We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sparkling Hill Resort
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Vernon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 27, 2013

I have been here more then a handful of times ever since it first opened in 2010, and I've never been disappointed, for example half my family is vegatarian, gluten free, and lactose intolerante, they were incredibly accammadating and fulfilled there every needs for breakfast and dinner. The spas and incredible and never get old always feels a different experience every time. The staff is so beautiful and kind, room service was extremely fast and never let us down.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicky4224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SparklingHill, Manager at Sparkling Hill Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 28, 2013

Dear Nicky,

Thank you very much for providing us with your feedback regarding your most recent visit and for continuously supporting us since 2010. It is greatly appreciated! I am so pleased to hear that you enjoy your stay with us every time and have never disappointed you, this is what we strive for with each guest. We are very fortunate to have such dedicated and passionate employees that are truly committed to making every guests stay special!

Thank you so much again and we greatly look forward to your return.

Warm Regards,

Jana Gohl
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,865)
There are newer reviews for Sparkling Hill Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,145 - 1,151 of 1,865 reviews

Reviewed December 26, 2013

We booked this 3 night getaway after touring it the previous summer and the promotional rate was very attractive. Overall, out stay at Sparkling Hill did not disappoint and the staff went out of their way to cater to our needs. I think this resort is still a very well kept secret and maybe that is a good thing. If we had any criticism, it would be on two fronts: First, the dinner menu was pretty limited and not great value given the captive audience. Considering the hotel was full 2 of the 3 nights we were there, the restaurant should have been packed, so I think if they want to see that change, a complete rethink would be in order. Perhaps a European Ala Carte 3 course approach would attract more business. Throw in some good local house wine for good measure. Second criticism the "European Hour' in the Kurspa needs to be better sorted out, as the few brave souls that wish to partake are subject to disgusted stares and leers from the majority of the uptight guests that do not.

Room Tip: We had a corner suite at the end of the hall, which had a spectacular view and was very quiet.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Spaciba2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SparklingHill, Manager at Sparkling Hill Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. I am so pleased to hear that your stay did not disappoint and that the staff went out of their way to cater to your needs. We are very fortunate to have such dedicated and passionate employees that try to make every guests stay memorable and unique.

I would also like to thank you for the additional comments that you provided us. I have passed this valuable feedback onto our Food & Beverage department. The second comment is always a bit more difficult to address as we cannot control other guests’ behavior but we appreciate you bringing this to our attention.

Thank you again for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future for hopefully another 3 night getaway!

Kind Regards,

Jana Gohl
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2013

Why have everyone check in at 4:00pm?
Why have everyone check out at 11:00am?
Why have you wait for a room at 4:00pm, to tell you they will call you when ready, and they do not?
Why have a spa, if you can not use it?

We checked in before the mad rush to the 4:00pm check in, and we were the last to be dealt with, we sat patiently in lobby area to watch 2 separate line ups come and go, into the elevator past us to check in to their rooms, after asking a bell hop if our room was ready, he went away and never came back, finally after the mad rush cleared we approached the desk, she said, oh... your room is ready....? Why no call? or better yet we were sitting patiently like pets by the elevator, with our luggage!
Okay, we made it to our room, roughly 4:40pm, no mention of the chef showing us how to cook something, was included in our room rate, and so was the non existent valet parking, but... oh well!
Real nice room, great view, we will make the best of it!
Headed out to a show in Vernon, came back at around 10:10pm, to find that spa, steam room, hot tub all shut down at 10, and do not open till 9:am the next morning, so.... what do we do now, may as well go to sleep!

Who thought the noise of sheets could keep you up, too much starch???

Okay, lets try the free breakfast, that was also included, crap.....need I say more, they had enough Chefs running around, think they could make some better grub? Forget the fancy .... concentrate on the basic stuff, cause you did not get it right!

Quit trying to tell people what to do, and when to do it! Try to work with late check-ins, late check-outs, spa hours, food, service, and service, and more service!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank 999dano007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SparklingHill, Manager at Sparkling Hill Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2013

Dear Dan,

Thank you for your review. Sparkling Hill is a destination wellness hotel, we highly encourage all of our guests to stay at least 2 nights to truly experience everything that we have to offer, a week would be most ideal. It is standard for every hotel to have a check in and check out time as well as closing times for their facilities, as we do need to clean and refresh the rooms and other facilities. Of course, whenever possible we always try to accommodate an early check in and late checkout but unfortunately, this is not always possible. We do try to list all of our hours of operation, from check in time, checkout time, restaurant hours to the KurSpa hours, in as many places as possible including our website, our confirmation emails and our pre-stay confirmation email that you receive just prior to arriving. We also have all of the hours listed on our “Welcome Newsletter” that every guest receives and front desk does go over briefly at check in.

I do apologize that you were not called once your room was ready and that valet was not available to assist you immediately. This is the first time I have received any negative feedback regarding our sheets, most guests have an extremely peaceful and relaxing sleep with us.

Our complimentary breakfast receives raves from guests as it is a full breakfast and offers, easily, over 30 different options, I do believe it is unfair for you to call it “crap” but you are entitled to your opinion.

Thank you again for your review.

Kind Regards,

Jana Gohl
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2013

I stayed there only for a night with my boyfriend. Everything was great except the location! (It was very far from Vancouver, BC) But, we'd love to come back in summer for a longer stay.

Only thing we had problem was hotel bill. They charged to a wrong credit card so we called and asked to charge on the other card, they still haven't done so even though they said it'll be done in a week. I guess they don't care much about customers who already left? but other than that it's a good hotel resort and have good deals.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alexisharu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SparklingHill, Manager at Sparkling Hill Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2013

Dear Alexis,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your review of your recent visit. I am so pleased that you found everything to be great. Our location is more remote as we are a destination wellness hotel and we encourage all of our guests to stay a week to truly experience everything that we have to offer!

I am concerned to read of your hotel bill discrepancy, normally any bill discrepancies get sorted out immediately. We care for all of our guests, whether they are in-house or not and I apologize that we made you feel like we did not. I would also like to apologize for the delay of fixing your bill, if I may ask you to email (jana.gohl@sparklinghill.com) or call me directly (250-541-2174) I will correct your bill immediately.

Thank you again for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back for a longer stay.

Kind Regards,

Jana Gohl
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2013 via mobile

Went for a couple weekend to rest and relax in the spa. Our first night was over run with parties in the hall and doors slamming everywhere due to a wedding the following day. Nobody was controlling this from the front desk. I ended up leaving the following morning, changed flight and came back home. Did not even use the $300 in pre paid spa treatment. Husband had to stay due to family commitments, but I couldn't leave fast enough.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
3  Thank TimmCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SparklingHill, Manager at Sparkling Hill Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 22, 2013

Dear Mrs. Timm,

Thank you very much for your review. I am extremely concerned to read of your visit with us and that you left the following morning to go back home, this is most certainly not how we want any of our guests to feel nor the standard experience of Sparkling Hill. We have team members on 24 hours every day to deal with any noise issues (if any occur), they normally walk throughout the hotel during the night as well. I hoped to speak to your husband prior to his departure but was unable to. I would really like to discuss your recent visit with you both in more detail if I may. Please contact me directly at 250-541-2174 or jana.gohl@sparklinghill.com at your earliest convenience. I have also sent an email to the address we have on file. I hope to speak to you soon.

Kind Regards,

Jana Gohl
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2013

We stayed here again, 2 nights for our company Christmas Party. They have a new chef, love the food, and the restaurant has a fantastic new manager. The quality of service has significantly improved. They treated us royally and gave us a meeting room to have our Christmas party in.

Room Tip: Lakeside rooms are worth it.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rvisscher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SparklingHill, Manager at Sparkling Hill Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 21, 2013

Dear Mr. Visscher,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review. It was our pleasure to welcome you and your employees for your Christmas Party, everyone seemed to have had a simply wonderful time! Thank you for mentioning our Executive Chef and new Restaurant Manager, we are very fortunate to have them on our team and they both aim to make every guests stay memorable and unique. It was also our pleasure to supply you with a meeting room to have your Christmas party in.

Thank you again for your review and we greatly look forward to your return!

Warm Regards,

Jana Gohl
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2013

Because your life may be hectic, you need to have a resource of places to go to treat yourself to tranquility and order. Sparkling Hills Wellness Resort offers that in the centre of the Okanagan Valley. Whether you are local and want to treat yourself to the spa experience and fine dining or you are a traveller who is planning to come to the Okanagan for some of Western Canada's best snow sport areas or best golf courses including the world rated Predator Ridge, which is right next door, allow yourself one evening in upscale European style luxury at costs way below what you might expect for such a fabulous totally relaxing experience. Yes the steam rooms, saunas, pools and spa services are lovely but what makes this worth while is that these are further enhanced by the serene surroundings of the natural beauty of the Okanagan, the unique crystal and natural elements of the decor and the finest of European service.. Located 15 minutes from downtown Vernon and 30 minutes from the Kelowna International Airport it is an easy stopover.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SparklingHill, Manager at Sparkling Hill Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2013

Dear Linda,

We truly appreciate you taking the time to provide us with your feedback regarding your recent stay! I am so pleased that you enjoyed your visit with us and feel rested and rejuvenated, this is how we want all of our guests to feel. Our surrounding is so beautiful, we try to invite nature into our building by having floor to ceiling glass throughout the hotel, most guests greatly enjoy this. Thank you for noting how great the service was!

Thank you again for your review and we hope to welcome you back again soon.

Warm Regards,

Jana Gohl
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vernon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Prestige Hotel Vernon
#3 of 20 in Vernon
266 reviews
Central City
Best Western Plus Kelowna Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sparkling Hill Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sparkling Hill Resort

Address: 888 Sparkling Place, Vernon, British Columbia V1H 2K7, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Okanagan Valley > Vernon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Vernon
#2 Business Hotel in Vernon
Price Range: $258 - $373 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sparkling Hill Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Over 3.5 million crystals infused within this modern oasis – a most remarkable hotel and wellness centre with European-inspired design elegance. Nestled in the mountains near Vernon, BC, and overlooking Lake Okanagan, your personal journey to whole body health and wellness begins at our standout among British Columbia resorts. Wellness Packages at KurSpa Sparkling Hill’s reputation as an internationally-renowned wellness center and health retreat is unparalleled. What better way to spark your journey towards a new you than our Wellness Packages, providing savings on spa and wellness treatments at KurSpa. Learn more about our Weeklong Wellness Packages. Also be sure to explore our fitness classes and meditation workshops to promote well-being in mind, body and spirit. KurSpa: A Holistic Health Spa The heart of our Lake Okanagan resort is KurSpa, our 40,000 square foot European-inspired spa, clinic, and wellness center. It is the largest spa in Canada and shines brightly as a worldwide wellness destination. Relax, renew, and revitalize at KurSpa's seven unique aromatherapy, steam, and sauna rooms. Swim in Kurspa's serenity pool featuring underwater music and a Swarovski crystal night sky. Choose from over 100 transformative spa treatments and therapies to detoxify the body and promote optimum health. Consult with our professional team including our naturopathic physician, psychiatrist, massage providers and kinesiologists and view their renowned clinic services. Enhance your relationships with the help of our SHaRP program, which can range from romantic to work relationships. Schedule yourself a mini silent retreat in our Serenity Room. Or, experience the first European Cryo Cold Chamber (-110°C) in North America, our signature KurSpa treatment. Our Luxurious British Columbia Resort Take in the stunning beauty of the Okanagan Valley from our BC resort’s luxury guest rooms and penthouses, which feature sweeping lake and mountain views and operable floor to ceiling glass window walls that can be opened to instantly transform your room into an outdoor oasis. Swarovski crystals illuminate fireplaces, fixtures and ceilings, lending a luminous and luxurious ambience to every space. Fresh Fine Dining Sparkling Hill Resort is also home to the best fine dining destinations in Vernon, BC. PeakFine, our signature restaurant, serves a menu emphasizing the freshest and finest ingredients the Okanagan Valley has to offer. Known as the "Napa of the North" the region's spectacular wines are on offer at PeakFine and Barrique & Java, our more casual wine, tapas, and coffee bar. Stunning Swarovski crystal chandeliers and accents imbue our dining spaces with glamour and elegance, and those seeking an elegantly rustic setting for private dining or special events will find it in Gernots. Discover Sparkling Hill Recognized as a trendsetter in healthy living and wellness hospitality, our Okanagan Lake resort is a distinctive destination for the modern sophisticated traveler. Whether planning a couple's escape, corporate wellness retreat, or incentive travel, our British Columbia resort delivers an unforgettable blend of relaxation, restoration, and wellness. Please explore our website; we look forward to welcoming you to Sparkling Hill Resort on your personal journey to whole body health and wellness. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TravelUp, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sparkling Hill Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sparkling Hill Hotel Vernon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing