We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Its good for the price”
Review of Schell Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Schell Motel
Ranked #14 of 20 Hotels in Vernon
Reviewed September 12, 2012

I debated about staying here. The price you pay is cheaper than others. The bed is clean, the carpets are clean. The plumbing leaves a lot to be desired. It all works, but the shower and bathtub, are not the newest model. The plumbing in 106 for the bathtub was not fixed to the wall on the inside. The knob for the activation of the shower was pretty difficult to use. Oh yah, no free wifi. I was able to use my smart phone as a wifi hotspot and then used my laptop. I think Joe the owner has done a great job on making a low price, ok quality motel. The free breakfast is meagre. The setting for this place is nice. A nice pool area, there is a stream in the back where you can see ducks swimming. Its reasonably quiet because it is a few blocks from the main drag.

Room Tip: ask about the breakfast, wifi, how close to the pool.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bigjim5551212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (70)
There are newer reviews for Schell Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

45 - 51 of 70 reviews

Reviewed September 2, 2012

Great value Motel, located near the centre of Vernon. The staff were friendly and helpful. A light breakfast was included and there is also a swimming pool provided which looks clean , would stay again .

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Doyoucompute
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2012

Amenities were as listed except that Wi-Fi is not available. 2 towels have blood stains on it, bad shower head and black smudges in tub.Good mattress, unsteady bed frame and bad pillows. Dirty brown ring in toilet.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 60yoguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2012

We were paasing through and desperately needed a room for a single night on a long weekend. We were informed that even though they had rooms available it is their policy not to rent rooms for a single night on the weekends. Can't comment on the hotel itself as we were unable to stay there. Due to the silly nature of the policy will probably never try to stay there in the future either.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Cathy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2012

While in Vernon, I didn't have a car, but it's in a great location just off of Highway 97.
The traffic at night is very quite in the middle of summer, surprisingly it was. Capital Taxi Service in Vernon is Excellent! I used the taxi service to and from the golf course. Talking about going green, I loved it, and I'm looking forward to golfing in Vernon again!!

The motel is everything I could ask for minus the noisy air conditioner in the room, which is the only thing I didn't like. For what I paid for the room per night, I can live it for a week or more.
It would be nice if they had a slide out window in bathroom with bug screen for a peaceful
sleep, but instead they've added a small refrigerator and microwave.
Honestly, this was the best bet I ever made while in Vernon. It could of been worse,
if I booked a Motel or Resort beside the Trans Canada Highway north of town.

Everything worked out great!! I even saved a few bucks on this trip, which I rarely ever do.

Room Tip: Rooms facing Highway 97(east) are best, but if you need a kitchenette, those rooms are facing North...
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank writes4cmt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2012

Dis not have a reservation, but had no trouble at all getting a room. The exterior of this motel is nothing to write home about, but the rooms are surprising well appointed. The woman at the desk was very friendly and accommodating. When she found out I was travelling with 2 teenage boys, she recommended a room with a separate bedroom for myself and 2 twin beds in the outer room for the boys. A great value - was expecting this room to be pricey but it was very reasonable. The room was very clean and had a microwave, fridge and table - although only room for 2 chairs at the table. The bathroom was clean and there were extra towels and pillows. The motel backs onto a stream which can be a bit noisy if you leave the window open at night. Breakfast was basic continental fare - store-bought muffins, juice, cereal or toast. Ice machine is not accessible - have to ask for ice but this was a minor inconvenience. Would definitely stay here again. Good value for the money.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JT115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2012

While a little more expensive than our other stops on our budget trip across bc, we got plenty of space for our family of five and breakfast too. It was clean, although a little tired looking. The pool was pleasant, and we surprised by the little creek and woods that borders the pool areas and the outdoor tables for picnicking. We had a kitchenette, and so only tried out one of the many, many restaurants in easy walking distance, as there was a lovely natural foods store a block away, and the farmers market was a few minutes drive away on the first day of our stay.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Catsmap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vernon hotels
0.6 mi away
Vernon Lodge and Conference Centre
1.3 mi away
Best Western Pacific Inn
1.5 mi away
Village Green Hotel
Village Green Hotel
#8 of 20 in Vernon
272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Prestige Hotel Vernon
Prestige Hotel Vernon
#3 of 20 in Vernon
268 reviews
1.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Vernon
0.4 mi away
Schell Motel Express
Schell Motel Express
#15 of 20 in Vernon
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Schell Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Schell Motel

Address: 2810 35 St, Vernon, British Columbia V1T 6B5, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Okanagan Valley > Vernon
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 20 Hotels in Vernon
Price Range: $56 - $93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Schell Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Schell Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing