We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tasty rolls and nice fatty toro. Excellent sapporo on tap. Very fun”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Sen Zushi

Sen Zushi
Ranked #101 of 1,180 Restaurants in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Quadora
Transit: BC transit #3, 11, 14, 22
Level Contributor
477 reviews
264 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 508 helpful votes
“Tasty rolls and nice fatty toro. Excellent sapporo on tap. Very fun”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

went there for a business function. We asked the chef to prepare whatever he wanted, and it was very good. Found the shrimp sashimi to be a bit gummy, but it was obviously very very fresh, I just wasn't used to it.

The squid tempura (fancy name for battered calamari) was good, and the service was excellent. The sushi was very good, but I've had better.

Would go again.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pw0867
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    39
    8
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, BC
Level Contributor
30 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“The best Japanese Food in Victoria”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

I have never had anything I didn't love at Sen Zushi!
Lovely atmosphere, people friendly, in fact the Sushi Chefs great every guest as they enter the restaurant, in Japanese!
Food is fantastic, very fresh, wonderfully plated and visually appealing. Even the price is right.
Would I recommend it, you bet cha!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Natkayco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
76 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Real Japanese Food, Great Atmosphere, Great Prices”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013

Sen Sushi patronized by Victoria's Japanese community and visitors. Sushi prices are less than the hole in the wall places, and presentation and quality is very good. Ask for the barbecue squid! You will not be disappointed. There are authentic seaweed salads, great noodle dishes, eels, and other exotic choices.

I live in the neighbourhood and eat there often. Everything I have tried at Sen Sushi has been excellent.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fred A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth Australia
Level Contributor
157 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“Authentic Japanese food in a nice atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2012

The name Sen Zushi (A thousand sushis' ) may overstate just how many sushis' you can get at this delightful restaurant but the food is excellent and the atmosphere very cosy and warm.

We visited one night recently along with a friend from Japan. The Sen Zushi is at the outer limits of downtown but well worth the trip.

Tempura prawns with vegetables at $12.00 and Una Don (Eel with rice) for $14.00 was delicious and accompanied with superb Green Tea.

The staff were polite and helpful which added to a most enjoyable evening.

Recommended.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank pisang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“One of the best Japanese restaurants I have eaten in”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

Presentation and quality were excellent. The house tea with cracked popped rice added was delicious and its flavours lasted through the short walk and visit to the Victoria Art Gallery and an amazing show of Japanese portraits.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank cultureguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sen Zushi also viewed

Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 

Been to Sen Zushi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing