We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So relaxing!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sparkling Hill Resort
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Vernon
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“So relaxing!”
Reviewed October 11, 2012

Amazing views from the lakeside rooms. The room was well designed with a bathtub big enough for 2 located at the full wall window. The window opens from floor to ceiling for about 4 feet wide, which makes for an in room patio. The lighting in the room was spectacular at night. We enjoyed a couples massage which was wonderful. The tea room had fabulous views of the golf course. All this and a buffet breakfast in the morning that was excellent. We went to the main restuarant for dinner and our meals were well prepared and the wine list was very good with many choices.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jp1202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,810 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,026
    442
    187
    96
    59
See reviews for
168
1,107
49
90
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (752)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2012

Shame on Sparkling Hill to barr guests from using the Saunas on the day of check out. This is totally unprofessional and ridiculious. Having been to excellent spas and hotels all over the world, this treatment is simply unacceptable. The hotel expects you to check in at 4pm and then leave at 11am. Less than 24 hours and you are pretty much booted out. I certainly hope that you Sparkling Hill are listening and make changes accordingly. While your facilities are wow, your service is clearly small town narrow minded Vernon mentality. I dealt with a very rude front desk clerk who kept on parroting the fine print. Sounds sneaky, underhanded and selfish quite frankly. Shame on you for devaluating your customers.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
22 Thank HouseofBeihai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Outstanding views, beautiful, clean rooms. Included is a very good breakfast and great spa's and pools. Our meals at the restaurant were very good if not a bit pricey. This is a calm, quiet adult oriented resort for those who want to relax and rejuvenate. I noticed only a few well behaved children. Service was pleasant. Beds are the memory foam type. I really appreciated not being "nickeled and dimed" as valet parking, wi-fi, breakfast, access to spa's and even bottled water were included. Excellent value at off season rates. We highly recommend as a relaxing getaway for couples.

Room Tip: Lakeside view is breathtaking though other side is quite nice and the room was bigger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TucsonGrant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2012

I recently visited Sparkling Hill Resort on a work retreat. The views are amazing. The rooms are spacious, clean, comfortable and designed beautifully. The spa is large with many steam rooms and saunas that are complementary with your stay, as are the pools. The golf course (I hear as I do not golf) is challenging, but all the golfers I was with loved it. And it looks stunning.

The only down side, which is a big one, is the food. We were not impressed. We had buffets set up for breakfast and lunch that were ok. The soups were aweful. We had one sit down dinner, my beef sirloin was overcooked and dry - couldn't eat it. We also had a pea soup, not sure what else was in it but it had a floral taste (couldn't eat it, and I was not the only one). The restaurant Gernots, while having an amazing view and lovely decor, the food was not good. I had the steak sandwich with blue cheese, caramelized onions and mushrooms. The blue cheese (which I like and cook with often) was so over powering it was all you could taste. Also the steak was over cooked and sliced like sandwich meat slices – I had asked for it medium rare, more to the rare side. Don't think rare is an option at this resort. Overall I found the food/flavour combinations strange, none of the combinations seemed to compliment each other. The chief offered a cooking class, which I did not attend, but heard from those who did that the veal type stew dish that they made was bland with no flavour. Also the slow cooking method seemed odd for a nice cut of veal?

Everything, but the food was excellent.

Room Tip: Get a lake view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MiTravel_2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2012

We had a lakeside view room and what a view. This really made the stay enjoyable, especially as the weather was very good during our time there. The room was large, bed was comfortable, you get a nice bathroom and even a bath by the window to enjoy the view from. You get a large fully opening window as well which you can sit by and look out.

We ate in the Peakfine restaurant both nights, we thought the food quality was excellent, wine selection excellent and the Okanagan grappa is a recommendation to finish off with. Surprised about some of the comments regarding quality and portion size. The food and drink are however pricey. Breakfast is ok, not a bad selection.

It is not perfect, I thought the tiles in the Spa pool area looked a bit grubby compared to the rest of the spa area and the downstairs bar service was a bit poor.

The hotel is on a steep hill, if you go for a walk around the rest of predator bridge do expect a steep climb back up. We did the difficult trail around the resort as well so there is good scope for walks.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank theGEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
British Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

My girlfriends and I stayed at this resort fee a night away. We had a great time! Overall, the resort is beautiful. There are however some minior improvements that the hotel could make.

When we pulled in, there was no valet in sight and just a few spots to park in. Slightly confusing. Also not in sight, was a bell-person. At a resort of this caliber, both should be standing out front ready to assit newly arriving guests.

The rooms are very modern and have a minimalistic feel to them. We had a mountain view room, which still had a lovely view. The rooms are slightly odd for anyone that is not a couple. The shower is open to the room and the tub is in the room as well. Not really suitable for a girls weekend away, but we managed.

The pool and spa area is quite lovely. We enjoyed the saunas, however we did notice a few of the saunas were not at the temperature they were supposed to be at. I'm perplexed as to why the saunas are closed from 11-4 daily? What about the guests staying for more than one night? One thing that we were excited to try were the experience showers. To bad they were not working!!! Another dissapointment was the fact that the healing water walk was out of order. I feel that for the price we paid for the guestroom, the fact that these features were not working property was unacceptable.

Our trip ended with a 20 minute wait for an elevator, due to the fact that one was broken. In this case, they should have had a bell person on every floor helping guests down with their luggage. For a hotel of this caliber, this would not be the last impression you would want guests to leave with!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ThorneloeFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CALGARY
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Perfect place for couples with an outstanding Spa.

Only thing lacking is the food outlets and a lounge.

Main Restaurant is open for dinner but is a little pricey, it is also where buffet breakfast is served, but items provided limited and service is slow for table service for coffee and tea. Lounge was a disappointment , one or two food items, no real Menu , service slow .

With no food in Lounge it forces you to the Main Dining room for dinner whcih is again very pricey it would be nice if the hotel provided hot food in there lounge for those nights when you do not want to have something lighter and at a lower price point.

Rooms are excellant , spa is great, justs needs some work on food outlets for its guests.

John Alberta

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JOHNBOYCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vernon
Prestige Hotel Vernon
#4 of 20 in Vernon
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central City
Best Western Plus Kelowna Hotel & Suites
Predator Ridge Resort
#6 of 20 in Vernon
361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sparkling Hill Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sparkling Hill Resort

Property: Sparkling Hill Resort
Address: 888 Sparkling Place, Vernon, British Columbia V1H 2K7, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Okanagan Valley > Vernon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Vernon
#2 Business Hotel in Vernon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sparkling Hill Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Over 3.5 million crystals infused within this modern oasis – a most remarkable hotel and wellness centre with European-inspired design elegance. Nestled in the mountains near Vernon, BC, and overlooking Lake Okanagan, your personal journey to whole body health and wellness begins at our standout among British Columbia resorts. Wellness Packages at KurSpa Sparkling Hill’s reputation as an internationally-renowned wellness center and health retreat is unparalleled. What better way to spark your journey towards a new you than our Wellness Packages, providing savings on spa and wellness treatments at KurSpa. Learn more about our Weeklong Wellness Packages. Also be sure to explore our fitness classes and meditation workshops to promote well-being in mind, body and spirit. KurSpa: A Holistic Health Spa The heart of our Lake Okanagan resort is KurSpa, our 40,000 square foot European-inspired spa, clinic, and wellness center. It is the largest spa in Canada and shines brightly as a worldwide wellness destination. Relax, renew, and revitalize at KurSpa's seven unique aromatherapy, steam, and sauna rooms. Swim in Kurspa's serenity pool featuring underwater music and a Swarovski crystal night sky. Choose from over 100 transformative spa treatments and therapies to detoxify the body and promote optimum health. Consult with our professional team including our naturopathic physician, psychiatrist, massage providers and kinesiologists and view their renowned clinic services. Enhance your relationships with the help of our SHaRP program, which can range from romantic to work relationships. Schedule yourself a mini silent retreat in our Serenity Room. Or, experience the first European Cryo Cold Chamber (-110°C) in North America, our signature KurSpa treatment. Our Luxurious British Columbia Resort Take in the stunning beauty of the Okanagan Valley from our BC resort’s luxury guest rooms and penthouses, which feature sweeping lake and mountain views and operable floor to ceiling glass window walls that can be opened to instantly transform your room into an outdoor oasis. Swarovski crystals illuminate fireplaces, fixtures and ceilings, lending a luminous and luxurious ambience to every space. Fresh Fine Dining Sparkling Hill Resort is also home to the best fine dining destinations in Vernon, BC. PeakFine, our signature restaurant, serves a menu emphasizing the freshest and finest ingredients the Okanagan Valley has to offer. Known as the "Napa of the North" the region's spectacular wines are on offer at PeakFine and Barrique & Java, our more casual wine, tapas, and coffee bar. Stunning Swarovski crystal chandeliers and accents imbue our dining spaces with glamour and elegance, and those seeking an elegantly rustic setting for private dining or special events will find it in Gernots. Discover Sparkling Hill Recognized as a trendsetter in healthy living and wellness hospitality, our Okanagan Lake resort is a distinctive destination for the modern sophisticated traveler. Whether planning a couple's escape, corporate wellness retreat, or incentive travel, our British Columbia resort delivers an unforgettable blend of relaxation, restoration, and wellness. Please explore our website; we look forward to welcoming you to Sparkling Hill Resort on your personal journey to whole body health and wellness. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sparkling Hill Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sparkling Hill Hotel Vernon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing