We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Impressive, and then some”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sparkling Hill Resort
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Vernon
Certificate of Excellence
Vernon, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Impressive, and then some”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2012

We just returned from a night's stay and only wish we could have stayed longer! We were greeted by a friendly bell hop, the conceirge was friendly and helpful.The bed was so comfortable I didn't want to get out in the morning. The view from our room was stunning, there's nothing like soaking in a huge tub overlooking the mountains. While I found there wasn't a huge selection for breakfast what they did have was hot, quality and tasty. The saunas and steam rooms sent me over the top...I've never experienced anything like it before... but I'm hoping I'll get the opportunity again! Would stay here over and over again.

Room Tip: If it were summer and had daylight hours longer I would splurge on a lake view but since we went in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ann-marie c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,723 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    989
    418
    177
    83
    56
See reviews for
156
1,053
47
85
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (723)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Coldstream BC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2012

Recently stayed for an evening at Sparkling Hill and couldn't have been more impressed. Everything was beyond awesome , bartender/server Rod S was great and very professional! Room and facilities were clean and wonderful!!As a local I could not recommend this more to anyone near or far ..over the top elegant and relaxing!!!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank karen d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2012

Cheesy. We reserved a two night package and left after the first night. Upon check in we stood and waited for about 15 minutes while one clerk talked on the phone. Dinner was average, with a ridiculous price tag for the quality and lack of ambiance. The live entertainment was an opera singer doing cover songs, but she was tucked in a corner for ticket holder seating, however, in our section we had to listen to her in addition to the music being piped in over the speakers. After our three course meal we were STARVING......but learned from our waitress that there was no where else to eat at the resort. Being totally isolated in the hills outside of Vernon, this was surprising. We tried the lounge afterward and it just got worse. The "entertainment" was an elderly fellow playing a organ with the built in beat machine complete with a yellow extension cord out to the middle of the floor.....we woke up dreaming of the buffet breakfast and again it was a joke. No pancakes, no bacon, no french toast......there was a scattering of fruits, stale bread from the night before's dinner, slimy eggs....anyways, too many details to get into. We checked out immediately following breakfast and have since talked to so many people who have had the same experiences with this place. This place is a 1 star resort dressed up in sparkles to resemble a 5 star. The rooms are mediocre and the ambiance is stark and cold. The prices are outrageous for what a person ends up experiencing. We didn't even bother to stay for the spa....
Anyways, don't be fooled by the prices, if you've ever actually experienced a high end resort - you will be seriously disappointed!!

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Minimom4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SparklingHillResort, Resort Management at Sparkling Hill Resort, responded to this review, February 2, 2012
Dear Minimom4,

On behalf of the entire Sparkling Hill, I am very sorry to hear that your experience was less than satisfactory. Providing exceptional service at a world class resort is a very important part of the Sparkling Hill experience and we would like to apologize for what seems to have been a lapse in our practices. Seeing that your ratings for Rooms, Cleanliness and Sleep Quality are favourable, hopefully this experience will not sour your impression of Sparkling Hill indefinitely. If you would like to connect with us further, please find us on Facebook and follow us on Twitter for the latest news from Sparkling Hill.

Sincerely,

Resort Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Moody, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2012

I recently spent a night at the Sparkiling Hill Resort in Vernon and couldn't have been more impressed. Everything was top notch from the moment I arrived. The scenery is amazing all around the building. Every room looks out over an impressive panorama. They have lake view and valley view rooms and you can't go wrong with either. The moment I walked into the room i was amazed. The outside wall is completely windows and there is a soaker tub right next to the windows so you can sit and relax and enjoy the world around you while reading a book or enjoying a glass of wine in the tub. The food and service in the restaurant were excellent and the breakfast was also excellent. I would highly recommend this resort to anyone that wants to get away and relax. I didn't get a chance to enjoy the spa but it looke spectacular. I am hunting for an excuse to go back and I am sure it won't be long before I do.

Room Tip: Every room has exceptional views. The lake view is spectacular but you can't go wrong with the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Don G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vernon, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2012

Everything is first class, including the beds - top of the line memory foam and a wonderful view as well. Just be sure to close the shades when you want some privacy. The glass to the outside is two way and the whole outside wall is glass ! We did a 2 night package and it was great. I'd recommend it over just one night if you want to truly relax and take full advantage of all there is to do. There is nothing that compares to this place in the interior for sure, and maybe even in BC !!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HTuckwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summerland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2012

This weekend was not my first time at Sparkling Hill and it definitely will not be my last.....!
In a perfect world I would definitely move in.
...A group of my friends (5 girls) spent the weekend at Sparkling Hill and to say we are relaxed and rebalanced would be an understatement.
The experience from the moment you arrive until you leave is a sensory experience for your mind, body and soul. Many places promote the concept but this is the wellness resort that really delivers. The staff and service is extremely professional and warm. Once you try one spa treatment you are guaranteed to want to have more and the classes for yoga, core strenghtening, aqua jogging etc are well done and well priced.
The only negative about Sparkling Hill is that eventually you have to leave and reenter the real world!
Do you whole body a favor...go alone, with friends or your partner, it is a bucket list experience.

Room Tip: I don't think this resort has a bad room...the entire facility is built in angles that allow for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank grayce58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sicamous, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2012

A friend and I go to a spa for a weekend every year. Last year we went to Sparkling Hill Resort which is aabout an hour's drive from our home city. The resort, despite being a spa resort, is conducive to couples. In fact, our room with a deep free-standing assymetrical bathtub next to the window and glass shower was probably more conducive to guests who are in an intimate relationship. Nonetheless, the room with down duvets, a crystal fireplace and breathtaking views was lovely. The asthetic treatment which I booked this year, a facial, was very good. The esthetician was on time, the treatment room immaculate and there was no push to buy the products used during the facial, products which were specifically manufactured for Sparkling Hil

The saunas, steam rooms and pools which are available to all guests are the features that distinguish Sparkling Hill. They are extraordinary. We tried every sauna and steam room including the staff -supervised Sauna Aufguss at 90 degrees celsius. If I had one wish, it would be longer hours for the sauna and stean rooms which are currently available between 2:00 pm and 10:00 pm. We attended a yoga class offerred in the yoga salon which was very good and instructed with options for all levels of yoga experience. The dining room at Sparkling Hill is well staffed and while the food is not inexpensive, it is of a quality commensurate with the price. Breakfast is a combination of American and European offerrings. Views from the hotel are spectacular and relaxation rooms like the Serenity and Tea rooms which feature chaise lounges, mountain views and healthy beverages are conducive to wearing one's bathrobe all day long without being out of place. I will return and may bring my husband next time.

Room Tip: lake view is spectacular
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rigana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vernon
8.0 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Vernon
24.7 mi away
Hotel Eldorado
Hotel Eldorado
#2 of 34 in Kelowna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
7.3 mi away
Vernon Lodge and Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Prestige Hotel Vernon
Prestige Hotel Vernon
#6 of 20 in Vernon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
7.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Vernon
11.6 mi away
The Castle at Swan Lake
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sparkling Hill Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sparkling Hill Resort

Property: Sparkling Hill Resort
Address: 888 Sparkling Place, Vernon, British Columbia V1H 2K7, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Okanagan Valley > Vernon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Vernon
#2 Business Hotel in Vernon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sparkling Hill Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Over 3.5 million crystals infused within this modern oasis – a most remarkable hotel and wellness centre with European-inspired design elegance. Nestled in the mountains near Vernon, BC, and overlooking Lake Okanagan, your personal journey to whole body health and wellness begins at our standout among British Columbia resorts. Wellness Packages at KurSpa Sparkling Hill’s reputation as an internationally-renowned wellness center and health retreat is unparalleled. What better way to spark your journey towards a new you than our Wellness Packages, providing savings on spa and wellness treatments at KurSpa. Learn more about our Weeklong Wellness Packages. Also be sure to explore our fitness classes and meditation workshops to promote well-being in mind, body and spirit. KurSpa: A Holistic Health Spa The heart of our Lake Okanagan resort is KurSpa, our 40,000 square foot European-inspired spa, clinic, and wellness center. It is the largest spa in Canada and shines brightly as a worldwide wellness destination. Relax, renew, and revitalize at KurSpa's seven unique aromatherapy, steam, and sauna rooms. Swim in Kurspa's serenity pool featuring underwater music and a Swarovski crystal night sky. Choose from over 100 transformative spa treatments and therapies to detoxify the body and promote optimum health. Consult with our professional team including our naturopathic physician, psychiatrist, massage providers and kinesiologists and view their renowned clinic services. Enhance your relationships with the help of our SHaRP program, which can range from romantic to work relationships. Schedule yourself a mini silent retreat in our Serenity Room. Or, experience the first European Cryo Cold Chamber (-110°C) in North America, our signature KurSpa treatment. Our Luxurious British Columbia Resort Take in the stunning beauty of the Okanagan Valley from our BC resort’s luxury guest rooms and penthouses, which feature sweeping lake and mountain views and operable floor to ceiling glass window walls that can be opened to instantly transform your room into an outdoor oasis. Swarovski crystals illuminate fireplaces, fixtures and ceilings, lending a luminous and luxurious ambience to every space. Fresh Fine Dining Sparkling Hill Resort is also home to the best fine dining destinations in Vernon, BC. PeakFine, our signature restaurant, serves a menu emphasizing the freshest and finest ingredients the Okanagan Valley has to offer. Known as the "Napa of the North" the region's spectacular wines are on offer at PeakFine and Barrique & Java, our more casual wine, tapas, and coffee bar. Stunning Swarovski crystal chandeliers and accents imbue our dining spaces with glamour and elegance, and those seeking an elegantly rustic setting for private dining or special events will find it in Gernots. Discover Sparkling Hill Recognized as a trendsetter in healthy living and wellness hospitality, our Okanagan Lake resort is a distinctive destination for the modern sophisticated traveler. Whether planning a couple's escape, corporate wellness retreat, or incentive travel, our British Columbia resort delivers an unforgettable blend of relaxation, restoration, and wellness. Please explore our website; we look forward to welcoming you to Sparkling Hill Resort on your personal journey to whole body health and wellness. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sparkling Hill Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sparkling Hill Hotel Vernon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing