.
I had the pesto, which tasted good, but it was $17.95 for what I consider a small portion based on other Italian Restaurants. My husband had the Chicken Cacciatore. Tasty, but the bones needed to be removed as you ate. Would have been nice it the bones had been removed. Again value was not comparable to other Italian Restaurants.
We ordered Tiramisu for desert. I have to say that this was not Tiramisu but cake. I don't think there were any lady fingers in it and it lacked the coffee taste. Tiramisu was very disappointing, so we won't be ordering this again.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MLZINK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williams Lake, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
61 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Good food; service a bit disinterested.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013

Passing through Vernon & walked in off the street for a quick lunch before browsing The Book Nook a few doors down (one of the best used book stores in the Interior!) and were pleasantly surprised by the excellence of the food. We ordered several pasta dishes & salad; fresh, nicely prepared & very tasty.

Service was a bit lackadaisical, but reasonably prompt & helpful. We were in & out in under an hour, which was good because we were rather on the move that day.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 373Barb123373
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
135 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Great Find”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

My wife and I recently stumbled upon the Italian Kitchen in Vernon BC.
What a pleasant surprise. The food was great, as was the service and the atmosphere.
The menu prices are very reasonable and the wine selection was quite good.
We are pleased to recommend this restaurant and we will certainly be back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ridelikeyoustoleit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vernon, Canada
Level Contributor
64 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Confused in the Kitchen”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

"Italian kitchen" does not mean "Italian food". They have that. They also have weird fusion things that don't really jive. We went for appetizers. The artichokes were exquisite. Go for those. Truly wonderful. The mussels were very fine, although Thai, not Italian, and the broth was a bit strong. I didn't have wine. My suggestion: have a big bold red wine to cut through that broth. The pan bread was charcoaled, if you like that blackened taste. The roasted garlic was caramelized, so how could you spread it on thinly-sliced focaccia bread? Defeated me. I found that i could chew the garlic buds like candy, though. An intriguing experience, but, no, not really the idea. The squid in an asian fusion thing with a oh-so-simple black bean sauce was just dull. The Italian food? Nice pastas. The crowds? Come early or you will be sent away. This is a heck of a popular place. If you get a seat near the front, the cooks are endlessly entertaining as they bang away with their pots and flames. They put on a pretty good show.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Senklip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Italian Kitchen also viewed

 
Vernon, Okanagan Valley
Vernon, Okanagan Valley
 

Been to Italian Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing