We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DIRTY!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Strand Lakeside Resort
Ranked #9 of 14 Specialty Lodging in Vernon
Kelowna, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
200 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
“DIRTY!”
Reviewed December 21, 2011

What a shame! Such a beautiful resort, but quickly going down hill...Sorry, but the word "Resort" shouldn't be in the title, its deceiving. A resort usually has plenty of staff who jump at the chance to address your every need. Not here. There wasn't anyone around. We didnt' see one staff member the three days we were there. It was like it was deserted.

There was one person in the suite "show home" (where you go to check in) and she was rude and dismissive at best. And the show suite was surprisingly dusty and dirty. There was a table there full of broshures and it was covered in dust. I got a bit concerned and thought to myself, "is this what we had to look forward to in our room?" Yup!! You bet it was! The cleaning crew (if they even have one) should be fired. We found two mice traps with the words "Orkin" on the floor in the living room, the TV was dusty, the inside of the fridge had stuck on stuff on the glass left over from other guests. My best guess, it was raspberry jam. There was dust in every corner and cobwebs above the fireplace.

Our room was well appointed however with a nice sitting area, lovely bathrooms, a beautiful kitchen and was even equipped with in suite laundry! Thank God the sheets were clean and the bed, very comfortable. We found the common areas in need of some SERIOUS attention. Snowy footprints on the tiles, fingerprints in the elevator, bugs on the outside glass that were stuck in cobwebs, dust and debris on the carpet in the hallways, garbages not emptied in the pool area changerooms and soap scum by the sinks. The elevators smelled funky too - we decided that is had to be vomit. This place needs a good vaccum. What a disappointment. Go somewhere else.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank zorka3500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    5
    2
    3
    4
See reviews for
18
4
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Wetaskiwin, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2011

I booked with The Strand because I had always been curious about it. To start, if you show up in the evening or on a weekend you have to fend for yourself because there is NO ONE working there. So we had forgotten our code to get our room key in Alberta and it took several calls to finally get a hold of someone to give us to code. So I finally got a hold of the manager and she was all snappy and rude on the phone. So we finally got our key and went to our room.

When we booked we were told about the $100 housekeeping fee when you check out - so when we got to our room we were choked to see the room fairly dirty (the kitchen especially). We wiped a cloth along the greecy fridge and it came up black.. as did the floor.

When we checked out there was still no one working there so I had to call later on in the day to physically ask for a room receipt for tax purposes. So the manager emailed me a scanned copy of the receipt that looked like it was scanned with the lid open and the shadows made it look really shotty and unprofessional - not something I wanted to hand over to my accountant.

So I emailed her back asking her to mail me a copy of the receipt and rather than trying to make the customer happy she told me to print it out and just try it. So I emailed her my mailing address and then heard nothing for a week.

A week later I asked her if she mailed it again and she shot back a very rude email saying she hadn't and I had never given her my email - which is false. She should probably check her email a little more thoroughly.

Overall, the "resort" is a nice property - but the management is going to drive that place into the ground.

If you are going to Vernon, BC I would highly recommend Sparkling Hill or Predator Ridge - very well managed, classy places to stay with actual friendly people working there. AND you don't have to run around in circles to get a simple receipt.

Room Tip: Dirty rooms, Rude management!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashleigh B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2011

Unforturnately, even though this is a lovely lakeside property, I can't give it a good review.Check-in was a disaster - the key didn't work, and it took the office over an hour to finally figure out what was wrong. In the meantime, out 2 year old was hungry and tired after a five hour car ride. The 2 bedroom unit we had was in need of a good clean - very dusty, fingerprints on the mirrors, the fridge wasn't very clean, blood spots on the duvet (ewww!), mold growing on the deck ... needless to say, we felt we did not get good value considering the lakeside unit rents for $500 a night. (Plus they charge a $135 cleaning fee upon departure - obviously the cleaning crew missed this unit!!) On top of that, the people above us let their kids run around at all hours, and it sounded like a herd of elephants overhead. But the icing on the cake was the poop in the pool - yes, "poop" ... which was scooped out and tossed in the gardens edging the pool fence. We did not use the pool for the last 3 days of our trip. This property could definitely use a better management team who are there on the property 24/7 to make sure that there are better standards for upkeep and cleanliness.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VancouverWestwind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, Washington
1 review
Reviewed June 29, 2011

I LOVED going to the Strand resort. I am eager to return next summer. The rooms are comfortable and stylish, the service is friendly, the view is stunning, and it felt like home.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KathrynMichelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Country
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2010

For the week surrounding our family wedding at Paddlewheel Park Hall (just a short walk away), members of both the groom's and the bride's families booked four Strand units. It was nothing short of excellent --- Okanagan Lake views, the beach and the lovely pool right outside our door, easy drive to world-class wineries and golf courses, not to mention Silver Star Resort for the mountain bikers in the group... The units were spacious, clean and well equipped --- the service was great when needed but staff were not breathing down your neck --- way to go, Strand!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Midgeandmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
Reviewed September 2, 2010

Great place to stay with great location, amazing lakeside pool and many places to bike/walk/and visit beautiful wineries within 30 minute drive.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eaucool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2010

We stayed here for 3 nights on our way out to Whistler this summer. There are 5 of us with 3 teeanagers. We found the suite very comfortable and well-appointed: air con(we needed it!), appliances including washer and dryer, and even a wine fridge! The bedrooms were nicely done and the beds very comfortable. LOVED it! We used the pool and hot tub every day. Two of the kids and my husband jumped off the dock and used the beach as well - nice and warm. Highlight was renting a boat - they picked us up at the Strand dock and we dropped boat there at end of day. Spectacular weather and scenery, and afterwards it was a quick walk up to the comforts of our suite to barbecue. Only a 5 minute drive to groceries, etc. Our younger teens enjoyed the waterslides park just outside Vernon and we all loved the Blue Heron restaurant which we walked to a few times from the Strand!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BeAlberta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vernon hotels
3.5 mi away
Sparkling Hill Resort
4.3 mi away
Best Western Pacific Inn
3.9 mi away
Vernon Lodge and Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Vernon
4.1 mi away
Prestige Hotel Vernon
Prestige Hotel Vernon
#4 of 20 in Vernon
258 reviews
8.0 mi away
The Castle at Swan Lake
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Strand Lakeside Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strand Lakeside Resort

Property: Strand Lakeside Resort
Address: 7343 Okanagan Landing Road, Vernon, British Columbia V1H 1G6, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Okanagan Valley > Vernon
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 14 Specialty Lodging in Vernon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Strand Lakeside Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Strand Lakeside Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Strand Lakeside Hotel Vernon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing