We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Aaaaaahhhh!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Sparkling Hill Resort
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Vernon
Certificate of Excellence
Vernon
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Aaaaaahhhh!”
Reviewed December 18, 2013

Because your life may be hectic, you need to have a resource of places to go to treat yourself to tranquility and order. Sparkling Hills Wellness Resort offers that in the centre of the Okanagan Valley. Whether you are local and want to treat yourself to the spa experience and fine dining or you are a traveller who is planning to come to the Okanagan for some of Western Canada's best snow sport areas or best golf courses including the world rated Predator Ridge, which is right next door, allow yourself one evening in upscale European style luxury at costs way below what you might expect for such a fabulous totally relaxing experience. Yes the steam rooms, saunas, pools and spa services are lovely but what makes this worth while is that these are further enhanced by the serene surroundings of the natural beauty of the Okanagan, the unique crystal and natural elements of the decor and the finest of European service.. Located 15 minutes from downtown Vernon and 30 minutes from the Kelowna International Airport it is an easy stopover.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SparklingHill, Manager at Sparkling Hill Resort, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Dear Linda,

We truly appreciate you taking the time to provide us with your feedback regarding your recent stay! I am so pleased that you enjoyed your visit with us and feel rested and rejuvenated, this is how we want all of our guests to feel. Our surrounding is so beautiful, we try to invite nature into our building by having floor to ceiling glass throughout the hotel, most guests greatly enjoy this. Thank you for noting how great the service was!

Thank you again for your review and we hope to welcome you back again soon.

Warm Regards,

Jana Gohl
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,781 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,012
    432
    185
    93
    59
See reviews for
162
1,090
48
89
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (739)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2013

SHR came highly recommended so we stayed there for my birthday in early November. The location is fabulous but take some snacks etc with you as there are no stores/shopping nearby.
The dinner is fine dining & the buffet breakfast is very casual & you can wear your spa robes.
The breakfast buffet is excellent & I thoroughly enjoyed the smoked salmon & mini savories .
It's a great deal at off season rates but be prepared for snow on your way there. The 2nd night rate is an even grater value, so plan to stay at least 2 nights.

Room Tip: Try to get a room facing the lake. May better view than the mountain view rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SparklingHill, Manager at Sparkling Hill Resort, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Dear Joe,

Thank you very much for your review and Happy Belated Birthday! I hope you had a simply fantastic birthday celebration with us. I am so pleased that you found our complimentary breakfast buffet to be excellent, the smoked salmon is delicious! It is also great that you were able to enjoy our PeakFine restaurant. We do also have our Barrique & Java on site which has lighter meals and snacks for guests to enjoy! You are absolutely right, guests should stay at least 2 nights, it is really necessary to truly experience everything that Sparkling Hill has to offer.

Thank you again and we hope to celebrate your birthday with you again next year!

Best Regards,

Jana Gohl
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed December 16, 2013

As first time visitors we enjoyed ourselves and left relaxed and refreshed. Staff were friendly and helpful. We enjoyed 2 fabulous dinners and breakfasts. The only disappointing part were the hours on the steam and sauna rooms. Closing for the afternoon, when we would have used it most was disappointing. The view of the lake from our room was fantastic but would have been better if we could have had a cup of coffee in our hands to enjoy as well...having to stumble down to the resturant to get our morning cup was a bit frustrating. A lounge with live entertainment to enjoy after dinner would be nice to because after getting dressed for dinner, eating and then just going back to the room seemed a lot of work for a little time. We look forward to returning and enjoying all the amenities again.

Room Tip: Do not arrive early as you get not get into your room before 4pm no matter what.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dede G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SparklingHill, Manager at Sparkling Hill Resort, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Thank you very much for your review and for visiting us for the first time! I am so pleased to hear that you left feeling relaxed and refreshed that is how we want all of our guests to feel when leaving Sparkling Hill. It is wonderful that you were able to enjoy two fabulous dinners and breakfasts!

I am sorry to hear of the areas that left you feeling disappointed. Our steams and saunas run 8 hours a day, 365 days a year, we used to have them open from 2pm – 10pm but after much guest feedback of wanting to enjoy them in the morning, prior to departure, we changed the hours of operation from 9am – 11am and 4pm – 10pm, this way guests checking in and out can enjoy them. During the closed hours, we clean and sanitize them as well as perform regular maintenance checks. All of the other complimentary facilities like the pools and Kneipp waterway are open daily from 7am – 10pm. I am sorry to hear of your disappointment.

I am glad that you enjoyed the beautiful view of the lake from your room, our Restaurant would be more than pleased to deliver some fresh coffee to your room, if you wish, during your next stay. I apologize that you found it inconvenient to get coffee.

I greatly appreciate your recommendation of perhaps having a live entertainment in our lounge, we view Sparkling Hill as a wellness hotel and for people to come and relax and rejuvenate. We did offer live piano entertainment when we first opened but it unfortunately, did not fit with our true vision.

Thank you again for your feedback, we greatly appreciate the opportunity to improve our facilities.

Warm Regards,

Jana Gohl
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
264 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 373 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2013

We were received with grace and cookies.

Every staff member is helpful and friendly. Alex remembered us from our last visit, five months ago.

We had a wonderful dinner. Scallops and rabbit, all good except the rabbit consomme, which was "lukewarm and had little flavor". The friendly and helpful waitress did nothing with this information.

The main courses (lam shank and elk ravioli) were excellent but expensive. One can buy a shank for no more than $3; we paid $34, cooked. This time our red wine was served "too warm" at 21C. The waitress poured two big glasses anyway. She then brought an ice bucket. I ended up putting ice cubes in my wine glass.

Dessert (maple parfait) was spectacular, and so was the cheese tray. But the stale bread! Buns hard rubber. Why is it so hard to bake fresh bread? I do it at home all the time. It was the same story at breakfast, which was excellent otherwise.

Excellent gluten-free options for all courses were provided cheerfully. We hope to get the recipe for the cookies.

The view from the room with tub by the window, was spectacular. And so were the amenities. The heating was soundless; this almost never happens.

Last July, the great surprise was the high-quality and tasteful erotic art show. This time no art show at all. This place seems ripe for a high-quality art gallery. Fairmont has one in Banff and Jasper.

We tried the spa this time. My partner lasted the three minutes in the -110 C cold sauna! She felt no benefits later. Indeed, she felt more aches.

Room Tip: Second or third floor.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FlyingDutchman_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SparklingHill, Manager at Sparkling Hill Resort, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Thank you very much for providing us with your feedback regarding your recent visit. I am very pleased to read that you found every staff member to be helpful and friendly and enjoyed being welcomed with grace and cookies. The view from the rooms truly is spectacular and I am so delighted that you were able to experience the variety of different amenities included in your stay. We do try to provide numerous gluten free options for our guests and I am glad that you appreciated this and found them to be excellent! It is also great that you were able to enjoy the restaurant and had a wonderful dinner. I am very glad that the maple parfait dessert and the cheese tray were spectacular.

I am however, disappointed that the rabbit consomme was lukewarm and had little flavor and that the buns were substandard. It is also concerning to read that your red wine was too warm. I truly apologize for this as it is certainly not our standard. All of your feedback has been forwarded to our Food & Beverage department.

It is exciting that your partner tried our signature treatment, the -110C Cold Sauna. You are absolutely right, one treatment will not provide any benefits. She needs to do a series of treatments (at least 10-20), ideally two a day, to feel any benefit.

Thank you so much for your feedback and we hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Jana Gohl
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Okanagan, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
55 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2013

This is my 3rd time visit to SHR. This time a winner, service has improved! Don't know what happened but the new staff are excellent. From the moment we arrived we were greeted with a professional and friendly manner. From the front desk, to the serving staff, to the spa staff a huge improvement. The facility hot tub closed due to maintenance but all the other facilities were available and enjoyed.
Would enjoy a coffee (machine) in the room before getting dressed.
Shared a room with my sister would be nice to have a sliding down privacy screen in the shower!!! lol.
Overall a very enjoyable stay again.

Room Tip: Lake view is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vernonite2059
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SparklingHill, Manager at Sparkling Hill Resort, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to provide us with your feedback and for noting how much our service has improved! We have been working very attentively on this with all of our departments and it is so rewarding to receive comments such as yours.

Thank you so much and we greatly look forward to your 4th visit!

Warm Regards,

Jana Gohl
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
93 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2013

This is a unique property in the Okanagan region, though it has been called pretentious.
The spa facilities and services are outstanding, the rooms are pleasantly quiet with an extremely efficient air conditioning system.
Only two negative impressions:
the suites do not have balconies which, in winter does not matter too much, but would greatly enhance a stay in warmer weather;
the rooms do not have a coffee maker - there are few things nicer than sitting in the morning with a fresh cup of coffee and looking out on the lake before going to breakfast.
Would we go back? Not sure.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Harri H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SparklingHill, Manager at Sparkling Hill Resort, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Dear Harri,

Thank you for your review and for naming us a unique property! Our vision is to bring in week long whole body wellness stays and I am so pleased that you found the spa facilities and the service to be outstanding! Thank you for noting how pleasantly quiet and extremely efficient the air conditioning system is.

I would also like to thank you for your feedback regarding our rooms not having balconies. We do have floor to ceiling sliding doors that open up half of the room for fresh air with a comfortable lounge area right in front. Majority of our guests spend their time in the KurSpa, where we do have a wonderful outdoor patio which is overlooking Lake Okanagan!

We do also have coffee available at 6am in the PeakFine restaurant and would be more than pleased to deliver this to your room as well if needed. Please do not hesitate to ask next time.

Thank you again and we do hope you return in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Jana Gohl
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2013

Hello,

A group of colleagues and I stayed at the Sparkling Hill Resort for 2 nights. The hotel & spa was beautiful, however the service was horrible!

After booking four (4) massage treatments with my colleagues, and being told that we were getting RMT service, we later found out that these were not RMT massages at all. If the massage was decent I would be accepting of the $150 splurge, but it was the most useless massage that I have had in a long time, and not to get RMT service, that is unacceptable in my mind.

Later that same evening, we ventured to the restaurant in the hotel. The food was good, but the service was bad. We waited long periods at a time, and the restaurant was barely full. I would not recommend the restaurant if you are looking for the whole package & value.

I'm sorry to write such a horrible review, because I think this place has potential, but the service was not up to standard for such an 'upscale' resort.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ATravel604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SparklingHill, Manager at Sparkling Hill Resort, responded to this review, December 14, 2013
Thank you very much for your review. I am honestly very surprised to read your review as your feedback is not the usual feedback we receive as you can see from other reviews. We have been working very diligently on improving our service skills and am extremely disappointed to read that you found it to be substandard.

Unfortunately we would have not been able to book four RMT massages as we only offer massages performed by certified spa practitioners, we try to advise all of our guests of this prior to them booking and do have it listed on our website that all of our massages are performed by certified spa practitioners, we also try to advise everyone as they book. I am very sorry that you were under the impression that your massages were performed by RMTs, this was certainly not our intention.

I am also disappointed that you found your service in the restaurant to be unsatisfactory, we are continuously training all of our employees. I truly apologize that you felt you waited long periods of time and that the service was not up to your expectations. I have passed this feedback onto our Restaurant Manager to ensure no other guest feels this way.

Thank you again for your review as all guest feedback allows us the opportunity to learn and improve our facilities and services.

Kind Regards,

Jana Gohl
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vernon
8.0 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Vernon
7.3 mi away
Vernon Lodge and Conference Centre
7.6 mi away
Prestige Hotel Vernon
Prestige Hotel Vernon
#3 of 20 in Vernon
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Best Western Pacific Inn
24.8 mi away
Hotel Eldorado
Hotel Eldorado
#1 of 34 in Kelowna
497 reviews
0.7 mi away
Predator Ridge Resort
Predator Ridge Resort
#6 of 20 in Vernon
351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sparkling Hill Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sparkling Hill Resort

Property: Sparkling Hill Resort
Address: 888 Sparkling Place, Vernon, British Columbia V1H 2K7, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Okanagan Valley > Vernon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Vernon
#2 Business Hotel in Vernon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sparkling Hill Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Over 3.5 million crystals infused within this modern oasis – a most remarkable hotel and wellness centre with European-inspired design elegance. Nestled in the mountains near Vernon, BC, and overlooking Lake Okanagan, your personal journey to whole body health and wellness begins at our standout among British Columbia resorts. Wellness Packages at KurSpa Sparkling Hill’s reputation as an internationally-renowned wellness center and health retreat is unparalleled. What better way to spark your journey towards a new you than our Wellness Packages, providing savings on spa and wellness treatments at KurSpa. Learn more about our Weeklong Wellness Packages. Also be sure to explore our fitness classes and meditation workshops to promote well-being in mind, body and spirit. KurSpa: A Holistic Health Spa The heart of our Lake Okanagan resort is KurSpa, our 40,000 square foot European-inspired spa, clinic, and wellness center. It is the largest spa in Canada and shines brightly as a worldwide wellness destination. Relax, renew, and revitalize at KurSpa's seven unique aromatherapy, steam, and sauna rooms. Swim in Kurspa's serenity pool featuring underwater music and a Swarovski crystal night sky. Choose from over 100 transformative spa treatments and therapies to detoxify the body and promote optimum health. Consult with our professional team including our naturopathic physician, psychiatrist, massage providers and kinesiologists and view their renowned clinic services. Enhance your relationships with the help of our SHaRP program, which can range from romantic to work relationships. Schedule yourself a mini silent retreat in our Serenity Room. Or, experience the first European Cryo Cold Chamber (-110°C) in North America, our signature KurSpa treatment. Our Luxurious British Columbia Resort Take in the stunning beauty of the Okanagan Valley from our BC resort’s luxury guest rooms and penthouses, which feature sweeping lake and mountain views and operable floor to ceiling glass window walls that can be opened to instantly transform your room into an outdoor oasis. Swarovski crystals illuminate fireplaces, fixtures and ceilings, lending a luminous and luxurious ambience to every space. Fresh Fine Dining Sparkling Hill Resort is also home to the best fine dining destinations in Vernon, BC. PeakFine, our signature restaurant, serves a menu emphasizing the freshest and finest ingredients the Okanagan Valley has to offer. Known as the "Napa of the North" the region's spectacular wines are on offer at PeakFine and Barrique & Java, our more casual wine, tapas, and coffee bar. Stunning Swarovski crystal chandeliers and accents imbue our dining spaces with glamour and elegance, and those seeking an elegantly rustic setting for private dining or special events will find it in Gernots. Discover Sparkling Hill Recognized as a trendsetter in healthy living and wellness hospitality, our Okanagan Lake resort is a distinctive destination for the modern sophisticated traveler. Whether planning a couple's escape, corporate wellness retreat, or incentive travel, our British Columbia resort delivers an unforgettable blend of relaxation, restoration, and wellness. Please explore our website; we look forward to welcoming you to Sparkling Hill Resort on your personal journey to whole body health and wellness. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Agoda, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sparkling Hill Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sparkling Hill Hotel Vernon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing