We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Would not likely stay again, but we got what we paid for.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Carriage House Bed & Breakfast

Carriage House Bed & Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Victoria
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Carriage House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #53 of 94 Victoria B&B and Inns
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Would not likely stay again, but we got what we paid for.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2012 via mobile

We stayed 2 nights here in the carriage house cottage. We were looking for accomadatiions where 2 couples and a small child could share, and this is what we were able to find in the cottage. The price was not exorbitant, and that's not so easy to find in such a great location so close to downtown. There are complaints in other reviews about cleanliness, but I cannot say we had any such issues. Having said all this, we were not particularly impressed. The cottage is back behind the house looking out onto a sad and disheveled yard. The decor in the cottage is haphazard and dated, though we had no complaints about the physical comfort of the furniture and arrangement, with our daughter particularly loving the loft bed area. Be aware, the loft is accessible by ladder only. I did not feel the decor in the home was any more impressive, so it certainly felt as if we were visiting an average home, not a hospitality business. Take that however you would like. Having enjoyed some very nice B&B's in our day, we were probably most let down by the breakfast. While it was all edible and not poorly prepared, it was the same two or three basic and limited choices each morning and was certainly not anything we haven't whipped up on a camping trip with only the essential tools. The innkeepers were politely friendly, but our interactions were brief. They did have a young son that our daughter was happy to play with during some down times between outings, but I'm not sure how guests without young children would feel about him in a B&B setting. Finally, we did forget some rather pricey souvenir gifts in the cottage and called the innkeeper after arriving home back in the US. He was willing to assist us in attempting to return them, but after finding that the shipping would cost as much as the purchase price notified us and we asked him to not proceed.

Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank elksmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    10
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
4
9
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Santa Rosa, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2012

We have stayed at the Carriage House B & B four times in the past 2 years and have enjoyed each of their different guest rooms. The hosts, Dan and Naoko, are lovely people who are friendly and helpful. Dan even put our daughter’s wheelchair back together after a wheel came off.

The location is perfect - only 2 or 3 blocks from downtown and the inner harbor, with the ferry terminal located 2 blocks farther. It is also 2 blocks from the beautiful Beacon Hill Park with its many gardens. The house is clean, comfortable, and feels like home to us - and it is very affordable. We have stayed at 2 other B & Bs on earlier trips and prefer the Carriage House and its hosts. We enjoy staying there so much that we will be returning in April.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DianeGi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
96 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2011

The location is just a few minutes to downtown, which is hard to come by in Victoria. However, upon arrival the initial feeling is disappointing because unlike other properties in the area, the presentation is very poor-basically no garden (where the norm is for gardens to be a highlight) and rough path to front door. Greeted with a warm welcome by Naoko. Had an upstairs room with ensuite. Stairs are narrow and similar to European style. There was no offer to assist with luggage as Dan was preoccupied with their child. Good queen and single beds but this takes up most of the room space leaving little area for luggage. There is a tiny bench with kettle; the bathroom is attic style and one person only; the water is hot and the fan quiet with good ventilation. Curtains are not bad; there is some floorboard noise and noise from downstairs travels up and vice versa. Decor is inconsistent and low grade. There is 1 eating area downstairs(to accommodate the 4 rooms - not sure about the outside cottage). Breakfast is average however, the prior advice of special diet met with a note to purchase our own items and they would be refunded. A receipt and product was left with the B&B but no refund was supplied. No consideration was given for an early departure. The hosts kitchen and office areas are as messy as you would see anywhere and that was indicative of the general cleanliness.
Overall, location is the prime asset and most other aspects were disappointing. We would look elsewhere on our next visit.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KirraMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dan-naoko, Owner at Carriage House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, October 31, 2011
Thank you very much for your comments. I'm sorry to hear you were not happy here.

I believe the main issue is money for your "special diet" breakfast.

Yes, I asked you to buy something for your own breakfast. We have gluten-free homemade bread, muffins, granola, etc., (because one of us
is sensitive to gluten) but you said you have more than just gluten sensitivity, apparently including even honey and fruit. When I realized the
severity of your health problems I thought it was better for you to get what you know you can safely eat.

I prepared a breakfast for your early morning departure, as you requested, and I believe you consumed it. I asked if you wanted me to
remove the bread from the freezer so you could find it easier but you said no need to do that. I also asked about tea and you said you would
make it yourself. So, I gave you permission to access our private living space in the early morning hours for your personal convenience.

As for reimbursement, I discounted your room price from the twin rate (as you used two beds) to the double rate (using one bed) which is $10
less per night--more than the cost of the food items you purchased.

Did I forget to tell you about this discounting? If so, I apologize for the lack of communication.

It may be true that our private living spaces are not always as neatly kept as the spaces we offer to our guests. As for other issues, I don't say
I agree, but we are always trying to improve our place and make guests feel comfortable in our home.

Sincerely,

--Naoko Yamamoto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2011

excellent location in the area and in an historical Victorian house and very close to town center; very convenient to stay in a separate house with kitchen when staying with kids,..... but cleanliness of pillows, carpet and overall house did not meet our expections. Breakfast was also not abondant (had to ask for any additionnal toast or cup of coffee) however the hostess and husband were very nice, friendly and the stay was overall positive.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BXLneko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qualicum Beach, BC
Level Contributor
76 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2011

I have stayed with Dan & Naoko at their Carriage House Bed & Breakfast for many years now. They are consistently helpful and friendly while providing a very comfortable stay. The location is an easy walk from the downtown area in the attractive James Bay neighbourhood with its tree lined streets and heritage homes. From the B & B you can easily walk to Beacon Hill Park, the Empress Hotel, shops, restaurants, the Island Bus station, the floatplanes or cruise ships. Dan & Naoko provide a very nice hot breakfast and if you need any helpful hints, they are eager to please and to make your stay in Victoria memorable.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gema28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral
Level Contributor
38 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2010

We stayed 2 nights at this B & B and found it to be comfortable and very will situated. The rooms themselves were a bit dated (and no TV) but otherwise comfortable. Breakfast was lovely both mornings and the hosts Dan and Naoko were really kind, helpful and informative. The best thing about this B & B is its proximity to the city centre. Entirely walkable to the city whilst being suburban at the same time. Unusually for a stay in the city, the only traffic that awoke me was the sea planes above!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MooeyWirral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2010

Very convenient location, we travelled to Victoria by bus/ferry/bus from Vancouver airport and it was an easy walk to b and b from bus depot down near harbourside area. Victoria is a delightful place, very picturesque and a trip to Butchart Gardens is definitely worthwhile.
Dan and Naoko start you off with a great breakfast, perfect host and hostess.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fallcanusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Victoria hotels
James Bay
Heathergate House B&B
Heathergate House B&B
#19 of 94 in Victoria
5.0 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
Ocean Island Suites
#51 of 94 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Rosewood Victoria Inn
#20 of 94 in Victoria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
Downtown
No photo provided
Fairfield
Humboldt House Bed & Breakfast Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carriage House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carriage House Bed & Breakfast

Property: Carriage House Bed & Breakfast
Address: 596 Toronto St, Victoria, British Columbia V8V 1P4, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria > James Bay
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 94 B&Bs / Inns in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing