We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always a good choice”
Review of Schell Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Schell Motel
Ranked #15 of 20 Hotels in Vernon
Calgary
Level Contributor
84 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Always a good choice”
Reviewed June 6, 2012

We often stay at this motel. It's pretty much your basic two-storey motel although the owners have been slowly up-grading the rooms. The outdoor swimming pool is heated but, as we usually travel in the shoulder seasons, I haven't tried it. The continental breakfast in the office is a nice touch. We often take a room with a separate bedroom, a kitchenette and a queen bed in the main room.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aquamaureen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    21
    14
    8
    10
See reviews for
16
26
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2012

The room was nice, clean and bright. Lots of space, nicely stocked kitchen and the location was great. The organic market and deli was just a walk across the street, and across the other street is a grocery store. Lots of old folks homes in the area so it's quiet but still close to downtown. The creek was very enjoyable. There was on site laundry available, although I thought it was a bit pricy. The staff was super friendly and helpful. My only complaint? It wasn't May and therefore the pool wasn't open yet. But all in all, it was a good stay.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RadioRocker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 27, 2012

I booked on short notice and was looking for a room with a kitchenette and this place came up. From the outside it looks a little tired but the rooms are renovated and pleasant. Nothing fancy. Cheap and cheerful. No swipe cards here just the old fashion keys. The big test is would I stay here again and I would say yes. No its not 4 stars but then again it is a motel.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Djsilvercreek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campbell River, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2012

The front desk was super friendly when we arrived, we were given a room with a bedroom/2 beds and a kitchenette for $65. There is a small continental type breakfast available in the lobby at 8am. (toast, muffins, cereal and milk).
The room is old but was very clean and had some minor updates. We used the fridge, microwave and the oven with no issues. The taps at the kitchen sink are a bit awkward (you have to turn them 360 to get the water running). Dishsoap provided. Nothing really provided for the bathroom (a tiny packet of "all in one" shampoo/conditioner and a tiny round soap). I recommend you definately remember to bring your own! Plenty of towels/dishclothes/teatowels provided. Dishes, pots and pans, cutlery, serving utensils provided.
Not on a super busy road although we did hear sirens a night or 2 as its not too far from the hospital. Beds were just ok, pillows were good.
A nice walk down 30th and you can see alot of nice shops and some restaurants. Safeway is right across the street which was very convenient for getting food/items for the room.
All and all a decent stay for the price.
PS: THERE ARE DEFINATELY NO BED BUGS. The previous poster must have been fibbing...this motel although quite old is kept nice and clean.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisamri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver, bc
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2011

We stayed here as we were just looking for a place to overnight in Vernon - not wanting to pay over the top for a few hours of sleep. The room was clean enough, and the furniture appears to have been updated within the past couple of years or so. Carpet was clean. However, the overall room was very dated, and the bathroom, although clean, was very old. New paint can only do so much!

The breakfast was donuts and coffee......hmmmm.

Staff were very friendly and helpful - which was what actually convinced us to stay. I didn't even see a pool, but probably wouldn't use it anyway. I don't think it is located in the best part of town, however, there was no disturbance, not even much traffic noise during the night.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sallygirl277
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Vernon hotels

Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 13, 2011

The Schell Motel is a great family motel. It is incredibly clean and the Joe,Sarah and staff are very friendly! My kids and I have have been staying at the Schell for the over 5 years and can't wait to go back next year! The pool is awesome!

Ross W.
Edmonton, AB

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ross W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Townsend, Washington
Level Contributor
84 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2011

Nice clean, quiet, and reasonably priced motel. Will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank styaner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vernon hotels
0.6 mi away
Vernon Lodge and Conference Centre
1.5 mi away
Village Green Hotel
Village Green Hotel
#8 of 20 in Vernon
263 reviews
1.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Vernon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Sandman Inn & Suites Vernon
1.0 mi away
Prestige Hotel Vernon
Prestige Hotel Vernon
#3 of 20 in Vernon
248 reviews
0.4 mi away
Schell Motel Express
Schell Motel Express
#16 of 20 in Vernon
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Schell Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Schell Motel

Property: Schell Motel
Address: 2810 35 St, Vernon, British Columbia V1T 6B5, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Okanagan Valley > Vernon
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 20 Hotels in Vernon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Schell Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Schell Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing