We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Excellent Sushi in pleasant surroundings” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sen Zushi

Sen Zushi
Ranked #146 of 1,170 Restaurants in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Families with children, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Quadora
Transit: BC transit #3, 11, 14, 22
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
143 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Excellent Sushi in pleasant surroundings”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

This may be the best place to have sushi in Victoria. The varied menu gives many choices of Japanese food. The prices are reasonable, the service superior and the ambience appropriate. The food we had was excellent and covered tempura to soup to salad to sushi. My friend who eats Sushi frequently in Calgary rated this place as good as any she has experienced. I will certainly be back. So many choices! Pleased that the menu includes vegetarian options.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Marleypacific
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    32
    4
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Recommended!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

I really enjoyed the food here. It was recommended to me by my hotel. The ambiance is great (nicely decorated space, great food smells), and the food was very tasty. I had lotus root tempura and yakisoba noodles - both were part of the day's chef's recommendation. The server was very helpful and had a lot to say about different dishes.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank naraja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful Sushi Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

This place has great food for a great price and really good service. The atmosphere is also lovely, go here!!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Shambhavi T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
42 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“fresh fish, gentle service, atmosphere not very fancy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

I went in this restaurant for a business dinner. We had a reservation, there were people waiting but we were immediately invited to our table. Service was all the time nice and attentive. We asked for chef's recommendations and we were not deluded, sushi and sashimi were really good and fresh, only disappointment was the wine list (only two or three brands, all really mediocre). We ordered a white wine that was very bad and even not cold enough, but we switched for a japanese beer that was very good. The atmosphere is not very fancy, I would not come for a romantic dinner, but the food and the service are definitively worthy!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank giadas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
450 reviews
246 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 497 helpful votes
“Tasty rolls and nice fatty toro. Excellent sapporo on tap. Very fun”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

went there for a business function. We asked the chef to prepare whatever he wanted, and it was very good. Found the shrimp sashimi to be a bit gummy, but it was obviously very very fresh, I just wasn't used to it.

The squid tempura (fancy name for battered calamari) was good, and the service was excellent. The sushi was very good, but I've had better.

Would go again.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank pw0867
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sen Zushi also viewed

Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 

Been to Sen Zushi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing