We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Friendly, Affordable and So Central Too”

Carriage House Bed & Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Victoria
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Carriage House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #35 of 92 Victoria B&B and Inns
Reviewed March 24, 2011

I have stayed with Dan & Naoko at their Carriage House Bed & Breakfast for many years now. They are consistently helpful and friendly while providing a very comfortable stay. The location is an easy walk from the downtown area in the attractive James Bay neighbourhood with its tree lined streets and heritage homes. From the B & B you can easily walk to Beacon Hill Park, the Empress Hotel, shops, restaurants, the Island Bus station, the floatplanes or cruise ships. Dan & Naoko provide a very nice hot breakfast and if you need any helpful hints, they are eager to please and to make your stay in Victoria memorable.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gema28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (23)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

15 - 21 of 23 reviews

Reviewed October 18, 2010

We stayed 2 nights at this B & B and found it to be comfortable and very will situated. The rooms themselves were a bit dated (and no TV) but otherwise comfortable. Breakfast was lovely both mornings and the hosts Dan and Naoko were really kind, helpful and informative. The best thing about this B & B is its proximity to the city centre. Entirely walkable to the city whilst being suburban at the same time. Unusually for a stay in the city, the only traffic that awoke me was the sea planes above!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MooeyWirral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2010

Very convenient location, we travelled to Victoria by bus/ferry/bus from Vancouver airport and it was an easy walk to b and b from bus depot down near harbourside area. Victoria is a delightful place, very picturesque and a trip to Butchart Gardens is definitely worthwhile.
Dan and Naoko start you off with a great breakfast, perfect host and hostess.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fallcanusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2010

We arrived late-ish 8 pm, but this did not seem to be a problem for Dan & Naoko. Our breakfast was the same both days, there was a small charge for internet use, and our room did not have a TV. We found the hosts interesting to talk to. The B&B is in a quiet residential part of Victoria, an easy walk to the harbour. There is a English pub on the opposite corner, which served great food.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank solo_passenger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2010

I was a little surprised when my family arrived to stay in the cottage seeing what appeared to be a garage but was definitely pleased to find a huge washroom area and plenty of space for at least two couples who wanted to share costs on accommodations. Extremely close to downtown area being four blocks from the harbour front.

Great food and were provided with a choice for breakfast each morning during our stay.

Great find

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bigpappa11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2008

This is a good B&B with an excellent breakfast and friendly hosts, but the best thing about it is the location in a quiet residential neighborhood an easy walk (about half a mile) to the harbor and the center of Victoria. This means that you don't need a car unless you want to do a lot of traveling outside the heart of the city.

  • Stayed: August 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank soaringhawks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2008

This Bed and Breakfast is only a short walk away from the Parliament buildings and BC Museum in Victoria, set in the small older tree-lined streets of the peninsula.

We stayed in the carriage house cottage, which is a conversion of the old horse-drawn carriage house. The conversion has been very nicely done, with a large double bed in the main area, and a loft bed that was very cozy! There is a small kitchen area for cooking your own food, and a spacious bathroom (with hot tub for winter stays!).

Though you can cook your own food, the breakfast provided by the hosts, Dan & Naoko is a must! (The french toast is definitely a good way to start the day!)

All in all a great bed and breakfast, and one that I would love to stay in again.

  • Stayed: July 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank svalbard_view
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Rockland
The Craigmyle
The Craigmyle
#4 of 92 in Victoria
530 reviews
James Bay
Pendray Inn and Tea House
Pendray Inn and Tea House
#11 of 92 in Victoria
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Grand Pacific
#13 of 47 in Victoria
2,138 reviews
The Fairmont Empress
#20 of 47 in Victoria
3,893 reviews
Burnside
Ramada Victoria
Ramada Victoria
#45 of 47 in Victoria
813 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carriage House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carriage House Bed & Breakfast

Address: 596 Toronto St, Victoria, British Columbia V8V 1P4, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria > James Bay
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 92 B&Bs / Inns in Victoria
Price Range: $47 - $87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing