We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An Icon in the making”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Sparkling Hill Resort
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Vernon
Certificate of Excellence
Clinton, Canada
Level Contributor
51 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“An Icon in the making”
Reviewed August 3, 2010

We spent two nights at this resort on a couple’s package which included accommodation, breakfast, a welcoming cocktail, dinner both nights at their restaurant and two $150 vouchers for the spa. Priced at $980 this was very good value – get it while you can!
As pointed out in past TripAdvisor reports on the Sparkling Hills Resort, there is work to be done on smoothing out some of the operational aspects, but let’s not dwell on that, they will surely be put right, let’s look at the positives.
The positives include a wonderful staff who are doing a fine job , even when things do not flow as smoothly as they should; the resort is built to high quality standards with attention paid to detail; the spa is quite unique, especially the sauna and pool sections with the -110C sauna in a class of its own; the location lends itself to participation in many other interests, the views across the lake being spectacular; the bedrooms, like the rest of the facilities, are first class and judging from the two dinners we had, the resort has a very good chef overseeing the kitchen.
So, take in the overall experience and see the humour in the little things that get left undone, my wife and I enjoyed our two nights at the Sparkling Hills Resort and will plan to return.
PS I do not suppose the General Manager sees the humour in the “little things left undone” :0) – so he will no doubt continue the process of putting that right.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NormD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,757 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,005
    425
    182
    88
    57
See reviews for
158
1,076
48
87
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (732)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2010

I have to say that after reading some of the previous average reviews, I was a little bit apprehensive about what to expect, as I was booking this for our 20th Wedding Anniversary. However, right from the time we were approaching the resort, driving up the mountain, seeing the massive resort, literally on the top of the mountain, we clearly felt the anticipation of the start of an amazing journey. Walking through the front entrance, the views and the cascading crystals was breathtaking. After a warm welcome and being offered by the Valet to park our car and take our luggage, he escorted us up to an amazing room on the 3rd Floor, facing the Lake (highly recommend the Lake side). He went through all the amenities in the room, went back downstairs and took care of our car. We then went downstairs to the spa front desk and was given a complete, thorough tour of the facilities with recommendations on treatments and some history of the location, the artwork, and the owners. After getting settled in the amazing room, great king bed and linens, 2 person tub in front of floor to ceiling windows, with a sliding door that opens up completely, heated floors, walk through shower, crystal glowing fireplace, we went down for dinner in Peakfine Restaurant. We had dinner 2 nights here and both 3 course meals were absolutely delicious, 5 star dining, complements to the chef..spectacular! Also, the breakfasts were to die for.
The Robes and slippers in the room were the main dress for most of the 3 day stay. The hotel rooms section had its own elevator to access the Spa facilities, which was so nice, as it was like living in your own world, no where near the main reception and restaurant areas of the hotel. The facilities are nothing short of spectacular...Huge outdoor infinity pool that overlooks the lake and mountains and a perfect sunset. Inside, another huge infinity pool with an amazing huge hot tub. The Steam and Sauna rooms are to die for. We had never seen so many, so unique steam and sauna rooms anywhere like this. Not to mention the Serenity Room (Insane view) Tea Room (so relaxing), Gym (amazing-didnt use it...ha ha),

We signed up for the Si Si couples treatment/massage. An amazing Milk/honey infused bath followed by a 30 minute massage for two. I highly recommend it, the massage therapists did a fantastic job and made the experience very comfortable and enjoyable for me and my wife.

My wife then went for a manicure and pedicure, which again, was amazing.
The staff were kind enough to bring a bottle of champagne for us and took care of me in the tea room, and my wife in the beauty center.

The entire facility was operating to perfection and we had plenty of time to explore and experience the entire resort. On the final day, checkout was at 11am, and we were encouraged by staff to stay until 6pm and use the facilities....so we did!

At the end of our stay, the valet brought up our car, luggage already in the trunk, turned over the keys, and away we went, our journey was complete.

This was an amazing stay. We left completely relaxed, and wanting more....

We will definitely make a point to return before year end and make this a permanent get away spot at least twice a year.

Kudos, Sparkling Hill.....well done!

Bill and Prudence
Vancouver.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BillandPru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vernon, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2010

My husband and I have eaten here a couple of times since the resort opened ('Peakfine' Restaurant), and we have nothing but rave reviews. The food is original and absolutely delicious, staff were courteous and prompt, and the price for the meal was outstanding. The chef even came out to talk with us after our meal - what a wonderful surprise!
We have eaten in fabulous restaurants all over the world, and this ranks with the best of them. I absolutely recommend this restaurant, and I think with some time the resort will iron out its little kinks that people have been complaining about (it opened in May 2010). I see no reason not to go here and have the best food you will have in the Okanagan, if not even BC!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VegHead2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
Reviewed July 26, 2010

My family (parents, siblings and two young kids) planned a weekend getaway to celebrate several summer birthdays. We'll start with the positives:

- Food: we're vegetarian and often have a hard time finding great food on the road. The executive chef, Ross Dereck, did not dissapoint! He took our requests as a creative challenge and we were beyond thrilled with the results. It was as good, if not better, than the Lumiere vegetarian tasting menu! Plus he's focused on finding the best quality local and organic ingredients so we were able to have a real taste of the valley.

- Saunas: included in the price of the room is access to 7 sauna. Each was unique and stunning in design and utility. Our favorites were the colder sauna with the mint essence, the black rock and roll sauna and the salt sauna that looked like superman's north pole get-away.

- The views: our rooms were facing the lake and were stunning! Each room had a crystal shaped bathtub that was facing the water, so you could relax and bathe while watching ospreys soar over the mountains and lakes.

- Spa treatments: we all booked massages and had mixed experiences. My massage, by Melissa, was amazing, but some of my family felt a little dissapointed. We did the cold cold sauna. It was an experience to say the least. My husband lasted the full 3 mins, and I only stayed for 1.5 mins, but we both felt the lasting benefits (reduced joint pain and lots of energy) for the rest of the day

the negatives:
- Service: there wasn't a proper valet to help with our bags and the desk staff was a little distracted

- Family friendly: we were asked a couple of times to keep our kids more contained, so it's not super young kid friendly. I'd go back with just my husband, but would leave the kids at home.

- Yoga: we were told we could drop in on the yoga, but when we arrived for class early the next morning, we found that we had to book it the night before and there was no-one there.

All-in-all it was a great experience, with the positives outweighing the negatives. We left with a very good taste in our mouths.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jomar06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Deer, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2010

MY fiance & i never stayed at this resort as we had read the reviews before hand, but we did book a meal in the restaurant only to be very disapointed...the location is a blot on the landscap & it sticks out like a sore thumb..but the views are spectacular...but it feels very unfinished..for example there are no tables & chaires on the patio for you to enjoy a drink or cup of tea,while taking in the views a lot of people are just walking in to view the place & thats why there is no where to park when you are a guest ..so much for valet parking which you would expect with a resort like this
the restaurant staff were very good,the food was nice that we had,if you could find it on the plate ...i had scallops with bacon & it was 1 scallop & a very miniscule piece of bacon...so the menu should have said SCALLOP..the portions are very disapointing & the food is not 5 star,but you are paying 5 star prices
i would not recomend anyone to go there until things improve unless you like to be ripped off ..in which case fill your boots

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tracy045_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Okanagan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2010

We booked one night with spa treatments for our tenth anniversary. The first 3 hours in the pool we were thinking of all the friends and relatives who would enjoy it. Once we got to the restaurant, though, everything and I mean everything went to the dogs. The hostess forgot to write down our reservations--we actually waited 1 and1/2 hours to be served our entree. Dinner rolls were very stale. Cream and sugar for coffee were not forthcoming with coffee but were begrudgingly served only after asking two waiters. Breakfast was bad too. After booking a week in advance on a few hours notice the spa cancelled our treatment and didn't seem to think that some sort of complementary treatment could have been arranged. Come back tomorrow was what we were told. Also the feature "cold sauna" was out of service. No-one explained this, had they we might not have booked our stay. After a repeated disasters we ran down to the desk, I cancelled any tips on my bill and we got out of there as fast as we could. No-one at this hotel deserves any gratuities. Actually if they followed their own rules they should have paid us for their cancellation. We left early as soon as we could get out of there. I will never go back--and I might make it my life mission to make people aware of what a horrible experience we had.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ramlin_B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
54 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 216 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2010

I just visited the newly opened Sparkling Hill this past weekend (june 18 - 20). Although we enjoyed our time, here are a few things you should know:

By all accounts, Sparkling Hill's physical attributes are stunning - it's views, the physical building, the $10 million worth of crystals adorning the property, the spa, and some of the interior design. But, it appears the hotel may have opened too soon. The staff--although earnest and eager--haven't been trained properly in the art of delivering 5-star service. As a result, the luster of this sparkling resort quickly wears off, taking down to the level of a 2 or 3 star, which is a strange juxtaposition against the high-end elegance exuded in every part of the building and hotel's concept.

Good Things
- the $10 million worth of gorgeous crystals strewn throughout the facility, in every detail (from chandeliers, to large-scale room features, to embedded in bed-side tables)
- location, location, location
- outdoor infinity pool overlooking Lake Okanagan
- high-end pool loungers (adjust to any angle pneumatically)
- the plentiful marmots roaming the land surrounding the resort
- diamond-shaped tub-for-two overlooking Lake Okanagan
- spacious rooms
- robes and spa slippers in the room ( I love and expect this )
- included breakfast
- the deserts and some of the dinner selections (which change every night) in peak fine restaurant
- included steam rooms + experience showers
- giant, yet intimate spa facilities
- the extensive walking trails
- included wireless
- pets are allowed for $25/day, but you'll need to stay in a standard, mountain view room (which also provide nice views)

Needs Improvement
- reservation system is odd, the hotel couldn’t find my reservation when I provided the number
- when you reserve, you get a confirmation email, but no confirmation of your package details and no follow-up to book dinner or spa
- when I sent an email to reservations once I booked my getaway, I asked for two spa treatments and a dinner reservation. The spa treatments were booked, but I was told I had to call the restaurant to reserve dinner, which is something that should have been taken care of for me (and I once again requested over email they reserve for me)
- when I asked for a half-hour late check-out, it was as if the hotel had never dealt with that request
- book your spa and dinner reservation in advance
- breakfast was sub-par, I'm sure the staff put a lot of work into preparing the food, but the pastries were tasteless and dense, and the eggs chewy yet runny
- breakfast is also seat-yourself, but there's no signs to indicate this...
- don’t sleep with the windows open, mosquitoes will find your ears, ahhhh
- staff training, for a hotel part of the Prestigious Preferred Resorts & Hotels Group, staff required additional training
- no bell-hop or door person to help with bags
- no spa supervision at night (and with a facility SO big, that's weird and unsafe)
- bed sheets feel like burlap, maybe a few more washes will make them softer?
- doors are not very soundproof, so try and book a room at the end of the hall, not near elevator
- no coffee makers in rooms

A final word. I would not say that Sparkling Hill is a young family-friendly getaway spot. What I mean by this is, it's not the kinda place where you bring your 3 toddlers... I've never been bothered by kids at a resort before, but it's just not the place for young kids. Rather it's perfect for ladies getaways, couples retreats, guys Predator Ridge getaways and even family getaways (which involve people 19 and up).

I would recommend the hotel once the hotel has been open for a little longer. Overall, it was wonderful, it will just take some time to fully mature into it's beauty.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tripstyler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vernon
8.0 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Vernon
24.8 mi away
Hotel Eldorado
Hotel Eldorado
#1 of 34 in Kelowna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 488 reviews
7.3 mi away
Vernon Lodge and Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Prestige Hotel Vernon
Prestige Hotel Vernon
#5 of 20 in Vernon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
7.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Vernon
11.5 mi away
The Castle at Swan Lake
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sparkling Hill Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sparkling Hill Resort

Property: Sparkling Hill Resort
Address: 888 Sparkling Place, Vernon, British Columbia V1H 2K7, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Okanagan Valley > Vernon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Vernon
#2 Business Hotel in Vernon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sparkling Hill Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Over 3.5 million crystals infused within this modern oasis – a most remarkable hotel and wellness centre with European-inspired design elegance. Nestled in the mountains near Vernon, BC, and overlooking Lake Okanagan, your personal journey to whole body health and wellness begins at our standout among British Columbia resorts. Wellness Packages at KurSpa Sparkling Hill’s reputation as an internationally-renowned wellness center and health retreat is unparalleled. What better way to spark your journey towards a new you than our Wellness Packages, providing savings on spa and wellness treatments at KurSpa. Learn more about our Weeklong Wellness Packages. Also be sure to explore our fitness classes and meditation workshops to promote well-being in mind, body and spirit. KurSpa: A Holistic Health Spa The heart of our Lake Okanagan resort is KurSpa, our 40,000 square foot European-inspired spa, clinic, and wellness center. It is the largest spa in Canada and shines brightly as a worldwide wellness destination. Relax, renew, and revitalize at KurSpa's seven unique aromatherapy, steam, and sauna rooms. Swim in Kurspa's serenity pool featuring underwater music and a Swarovski crystal night sky. Choose from over 100 transformative spa treatments and therapies to detoxify the body and promote optimum health. Consult with our professional team including our naturopathic physician, psychiatrist, massage providers and kinesiologists and view their renowned clinic services. Enhance your relationships with the help of our SHaRP program, which can range from romantic to work relationships. Schedule yourself a mini silent retreat in our Serenity Room. Or, experience the first European Cryo Cold Chamber (-110°C) in North America, our signature KurSpa treatment. Our Luxurious British Columbia Resort Take in the stunning beauty of the Okanagan Valley from our BC resort’s luxury guest rooms and penthouses, which feature sweeping lake and mountain views and operable floor to ceiling glass window walls that can be opened to instantly transform your room into an outdoor oasis. Swarovski crystals illuminate fireplaces, fixtures and ceilings, lending a luminous and luxurious ambience to every space. Fresh Fine Dining Sparkling Hill Resort is also home to the best fine dining destinations in Vernon, BC. PeakFine, our signature restaurant, serves a menu emphasizing the freshest and finest ingredients the Okanagan Valley has to offer. Known as the "Napa of the North" the region's spectacular wines are on offer at PeakFine and Barrique & Java, our more casual wine, tapas, and coffee bar. Stunning Swarovski crystal chandeliers and accents imbue our dining spaces with glamour and elegance, and those seeking an elegantly rustic setting for private dining or special events will find it in Gernots. Discover Sparkling Hill Recognized as a trendsetter in healthy living and wellness hospitality, our Okanagan Lake resort is a distinctive destination for the modern sophisticated traveler. Whether planning a couple's escape, corporate wellness retreat, or incentive travel, our British Columbia resort delivers an unforgettable blend of relaxation, restoration, and wellness. Please explore our website; we look forward to welcoming you to Sparkling Hill Resort on your personal journey to whole body health and wellness. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, Agoda, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Sparkling Hill Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sparkling Hill Hotel Vernon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing