We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“One of the best Japanese restaurants I have eaten in” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sen Zushi

Sen Zushi
Ranked #147 of 1,165 Restaurants in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Quadora
Transit: BC transit #3, 11, 14, 22
Toronto
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“One of the best Japanese restaurants I have eaten in”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Presentation and quality were excellent. The house tea with cracked popped rice added was delicious and its flavours lasted through the short walk and visit to the Victoria Art Gallery and an amazing show of Japanese portraits.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank cultureguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    32
    5
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Victoria
Level Contributor
122 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Been here a few times before but didn't bother reviewing. We were originally planning a more lavish dinner but Sen is close and we felt like Japonese. We started with Sashimi and same as an earlier critic it arrived cold........exactly as sashimi should be. It was as good as any in town but despite its name it was the non sushi items that shone. Citrus Octopus was amazing and equally great was the Stingray fin. The shrimp fritters were good but kinda plain after the first 2 courses but we bounced back to stratosphere with the whole grilled squid. Last and absolutely not least we split black sesame ice cream and we both regretted only having half. Service at Sen is never to the level of the food but go for the food and accept the service.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ScottC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new westminster
Level Contributor
180 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 230 helpful votes
“Superb quality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

The staffs were very accommodating and friendly. Good sushi, good price & good service. This was a nice place for Japanese food. Rolls were delicious, the seafood pancake was great. Their hot tea is comforting. Overall, a very wonderful experience!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank jack m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Below par”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

Went a second time for dinner, nothing extraordinary the first time, gave them a chance again this year as this restaurant got good reviews from other travelers.
The tuna sashimi was served cold and the slices were uneven, and the Saba aburi was disappointing.
There are much better sushi restaurants in Vancouver.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CubaoCat26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Canada
Level Contributor
263 reviews
151 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“Great Food, Fun Environment”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

The choice for dinner last night while visiting the city of Victoria was an excellent one! We headed out of the main downtown area onto a side street in the antique district where we found Sen Zushi.

When we entered and mentioned our reservation though Open Table, we were warmly greeted and promptly seated in the front area of the restaurant. The décor is rustic Japanese. There is a bar in front of the sushi/sashimi work station and numerous tables that run the length of the restaurant. It was obvious many regulars frequent here, by the greetings to the owner working at the sushi/sashimi bar. Every time someone was leaving the restaurant, the owner and his wife? thanked the patrons for their business.

We didn’t feel rushed at any time, and took our time ordering various items while people-watching and enjoying the energy at Sen Zushi. We started with Miso Soup with a perfect mix of salt and pungent flavours and an order of Edamame Beans which had only a hint of salt flavour (nice change from other places where we have had these). Next we ordered the Maguro Sashimi (melt-in-your-mouth buttery texture) and Yakitori (perfectly cooked chicken on a skewer with a delicious teriyaki glaze). Next we ordered Goma-Miso Udon to share (Sanuki Udon noodles with chunks of tender white-meat chicken and dicon in a creamy sesame sauce served warm. And, to wrap up the meal, we decided on an order of Yam Tempura for our dessert (lightly fried, perfectly cooked with a side of soya for dipping). This meal was the best Japanese food we have had in a long time and highly recommend it if visiting the Victoria area….

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CinR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sen Zushi also viewed

Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 

Been to Sen Zushi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing