We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Essentially a vacation rental.”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of The Outback Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Outback Resort
Ranked #1 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Vernon
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Essentially a vacation rental.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2011

Overall we really enjoyed our time here. However, although this development is very nice, for those expecting to be pampered in four or five star resort style, this place is not recommended. If you arrive knowing what to expect, you should have a great vacation.
PROS:
Condos are very spacious, modern, clean, and come with quality utensils and full kitchen.
Nice setting, among the trees. The property, which is on rocky bluffs overlooking Lake Okanagan is quite spectacular.
The outlook from our "Trout Lake" (really a pond) condo was nice.
Neighbors the Ellison Provincial Park, which is stunningly beautiful, with magnificent beaches, and a good children's play area.
Staff were polite, and efficient.
Parking and ok. Internet access is included.
Weather was outstanding.
Main pools are heated a little...a nice touch!
Quite accommodating for children (and pets). There are loads of kids, and the kids and their parents are friendly.
Neat to see deer and other wildlife wandering around the resort.

CONS:
This is a massive condo development, more than 150 units / houses. For its size, the facilities provided are inadequate. There are two (fairly small swimming pools), and a total of 5 or 6 sun umbrellas in the whole complex!
Due to the size of the resort, it is a long walk down/up the hill to/from the "beach" or the main amenities from trout lake, a little tiresome for kids. Owners use golf carts.
The childrens playground is a joke...less than many folks would have in their back yard at home! The one at Ellison park is way better, but quite a hike.
The fitness center is too small (one treadmill, eliptical trainer, recumbent bike, weight equipment), is poorly ventilated and does not provide any towels (and the paper ones for cleaning equipment had run out.) The treadmill needs maintenance.
The resort is miles from the nearest grocery store (about 25 minutes by car), and unless you plan well in advance (basically you have to provide everything`), it is a big hassle.
There are essentially no services provided for guests onsite. No coffee bar, no shop at all, no facilities to rent kayaks, bikes, or other equipment, no spa.
There has been little effort to connect to the neighboring park (you have to go through someone's yard and climb a fence.) The resort cannot provide you with walking/hiking/running maps.
Lower floor rooms can be noisy. We awoke to the kid in the level above running around on the hardwood floor at 7 am each morning.
The beaches do not compare to what is available at the park next door or elsewhere. That being said, the resort IS beautiful, well designed and is in a magnificent location.

Room Tip: Arrive with all the groceries you need packing in the car.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank martygSeattle_WA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    8
    8
    3
    0
See reviews for
29
11
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2011

this resort has very nicely furnished houses, located in a quiet spot, approx. 25 minute drive from Vernon. I have stayed there before and enjoyed the stay however this year we were disappointed. On arrival I noticed many bug traps throughout the main floor indicating there had been a problem. Unfortunately there still was a problem with very large hard shelled insects (approx. 1.5") crawling on walls/floors. this really detracted from enjoying our stay. Also it was disappointing to find out the phone and internet had been disconnected and the problem could not be fixed during our 4 day stay. I had the same problem with no phone the previous year and also it took a little fiddling with the modem to get it working. the resort really has limited caretaker help in the winter, they defer your problem to the out of town/country owner. Not much help. Other than these complaints it is a nice place, with quality finishing and furniture. I only wish they could get rid of the bugs!!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank skier66666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2010

Before booking my family's stay at The Outback Resort I read quite a few positive reviews so I was expecting a lot from this place. I have to say we were blown away at how beautiful this resort is and the service we received while we were there was wonderful. We stayed for a week and I really wish we had stayed for more. The natural surroundings were breathtaking in its beauty and the vacation home we stayed in couldn't have been better - large, comfortable, clean and offered enough privacy for all of us. We traveled with 2 dogs and the resort is very dog-friendly, but make sure you tell them at the time of booking that you will bring your family pet as some of the vacation homes are not pet friendly.

I think we will make this an yearly vacation spot and I will tell all my friends and family about this gem.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank larissa_r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2009

I actually bid on a stay at the outback and gifted it to my Brother-in-law and Sister-in-law for their anniversary. They were so thrilled with this resort that they could not stop talking about it. They stayed in a 3 bedroom suite and said the room was just amazing and nice and new. Their room was only a few yards from the fabulous pool too. They spent time at the water too since this resort is right on the lake. They went on and on about how impressed they were and how accomadating the staff was. I must now try this resort because of hearing all these great things. My in-laws are from Alberta and the weather stayed beautiful all weekend for them which was a big plus so they could enjoy all the amenities. Thanks to the Outback's manager Belinda for really going above and beyond for our relatives and making their weekend so memorable.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wsbfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2009

I have to say that this place exceeded by far my expectations (and I quite expected a lot!), starting with the accommodations, which are absolutely well maintained and equipped. I stayed in a forest cabin which turned out to be the best cabin I ever stayed on with every possible amenity and convenience you can imagine, fitted with an inner deck with panoramic views over the complex, 40” LCD TV & home theatre system, Wi-Fi internet, air conditioning and so many other things that I have to stop to make room for the other things I want to mention. The complex has a dramatic marina surrounded by granite walls, local vegetation and a small but nice infinite pool area. I quite enjoyed the peace and the natural surroundings, no noise other than birds and wildlife; the units are amazingly blended within the topography and vegetation in a unique town-like setting with defined resort areas each one with unique attributes, the pictures in the website although nice don’t make any justice to the real deal (very rare because is normally the opposite), this resort is absolutely stunning, the location neighbouring a provincial park provides that sense of “outback” the resort takes the name from. Service (if you ever need something....) is outstanding and the staff will always strive to resolve your issues… fast! They normally go unnoticed but they make this place to run like clockwork. I should close by saying this resort does not have any restaurant inside the complex as the vacation concept is designed to make you feel at home away from home, if you don’t feel like cooking and want to enjoy a nice meal, just drive 10 minutes to Vernon downtown and go for a variety of choices there.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mathias_C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2008

Every summer, us girls go on a trip. This year we did an Okanagan wine trip and stayed at the OutBack Resort, found close to some of BC's top wineries. This Okanaga resort was a perfect fit for our group of 4. We stayed in one of the vacation homes, so there was lots of room. We had the freedom to cook our own food in the full gourmet kitchen - and of course enjoying the wine we picked up doing a tours. This was a great stay and I will forsure be back.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank kmiller106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2008

The Outback Vernon Resort truly delivered a unique resort experience for my girlfriend and I on our summer vacation this year. We stayed in the 2 bedroom Quarry Bay Villa and had a ton of room to have over all of our friends from Vernon. We took advantage of the great amenities spending time at the marina and swimming at Quarry Bay.

We found some great summer packages on their website (www.theoutbackresort.com) and the place was even more gorgeous in person than showed in the pictures.

This Vernon Resort exceeded our expectations in everyway and I would definitely recommend it to anyone who is looking for luxury in the outback!

  • Liked — The view
  • Disliked — It's a bit out of the way but worth the trip
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank ChrisoO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vernon
Prestige Hotel Vernon
#6 of 20 in Vernon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
Predator Ridge Resort
#5 of 20 in Vernon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
La Casa Cottage Resort
#1 of 1 in South Fintry
3.5 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
Central City
Delta Hotels Grand Okanagan Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Outback Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Outback Resort

Property: The Outback Resort
Address: 9845 Eastside Rd, Vernon, British Columbia V1H 1Z2, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Okanagan Valley > Vernon
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Vernon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Outback Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the stunning natural environment of one of the best places on earth, along the rugged shorelines of Okanagan Lake, lies what is perhaps North America's finest 4-seasons waterfront resort. Situated on 60 acres, this resort offers 2 pools, 4 hot tubs, children's playground and tennis courts for your enjoyment. There are hiking and biking trails onsite and adjacent to the resort at neighboring Ellison Park. World renowned Predator Ridge Golf Course and The Rise Golf Course are nearby. The Outback Vacation Homes offers 4 different types of accommodation to suit all budgets. Choose from Trout Lake townhomes, Forest Cabins, Bay Villas and the stunning Ridge Homes. Each vacation home is stylishly furnished and the gourmet kitchens are fully equipped. The perfect location for your family vacation get away, romantic weekend, or fun retreat with friends.... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Outback Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Outback Hotel Vernon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing