We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Getaway”
Review of The Outback Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Outback Resort
Ranked #1 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Vernon
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Our stay at the Outback Resort in Vernon B.C. was awesome! It is located in a very natural setting and right by the lake. we stayed in a condo that was just beautiful, well decorated and fully stocled with full kitchen and laundry room. Very quiet and peaceful location where we could spend our mornings outside drinking coffee and soaking it all in. I forgot my phone in the condo when we left and they were kind enough to meet us in town and return my phone befiore we had to leave to catch a flight!!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (54)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

41 - 47 of 54 reviews

Reviewed October 16, 2012

These are all privately owned homes in a gated area that participate in the rental program. The place I stayed in was a two bedroom two bath unit among the trees. It had modern appliances and everything you need to cook your own meals including a BBQ.
I needed a last minute place to stay with a full kitchen and close to friends in Vernon. This place more than suited my needs. I am planning to come back with friends and family next time. The homes are in a quiet little area surrounded by trees and right near the lake. It is also minutes from Ellison park which is a popular mountain biking and hiking area. There is also a private beach area. I would definitely stay there again

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Simon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

We stayed at one of the townhouses by the trout lake. The townhouse was a three bedroom, with 2 bedroom & 2 bathrooms on the first floor and the master bedroom and bathroom upstairs. The house had everything one may need to comfortably leave there for a few days. I included all kitchen supplies, dishes, small appliances, barbecue, etc. the sheets & towels were clean, but some other things were not cleaned such as the stuff in the oven's drawer were quite oily. There were lots of hair left in the dryer & the sofa and cushions were not spotless.
We chose this location for 2 reasons: it's free wifi and the location being kids friendly. Unfortunately the wifi did not work - we were given a network name and a password but they did not work. We called several times but we were told that they have left message and sent email to the owner - the owner never got back to us for the duration of our stay. Being an IT specialist I logged into the router and found out that the network name we were given was wrong but I did not have the admin password to fix the issue. This sat us back quite a bit. Also we had a toddler with us who loves water and this being a kids friendly location with small pools, we were hoping to use the pool facility - but again another set back you cannot take kids wearing swim diapers to the pool. So we could not use the pool either. Overall the place was nice and we wnjoyed our stay but next time we will stay at a place that is more kids friendly with better amenities and better servic.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
2  Thank Fstrraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2012

I am writing this review on the last day of our trip, I booked on of the Outback Ridge Homes for a business retreat, the home was amazing 3 bedroom each with a full bathroom, open kitchen and cantilevered living room. This is a remote location (about 20 minutes out of Vernon)

Be prepared with all your supplies (its a far trip into town if you forget the coffee) and you will have an amazing trip, the views and accommodation are amazing.

Room Tip: The Ridge homes are simply amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LuxusTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2011

This is a huge complex of condominiums privately owned and caters to owners not rental guests. Units are 4 star on first impression but lots of things are broken, such as appliances and not properly cleaned. As part of a family reunion we rented 8 units and all had the same problems. The lake is not accessible by foot, especially if you have small children and looks like a parking lot full of $90,000 wakeboard boats. Pool was shutdown during our stay a/o health concerns. The staff were not impolite but not exactly accomodating, Rental guests were obviously an inconvenience.
We still had a great time and staying here was not exactly a "hardship". The problem is that the place has no soul. If you enjoy mingling with people who spend more on silicone implants than normal people spend on a car you will love it here. Otherwise get a lakefront house for the same price or less.

Room Tip: Make sure you get the entrance code to the property or you could sit outside waiting to get checked...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank JoeBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2011

Overall we really enjoyed our time here. However, although this development is very nice, for those expecting to be pampered in four or five star resort style, this place is not recommended. If you arrive knowing what to expect, you should have a great vacation.
PROS:
Condos are very spacious, modern, clean, and come with quality utensils and full kitchen.
Nice setting, among the trees. The property, which is on rocky bluffs overlooking Lake Okanagan is quite spectacular.
The outlook from our "Trout Lake" (really a pond) condo was nice.
Neighbors the Ellison Provincial Park, which is stunningly beautiful, with magnificent beaches, and a good children's play area.
Staff were polite, and efficient.
Parking and ok. Internet access is included.
Weather was outstanding.
Main pools are heated a little...a nice touch!
Quite accommodating for children (and pets). There are loads of kids, and the kids and their parents are friendly.
Neat to see deer and other wildlife wandering around the resort.

CONS:
This is a massive condo development, more than 150 units / houses. For its size, the facilities provided are inadequate. There are two (fairly small swimming pools), and a total of 5 or 6 sun umbrellas in the whole complex!
Due to the size of the resort, it is a long walk down/up the hill to/from the "beach" or the main amenities from trout lake, a little tiresome for kids. Owners use golf carts.
The childrens playground is a joke...less than many folks would have in their back yard at home! The one at Ellison park is way better, but quite a hike.
The fitness center is too small (one treadmill, eliptical trainer, recumbent bike, weight equipment), is poorly ventilated and does not provide any towels (and the paper ones for cleaning equipment had run out.) The treadmill needs maintenance.
The resort is miles from the nearest grocery store (about 25 minutes by car), and unless you plan well in advance (basically you have to provide everything`), it is a big hassle.
There are essentially no services provided for guests onsite. No coffee bar, no shop at all, no facilities to rent kayaks, bikes, or other equipment, no spa.
There has been little effort to connect to the neighboring park (you have to go through someone's yard and climb a fence.) The resort cannot provide you with walking/hiking/running maps.
Lower floor rooms can be noisy. We awoke to the kid in the level above running around on the hardwood floor at 7 am each morning.
The beaches do not compare to what is available at the park next door or elsewhere. That being said, the resort IS beautiful, well designed and is in a magnificent location.

Room Tip: Arrive with all the groceries you need packing in the car.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank martygSeattle_WA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2011

this resort has very nicely furnished houses, located in a quiet spot, approx. 25 minute drive from Vernon. I have stayed there before and enjoyed the stay however this year we were disappointed. On arrival I noticed many bug traps throughout the main floor indicating there had been a problem. Unfortunately there still was a problem with very large hard shelled insects (approx. 1.5") crawling on walls/floors. this really detracted from enjoying our stay. Also it was disappointing to find out the phone and internet had been disconnected and the problem could not be fixed during our 4 day stay. I had the same problem with no phone the previous year and also it took a little fiddling with the modem to get it working. the resort really has limited caretaker help in the winter, they defer your problem to the out of town/country owner. Not much help. Other than these complaints it is a nice place, with quality finishing and furniture. I only wish they could get rid of the bugs!!

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank skier66666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vernon hotels
3.1 mi away
Sparkling Hill Resort
10.8 mi away
Best Western Pacific Inn
2.9 mi away
Predator Ridge Resort
Predator Ridge Resort
#7 of 20 in Vernon
401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
Turtle Mountain Inn
Turtle Mountain Inn
#2 of 18 in Vernon
26 reviews
14.6 mi away
The Castle at Swan Lake
10.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Vernon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Outback Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Outback Resort

Address: 9845 Eastside Rd, Vernon, British Columbia V1H 1Z2, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Okanagan Valley > Vernon
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Vernon
Price Range: $137 - $266 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Outback Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the stunning natural environment of one of the best places on earth, along the rugged shorelines of Okanagan Lake, lies what is perhaps North America's finest 4-seasons waterfront resort. Situated on 60 acres, this resort offers 2 pools, 4 hot tubs, children's playground and tennis courts for your enjoyment. There are hiking and biking trails onsite and adjacent to the resort at neighboring Ellison Park. World renowned Predator Ridge Golf Course and The Rise Golf Course are nearby. The Outback Vacation Homes offers 4 different types of accommodation to suit all budgets. Choose from Trout Lake townhomes, Forest Cabins, Bay Villas and the stunning Ridge Homes. Each vacation home is stylishly furnished and the gourmet kitchens are fully equipped. The perfect location for your family vacation get away, romantic weekend, or fun retreat with friends.... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Outback Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Outback Hotel Vernon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing