We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Real Japanese Food, Great Atmosphere, Great Prices”
Review of Sen Zushi

Sen Zushi
Ranked #89 of 1,196 Restaurants in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Sushi, Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Families with children, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Quadora
Transit: BC transit #3, 11, 14, 22
Victoria, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Real Japanese Food, Great Atmosphere, Great Prices”
Reviewed January 11, 2013

Sen Sushi patronized by Victoria's Japanese community and visitors. Sushi prices are less than the hole in the wall places, and presentation and quality is very good. Ask for the barbecue squid! You will not be disappointed. There are authentic seaweed salads, great noodle dishes, eels, and other exotic choices.

I live in the neighbourhood and eat there often. Everything I have tried at Sen Sushi has been excellent.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fred A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    40
    8
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Perth Australia
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Authentic Japanese food in a nice atmosphere”
Reviewed November 14, 2012

The name Sen Zushi (A thousand sushis' ) may overstate just how many sushis' you can get at this delightful restaurant but the food is excellent and the atmosphere very cosy and warm.

We visited one night recently along with a friend from Japan. The Sen Zushi is at the outer limits of downtown but well worth the trip.

Tempura prawns with vegetables at $12.00 and Una Don (Eel with rice) for $14.00 was delicious and accompanied with superb Green Tea.

The staff were polite and helpful which added to a most enjoyable evening.

Recommended.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank pisang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“One of the best Japanese restaurants I have eaten in”
Reviewed October 24, 2012

Presentation and quality were excellent. The house tea with cracked popped rice added was delicious and its flavours lasted through the short walk and visit to the Victoria Art Gallery and an amazing show of Japanese portraits.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank cultureguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Been here a few times before but didn't bother reviewing. We were originally planning a more lavish dinner but Sen is close and we felt like Japonese. We started with Sashimi and same as an earlier critic it arrived cold........exactly as sashimi should be. It was as good as any in town but despite its name it was the non sushi items that shone. Citrus Octopus was amazing and equally great was the Stingray fin. The shrimp fritters were good but kinda plain after the first 2 courses but we bounced back to stratosphere with the whole grilled squid. Last and absolutely not least we split black sesame ice cream and we both regretted only having half. Service at Sen is never to the level of the food but go for the food and accept the service.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ScottC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new westminster
Level 6 Contributor
180 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 230 helpful votes
“Superb quality”
Reviewed October 11, 2012

The staffs were very accommodating and friendly. Good sushi, good price & good service. This was a nice place for Japanese food. Rolls were delicious, the seafood pancake was great. Their hot tea is comforting. Overall, a very wonderful experience!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank jack m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sen Zushi also viewed

Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 

Been to Sen Zushi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing